We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, solid place all around”
Review of Hostal Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Gaia
Ranked #10 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great stay, solid place all around”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a very well-run hostel. It is exceptionally hygienic, clean and comfortable for Panamanian standards. Hostel owner is a great help, and it was just a complete relief after a couple of bad experiences in Panama

Superb value as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    30
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
36
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Hostal Gaia. I originally planned to stay for 2 nights, but when I arrived, I liked it so much that I immediately signed up for 4. Clean, secure, nice location, friendly and relaxed vibe, and very comfortable beds. And the owner was extremely helpful!! She went out of her way to connect me with other guests and locals who could help me plan activities around Boquete. She is very friendly and speaks great English.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Va
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hostel was managed well, furnished thoughtfully, and quiet. The shared area had a well equipped kitchen, a sitting area, and clean shower and bath. It is located a handful of blocks from the heart of town. It was a great place to stay and get some sleep and unwind from a long day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nads82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is a great spot. Feels more like staying at your fashionable friend's apartment rather than a true backpacker's hostel. Nice and clean with the best mattresses I've had traveling through all of Central America--which is to say real mattresses and not a foam pad. The prices are comparable to other hostels, but what you get is so much better. Attention to decor (definitely designed by a woman with thoughtful touches and a homey vibe). Full kitchen access, living room with television.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pealoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We enjoy our stay in this hostel. There is a good kitchen. The room is perfect, we had a private room with a private bathroom for an inexpensive price (around 11$ a night p.p.). The staff was really nice. The hostel is situated in the center of Boquete, the location is perfect. The hostel is perfect for sleeping because its a quiet hostel. People there are really nice! Thank you hostel Gaia. Enjoy your trip in Boquete you'll love it for sure!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelie093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms. Spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Felt quite homely.Excellent, modern ensuite. Wifi worked well in the room.

A 5 minute walk to the middle of town. A couple of restaurants across the road and an excellent bakery just next door.

We paid $33 but it was well worth it. You may want to go to the trouble of booking ahead as they are small and get busy (we had to move out of our room on the 4th night, but luckily had a tent and stayed in the back yard).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We paid $33 on our first night in Panama for a private room and bath. It was spartan and immaculate, and right across from Tammy's a great restaurant. The only drawback of the particular room we were in was that is was a few feet from the front desk, where there was often a TV on.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacagawea_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#6 of 49 in Boquete
430 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Machico Boquete
El Machico Boquete
#1 of 49 in Boquete
80 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#3 of 49 in Boquete
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gaia

Property: Hostal Gaia
Address: Avenida B oeste | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Gaia 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boquete is known as the land of coffee and f lowers, beautiful landscapes and multitude shades of green flora. Gaia is the mother earth, where all this beauty lives...Here at our hostel you will find a pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff, all the tourist information that you need, and more. We offer private rooms with bath and hot water & dorms with shared bath and hot water, comfortable beds with semi-orthopedic mattresses, bed linen, pillow and blankets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing