We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Panamonte

Hotel Panamonte
Ranked #7 of 103 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Loved the hamburger, the lemon pie, all breakfast (specially weekend brunch and french toast), and the tiradito de tuna! WOW

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephanieB961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    158
    68
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, but not worth the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Perhaps I went over excited about this restaurant based on what I heard and read. I Am a foodie and eat all over the world and thought my meal was average. The atmosphere was nice, service ok and good menu selection. The bread was not worth the calories, unless you are starved. I started off with the pizza app, which was a thicker crust, decent amount of Manchego cheese and they said basil, but they just through some leaves on top. Taste was fair, not worth it for me. I had the shrimp rosotto, which had a great flavor and was filling. My buddy had the lamb shak with gnocchi which I tried and though it was fair, not worth $32!!! The gnocchi were tiny and not cooked correct according to what I've had all over the world in the past. I had to ask for a water refill. I wouldn't go back personally, especially after eating at The Rock the night before, which was Incredible!!! Disappointed, but I usually would give a place a second chance. They do speak English enough to communicate and I never felt rushed. The outside Inn atmosphere was very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greatbodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and nice decoration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I liked the classic atmosphere. The food was really good and the service, too. We made a reservation, but it was not needed, because it was almost empty that night: we visited Boquete during a low season. I guess it's different in high season. This restaurant was recommended by some friends, and did not dissapoint at all. Would definitely go again, because they have plenty of things to try on the menu. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank danyluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We ate here our first night in Boquete and were glad we did. We sat on the porch overlooking a quiet street and were given impeccable service.

They started out by bringing rolls- hot and fresh. My husband ordered the trout and I ordered a salad and the pumpkin soup. It came out pretty quickly. The soup was AMAZING. So good!! Don't miss it if you visit. Creamy and fresh, with drizzles of other flavors on top. The salad was ample, with a delicious dressing and feta cheese that complimented it perfectly. The caramelized nuts on it also were a great touch. My husband enjoyed his trout as well.

We ended with a dessert that was like a bread pudding, with dates and caramel sauce. Amazing! I only wish we would have come back here instead of going to a couple other places we tried while in town. I'd highly recommend it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rubyiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Gourmet Food in Boquete”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you are into gourmet food, this is the place for you! The place can be a little expensive, but I do not think there is a better chef in Boquete than the guy doing the cooking here. The service is very good and the environment of the place is excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1Arlyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Panamonte also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing