We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay & Good Vibe.”
Review of Hostal Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Gaia
Ranked #12 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay & Good Vibe.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hostal Gaia is a beautiful hostel with small dormitory rooms, a great communal kitchen and good wi fi. The people that stayed there when we were there were interesting and friendly. It's a relaxing place and quiet environment where people socialize around the dining table but doesn't break into a party scene. They have affordable laundry services and great tips on activities to do around the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    29
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
34
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The professional and personable staff (Hilda, Olivia, Diana) is just one of the factors that make Hostal Gaia my favorite place to stay in Boquete. I spent three weeks in Boquete, tried other properties, and feel that Gaia is a great value, draws mature and respectful travelers (for the most part), and offers a well-equipped, shared kitchen and comfortable common areas. The fee for having laundry washed and line dried was only $2. The property felt secure and safe, and the location was convenient to "downtown".
Many hostels, maybe most others, seem to cater to younger and very low budget travelers. Those hostels tend to be dirty, noisy, and crowded. Gaia had a special feel that encouraged courteous behavior and pleasant conversations - and privacy when desired. I highly recommend Hostal Gaia.

Room Tip: Reserve one of the private rooms with ensuite baths; Room #5 is best, is in a separate and private c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetMags2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

There isnt a better hostal in Boquete for the $$$$. Clean, cheap, secure and a great location right on the main street about 100m down from the park. Hilda is the lady in charge and she really takes care of her guests. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hostel Gaia is a cheap place to stay for one night. Bed is just 1.80cm long. Rooms are ok but not really nice, shower was ok as well. Staff doesn't speak english, just 1 person could spek a little bit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enila07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great Hostel for spending a few days. The living area and kitchen was perfect size (not to big) in order to have a great chat / time together. Also kitchen was very good equiped and the manager was very helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neuzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
447 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We just left here after 3 nights in the private room right off of the reception area. Initially, I had concerns that this would be noisy with people coming and going, but since the reception closes in the evening, it was no problem.

The kitchen upstairs where the dorm rooms are, was well equipped to service a number of people at once. The range of ages was quite wide, but everyone was friendly with each other.

The manager not only speaks excellent English, but she and her staff go out of their way to make the stay as carefree as possible. They arranged our tours for us and had them completed in minutes.

The beds were super comfortable. We could hear people walking around upstairs, but by 10pm, it was totally quiet. I attribute much of this to the fact that the town has no nightlife, so people hunker down earlier than some places.

Boquete is not all that large, but the location was perfect to take a short walk to grocery stores, cafes, or restaurants. Even the 'bus station' is only a few blocks walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudaBaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

A very nice couple of days at Gaia. Good location just off the Main Street. Manager speaks excellent English and is very informative and helpful. Great common area with lots of reading material and a good, well-stocked kitchen (utensils). Washing is cheap ($2!). Our double room was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was good. Very solid bet if staying a few days. Not a party hostel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thebrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#9 of 31 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Machico Hostel Boquete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spanish by the River-Boquete
0.6 mi away
Hostal Nomba
Hostal Nomba
#14 of 49 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Jungla Experience
La Jungla Experience
#6 of 31 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gaia

Property: Hostal Gaia
Address: Avenida B oeste | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boquete is known as the land of coffee and f lowers, beautiful landscapes and multitude shades of green flora. Gaia is the mother earth, where all this beauty lives...Here at our hostel you will find a pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff, all the tourist information that you need, and more. We offer private rooms with bath and hot water & dorms with shared bath and hot water, comfortable beds with semi-orthopedic mattresses, bed linen, pillow and blankets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing