We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impossible to sleep”
Review of Hostel Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Mamallena
Ranked #9 of 29 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“impossible to sleep”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

the place is clean....but if you want to sleep...don't even think about going to this hotel...it's like sleeping in the street or having the party in your room with all the guests in your bed with a thousands of mosquitoes serving you the drinks.....there's no air, no mosquito net and no screens for the windows......good night :)

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank missmorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
So, you couldn't sleep so you rated everything about the hostel at the lowest possible rating. You didn't like the staff? I find that very hard to believe. You said we were clean, but you obviously rated it low. The location? You can't get more central in Boquete than we are, how does that rate a 1? We obviously can't please everyone and we don't expect to. But we do expect a fair rating. I'd suggest that next time you look into where you're staying and maybe choose a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    143
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
14
124
126
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Convenient location right off the Parque in the middle of town. Our private room with bath on the second floor had a west-facing window and was very hot when we arrived in the early afternoon. There are no fans. However the room cooled off by the evening and we left the window open throughout our two day stay. Fortunately, the kitchen is well equipped and there is a lot of room for storage because it gets a lot of use from guests. There were guests of all ages and nationalities and the atmosphere was very friendly. There are comfortable indoor and outdoor sitting areas. On Saturday night there was a very loud band playing at the bar next door. We were on the opposite side of the building so we weren’t disturbed too much, especially because they stopped playing early.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
We aim to please, and although we had everything you needed it would have been nice to know what we needed to do bring your rating from a 3 to a 4 or a 5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The hostel is large and nice, could use one or two more showers although the wait was never long. The staff are over the top accomodating and friendly and helpful. My friend needed a hostel the next day in Panama city and the manager told her to take a seat and watch a movie while he took 30 min to call every hostel he knew in Panama (during carnevale no less) to find her a bed. I have never encountered hostel staff anywhere in the world who would do this!! the place is warm, showers hot, lots of great lounge space with sun and shade and the movie room is a nice break from the backpacking drinking that you'll need a break from!! Great backpacker vibe!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afrinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

If ever there was a hostel with amazing guests then this is it. Staff a bit aloof at times but had a great time. St. Patricks party (organised between themselves by the hostel stayers- not the staff) was awesome. Although constantly being told to be quiet after midnight when in the drinking garden was a bit weird.
Hostel clean but very busy kitchen and not quite enough facilities.
The mix of guests was great 20-50+ which is what made this place!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowboxfish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2011

A very nice hostel where I immediately felt at home. The staff was very friendly and helpful and can help you arrange a lot of tours around Boquete. Great kitchen with a lot of amenities. Situated in a beautiful old building and with a very relaxed atmosphere!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henriette048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Mamallena was aweosme. They have a ton of big, private rooms with private bathrooms for under thirty dollars. the communal kitchen is hooked up and there is a 24 hr supermarket next door, so we saved a ton of money by cooking dinner here every night. there are 2 porches to hang out on, eat on, make friends with. there is a washer and dryer for guests to use, it was cheap and even though the hostel was full it was no problem finding a time to use them.

Miguel and his staff are really nice and friendly. They remember your names, what you did that day, and are always available to give you advice for what to do that day.

the only thing to be nervous about is the new bar that is supposed to open up this month that is attached to the hostel. Right now, nights are best enjoyed drinking wine (or seco!) and chilling with other people in the hostel. The bar will make it noisy and change the dynamic to a little bit of a party scene.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ar567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Great Location, and internet a plus, but that doesn't out weight the cons, Bites Bites Bites, like I have never experienced during any of my travels in central america. Not sure if they were bed bugs or spider bites, but I got tons of them in one night needless to say it was my last night there. 2 weeks later they are finally going away, be wary travelers

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turndog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
El Machico Boquete
El Machico Boquete
#1 of 48 in Boquete
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Nomba
Hostal Nomba
#13 of 48 in Boquete
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#5 of 48 in Boquete
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Property: Hostel Mamallena
Address: Parque Central, Light Blue House | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mamallena 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamallena Boquete hostel is your home away from home! Here it is the atmosphere and the service that makes the difference! Everything is made to make you feel comfortable and happy. Our friendly staff composed by locals and volonteers has an answer for anything you wonder. It is also the most reliable source of information about Boquete and surroundings, ATM, transportation, travels and hostel facilities. In a colourful colonial wooden building with strong character, we provide different types of private rooms with en-suites and dorm beds, we've got a room for everyone. Add to that our great beds, free pancake breakfast, free internet and movies, great customer service and you have the perfect hostel for your stay in Boquete. Whether it's for a night, a week or a month, you're more than welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing