We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostal for young people, everything a hostal should have” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Mamallena
Ranked #7 of 30 Boquete B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hostal for young people, everything a hostal should have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Nice and helpful people, many young people from all over the world. Clean rooms but the matrases can be better.
Good location and a good place to get to know people.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpson1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    140
    56
    19
    12
See reviews for
13
122
124
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

As hostels go, Mamallena has everything -- dorm rooms, private rooms, free Internet usage, free wifi, kitchen and laundry. Staff is very helpful and went out of the way to help change flight reservations and book private transportation to Boca. There is a full list of activities you can do and the hostel organizes group tours.

The location is central Boquete but that means it is a noisy place to stay. There is a restaurant/bar next door which played loud music one night and then had a live band until 2ish the another night. Weekday mornings big truck traffic started rolling at 5 AM. I want to give this place 4 stars because of the helpful staff and having everything that defines a great hostel but have to give it 3 because of the noise next door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHamp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Very nice charming house in the centre of boquete. Rooms are clean, nice and they have hot water. The best of all the staff, you really feel like at home. Super friendly, relax, best evenings ever just socializing and getting to meet so many diffirent people. We went there for 1 evening and we ended up staying there 3 and feeling very sorry we had to continue the trip ;). Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria-david76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed here for a few days in September while waiting on our boat to leave for Columbia. We were delighted to get out of the city and chill out for a few days and this seemed to be the perfect place to stay. Mamallena is a cute blue building right in the middle of town. We had made our booking through Mamallena in Panama city and arrived and asked for a room at the back. The room was huge, the bed was really comfortable ( I think the best bed we have been in since we have been away) and the wifi was excellent! There were free pancakes, tea and coffee every morning and a big kitchen.
The only downside - which actually didnt bother me at all but might do for others, the room we were in was right above a restaurant bar which had fairly loud music (it was turned off at about 11 every night though so that was fine) and then in the morning we had a lovely wake up to band practice?/ band show. This didnt start until about 9am and its probably isnt every morning (we only had it 2 of the 3).
These things of course are not the hostels fault nor is it anything they can help and I will say apart from this I thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The staff are very helpful and the hostel can put you in touch with loads of different tour options. I would stay here again if I went back to Boquete (which is beautiful by the way).

Room Tip: Choose a room facing out onto the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed four nights in private room, was adequate for the price, Good shower with HOT water. Staff are pretty knowledgeable and helpful with questions about tours and local resources. included Pancake breakfast with coffee is a good deal, also went to 24 hr market one block away for eggs, milk, oj, sausage, etc. to cook cheap BIG breakfast in the morning. Computers are ez access in reception, had a few glitches with Wi-fi hookup for my netbook. There is a cafeteria a couple of blocks away called something like Shoboron that serves rice, beans, and a choice of like chicken beef or pork for a couple of bucks.
This allows you to save all your money for the tours, and you WILL pay for the tours. Mamallena's has great prices, but Boquete tours are a little overpriced compared to Costa Rica or Nicaragua for the same type of tour (e.g. river rafting, zipline, etc.) Good experience fun people, no problems

Room Tip: Ask for private room with ensuite bathroom/shower. There are two at the very back of the hostel. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had a private room with bathroom and thought it was a great value for the money. Charming room and clean bathroom. The best part of this place is the information they provide on what to do in Boquete and all of Panama. They have daily and nightly excursions that you can sign up for and they are very inexpensive, and the staff can recommend and evaluate other excursions and things to do. We recommend the night climb of Volcan Baru and the coffee tour to Mr. Titos. There restaurant next door had very good food and was not too noisy for us.

Room Tip: Reserve a private room ahead of time, they were all booked when we got there, but we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Don and I were very pleased with Hostel Mamallena. It was inviting, clean and the staff was hospitable and pleasant. They gave us a tour, told us we could use anything in the kitchen including the food in the refrigerator or cabinets. We were under the impression only breakfast was included, but we were pleasantly surprised. They had three computers available allowing 20 minutes per usage so others could access them. They had a very large selection of movies to which we partook in viewing one. There were two “library” areas with TV’s and outside seating on a back patio as well. We did have a problem with our bathroom which they asked us about after the first night there. We were not bothered by it at all and were intending to let them know about the problem so it could be fixed when we left. They moved us into another room immediately. Don and I tend to like to adventure out on our own and walk through the towns we visit, meet with the locals and discover the beauty it offers. However, the hostel is very well connected to the various activities available to you in Boquete. It is located in the center of town thus all restaurants, stores, banks, pharmacies, etc. are at your doorstep. There is a small Park located directly across from the Hostel which they were adding to. With regard to the Park, it is as I mentioned, a small Park. We had difficulty finding the Hostel as we were told by various people we spoke with that it was opposite the Park and we were under the impression it was a National Park. If possible, I would suggest a sign on the street where the Hostel is located directing visitors. All in all we were very happy with our stay and would return should we visit Boquete again.

Room Tip: Book early on-line at Hostelworld.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaimpupic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.6 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostal Nomba
Hostal Nomba
#14 of 48 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
El Machico Hostel Boquete
1.5 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 30 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.6 mi away
SPANISH BY THE RIVER – BOQUETE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Property: Hostel Mamallena
Address: Parque Central, Light Blue House | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamallena Boquete hostel is your home away from home! Here it is the atmosphere and the service that makes the difference! Everything is made to make you feel comfortable and happy. Our friendly staff composed by locals and volonteers has an answer for anything you wonder. It is also the most reliable source of information about Boquete and surroundings, ATM, transportation, travels and hostel facilities. In a colourful colonial wooden building with strong character, we provide different types of private rooms with en-suites and dorm beds, we've got a room for everyone. Add to that our great beds, free pancake breakfast, free internet and movies, great customer service and you have the perfect hostel for your stay in Boquete. Whether it's for a night, a week or a month, you're more than welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing