We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of Hotel Panamonte

Hotel Panamonte
Ranked #7 of 106 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Boquete. Over the years, it has maintained its high standards. You will be surprised to find a wood fire at the bar. For a romantic and relaxing evening, start with drinks by the fire and then move to the elegantly decorated dining room for dinner. The mushroom risotto is excellent, as are the pork chops (smoked or otherwise). We were however shocked to see the corkage fee has gone up to USD20 per bottle!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKBeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    163
    70
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Desayuno”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had breakfast at Panamonte, just the basic bacon and eggs,but the service was superior,the food was top notch and my friends Swedish pancakes were excellent. A very pretty spot with a lot of history--- very comfortable,you know? I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant Dinner”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

For our last evening in Boquette, we splurged on a dinner at the well-appointed Panamonte Restaurant. You eat in a well-appointed classic dining room with hundred year old paintings.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice place but pricy”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a nice restaurant, probably the fanciest one in Boquete. Beautiful grounds and nice atmosphere. Food was pretty good as well. But be prepared to pay North American prices. Our dinner for two with two iced teas was around $60 with a tip. We got there early on a week night but surprisingly the place filled up pretty quickly. It's popular with Panamanians.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbroadDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great service but serving frozen shrimp”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I had the shrimp dinner and cocktails here with friends. I did not know this until I ate at another restaurant that the shrimp are out of season and the other restaurant did not service camerones. They were in a heavy sauce but the texture was overly firm so you can tell they were frozen. I came to Panama to eat fresh fish. I would eat steak here. Also I thought is was pricey and very much catered to gringos. I like more of a local flare for food and venue. Nice atmosphere though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailing_Sweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Panamonte also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing