We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, yet a good place to meet people”
Review of Hostal Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Gaia
Ranked #12 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Right off the main road, nextdoor to the Sugar and Spice bakery (with great breakfasts!), it was easy to find when I arrived to Boquete. The small dorms (4 or 6 beds) were well arranged, with shelves and lockers, and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. The social areas (kitchen,dinning room and tv room) are bunched together so you will easily meet the other guests. There is also a place to hangout in the yard. The staff was very nice and very knowledgeable. The hostal was clean and well run.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garapatoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 99 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The first thing I noticed was how clean this place is. They also have very nice sheets. We stayed 2 nights in the main building in the double just under the communal area and then we had to move to a shed in the garden. I would definetely recommend to go into the shed. It's very private and spacious. The other room, the room with the moon on the door in the main building was very very loud. You could here the people walking around and as it is right under the communal area there was always someone. It sounded like people would moving furniture. I think the ceiling is just very bad isolated. We had about 4 hours sleep only the other night. Cause one guy was walking around for half an hour at 4 o clock at night and then others got up as well. The staff is friendly though not all speak English.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaffeegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hostel Gaia is a 5 minute walk from the central park. Hilda and staff are friendly and helpful. Had a large laundry done, washed and dried for $4.00 and returned the next morning. My room was large with a double bed as well as a single. The bathroom and bedroom were both clean and neat. The "hot" water was more like warm but not a real issue. Just do not expect "home" like conditions when traveling in Latin and South America. For the cost this was a great option in Boquete and there are many choices for dining within a two - five minute walk and a great bakeshop right next door. I would recommend Hostel Gaia if your looking for an economical and clean place in Boquete.

Room Tip: I had the front room with private bath closest to the desk...still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The place is clean and simple, with a nice atmosphere, the double rooms are 33 and the dorms are 11 with no breakfast but a beautiful kitchen and dining room where you can make coffee at all times. Both options of rooms are quiet comfortable and recommendable. I slept great in here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEWSTED1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just stayed here with our group of 7. We stayed in the two private rooms downstairs - one room has 2 double beds and the other has 1 double and 1 twin. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Nice little yard to relax in on the side of the building. You have access to the kitchen upstairs in the dorm room area. Good location in Boquete, short walk from main square, awesome bakery next door. Smells delicious all day! Gaia will also do your laundry for a small fee. The owner Hilda is super nice and was very helpful getting us taxis to David and to a hiking trail, setting up a coffee tour, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hilda who runs the place is superb. We rocked up to Boquete late in the evening and without a reservation. We searched out a place to stay but everywhere was full. As a side note: if you are planning on travelling to Boquete in January make sure you have a reservation. It is the busiest time there and every place is full.

Just as we were about to give up all hope of finding a place we came across Gaia and met Hilda. Gaia was also full but she made a few calls and found us a place to stay just down the road. She then got a cancellation for the next day so offered it to us. We didnt hesitate to take the room and returned the next day.

We stayed 2 nights but would have stayed longer had there been availability. The place is spotless apart from the dorm area upstairs which was a state. But you cannot blame the hostal for this. They had a school group staying with them and they were simply very messy. We had one of the private rooms downstairs near reception. It was nice but the lighting could be better. The single ceiling light is just not strong enough. Some bed side lights should also be introduced for laying in bed in the evening.

WIFI was very strong. Hilda was ver helpful with our stay and even drove us to El Explorador Gardens in her own car because it was impossible to get a cab (again, January is so busy). She is very knoweldgeable and has a lot of info on the area in folders scattered around reception. The bed was very comfy and the sheets were also very nice. Bathroom was sparse but clean. One minor complaint about the room, apart from the lighting, is the noise that can be heard from the doorms above. You can hear everyone walking around and jumping out of bed. Not a big deal but can get a bit irritating after a while.

Overall we really liked Gaia. Relaxed vibe and Hilda is great. We would come back.

Some tips for Boquete itself:

-Don't waste your time going to the El Explorador Gardens! They have jacked up the price to $5 which is crazy. It used to be just $1 which would justify a visit. Not anymore. It is full of odd and trippy sculptures and thats about it.

-Get the waffles for breakfast at "Suger and Spice". Delicious.

-Try the fish and chips at Big Daddys Grill. Also try their house margaritas.

-Try the falafel plate and burger at Mikes Grill. Both excellent.

-We did he Cafe Ruiz coffee tour. It was excellent.

-Rent a scooter from Dave on the main street and go exploring. Very good place to ride as all the streets are paved. Get there early as his scooters go very quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Hilda who runs the place is superb. We rocked up to Boquete late in the evening and without a reservation. We searched out a place to stay but everywhere was full. As a side note: if you are planning on travelling to Boquete in January make sure you have a reservation. It is the busiest time there and every place is full.

Just as we were about to give up all hope of finding a place we came across Gaia and met Hilda. Gaia was also full but she made a few calls and found us a place to stay just down the road. She then got a cancellation for the next day so offered it to us. We didnt hesitate to take the room and returned the next day.

We stayed 2 nights but would have stayed longer had there been availability. The place is spotless apart from the dorm area upstairs which was a state. But you cannot blame the hostal for this. They had a school group staying with them and they were simply very messy. We had one of the private rooms downstairs near reception. It was nice but the lighting could be better. The single ceiling light is just not strong enough. Some bed side lights should also be introduced for laying in bed in the evening.

WIFI was very strong. Hilda was ver helpful with our stay and even drove us to El Explorador Gardens in her own car because it was impossible to get a cab (again, January is so busy). She is very knoweldgeable and has a lot of info on the area in folders scattered around reception. The bed was very comfy and the sheets were also very nice. Bathroom was sparse but clean. One minor complaint about the room, apart from the lighting, is the noise that can be heard from the doorms above. You can hear everyone walking around and jumping out of bed. Not a big deal but can get a bit irritating after a while.

Overall we really liked Gaia. Relaxed vibe and Hilda is great. We would come back.

Some tips for Boquete itself:

-Don't waste your time going to the El Explorador Gardens! They have jacked up the price to $5 which is crazy. It used to be just $1 which would justify a visit. Not anymore. It is full of odd and trippy sculptures and thats about it.

-Get the waffles for breakfast at "Suger and Spice". Delicious.

-Try the fish and chips at Big Daddys Grill. Also try their house margaritas.

-Try the falafel plate and burger at Mikes Grill. Both excellent.

-We did he Cafe Ruiz coffee tour. It was excellent.

-Rent a scooter from Dave on the main street and go exploring. Very good place to ride as all the streets are paved. Get there early as his scooters go very quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.9 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
0.3 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#6 of 54 in Boquete
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#1 of 54 in Boquete
101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boquete Lodge
Boquete Lodge
#2 of 54 in Boquete
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gaia

Address: Avenida B oeste | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range: $28 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Gaia 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boquete is known as the land of coffee and f lowers, beautiful landscapes and multitude shades of green flora. Gaia is the mother earth, where all this beauty lives...Here at our hostel you will find a pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff, all the tourist information that you need, and more. We offer private rooms with bath and hot water & dorms with shared bath and hot water, comfortable beds with semi-orthopedic mattresses, bed linen, pillow and blankets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing