We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nicely finished place”
Review of Hostal Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Gaia
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nicely finished place”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms. Spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Felt quite homely.Excellent, modern ensuite. Wifi worked well in the room.

A 5 minute walk to the middle of town. A couple of restaurants across the road and an excellent bakery just next door.

We paid $33 but it was well worth it. You may want to go to the trouble of booking ahead as they are small and get busy (we had to move out of our room on the 4th night, but luckily had a tent and stayed in the back yard).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    29
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
35
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We paid $33 on our first night in Panama for a private room and bath. It was spartan and immaculate, and right across from Tammy's a great restaurant. The only drawback of the particular room we were in was that is was a few feet from the front desk, where there was often a TV on.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacagawea_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Hostel Gaia is close to Boquette centre, some very good restaurants and next to an excellent bakery. We stayed in one of the few private rooms which was very clean and comfortable. The communal kitchen is well equipped and clean. The common room area has a large TV and the hostel has a good range of DVD´s.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank english_girl_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bocas del toro Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Gaia was the perfect hostel for my girl and I. We stayed in the dorm rooms and also had a private room for the last night and they were both very clean and the service was excellent. The hostel is walking distance to restaurants and bars, the staff is excellent, and it is very well priced.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tysonwmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I really enjoyed staying here. The atmosphere is great and it is near everything. The price is right too. Was able to cook and enjoy a wonderful stay. Tatiana and others were very professional and the bakery next door is out of this world. Thank you Richard for your wonderful bread cake and pie. Everyone was very friendly including the travelers staying there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zonianforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2009

just spend 3 nights at hostal gaia and i loved it. the hostel is close to the town center and the biggest supermarket (5min walking) and there is also a bakery in the same building so that you can have freshly baked muffins and bread whenever you feel like it. The staff is friendly and most of them speak fluently English as well. Everything is still really clean because it was just opened 2 months ago, the kitchen is fully equipped and the bathroom spotless. furthermore the dorms are quite spacious and if you need more space, there is a living room with tv and dvd-player (dvd rental for free) and also an additional dining room. Considering all those community rooms and the reception being not at the same floor but downstairs, it feels more like sharing a flat with other travellers/friends than like staying in a hoste. would always go back there!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CStehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#6 of 48 in Boquete
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
El Machico Boquete
El Machico Boquete
#1 of 48 in Boquete
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arte Hostal
Arte Hostal
#12 of 48 in Boquete
14 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Nomba
Hostal Nomba
#14 of 48 in Boquete
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gaia

Property: Hostal Gaia
Address: Avenida B oeste | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boquete is known as the land of coffee and f lowers, beautiful landscapes and multitude shades of green flora. Gaia is the mother earth, where all this beauty lives...Here at our hostel you will find a pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff, all the tourist information that you need, and more. We offer private rooms with bath and hot water & dorms with shared bath and hot water, comfortable beds with semi-orthopedic mattresses, bed linen, pillow and blankets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing