We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crepes, wine, coffee and more!”
Review of Boquete Art Cafe

Boquete Art Cafe
Ranked #19 of 104 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Art Café - Fine French and Cuisines of the World! Boquete Art Café is a much beloved, award-winning destination in Boquete offering fresh farm to plate organic ingredients, exquisite dishes and excellent service from our professional and friendly staff. Art Café's blending of Old and New World elegance suits the casual diner as well as those celebrating a special occasion. Our welcoming ambiance is a pleasure for both the local community and travelers alike. We emphasize lovingly prepared food in an artistic atmosphere, with unsurpassed personal attention to detail. We thank you for your patronage.
British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Crepes, wine, coffee and more!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A french bistro style restaurant, a wine bar and a coffee bar all rolled into one! The menu is filled with yummy choices of crepes served as an entree or dessert. I had the salmon, spinach and cream cheese crepe and my husband ordered the local trout that was pan cooked accompanied with chutney, rice and veggies. The breaded and fried brie cheese served with french bread slices is a decadent starter dish. Tastefully done.
The wine/coffee bar next door has art and beautiful jewelry pieces for sale. Hang out and enjoy some music over a glass of wine, or partake in some of the best coffee you will ever have...locally grown and roasted from one of the surrounding Boquete coffee farms.
Daniel and Ali are so welcoming. By the time you leave their cozy establishment, you will feel like you just made a friend or two in Boquete.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank hopemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    90
    33
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Jean Marie's place, just great.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great food, excellent service and upbeat atmosphere. I always order the Crepes Argentueil. Outstanding.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank marniy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We'll be back.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Finally ventured to the far end of town and wandered into Art Cafe La Crepe. Very pretty decor and cozy atmosphere. Service was fast and friendly. I can't rave enough about their Eggplant Flan. Nestled on a bed of organic butter lettuce with vine ripe tomatoes and an awesome tomato coulis or sauce. Don't know exactly, but it had the most superb flavor. Never had eggplant served in this fashion - again, can't describe the flavor but it was fabulous!!

Second course, we both tried a crepe, it's a crepe restaurant, right? I had the chicken curry and my husband had the Californian. In both cases, they arrived nicely plated and hot, but honestly, nothing to rave about - not bad, just not anything special. I had a glass of their white wine and it was a generous pour,

Their menu is pretty extensive and includes some pricier specialty dishes. So, I think we will definitely visit again. I'm guessing they probably have some items that are just as good or BETTER than the eggplant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandLakeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Scrumtious lunch!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a wonderful place to eat! The biggest problem was to choose which of the items on the menu to choose. I went with the smoked salmon and spinach crepe which was amazingly good. The owners are very friendly, and have created a great space to eat and also shop for arts and jewelry. Coffee is also wonderful. Its a must try while in Boquete

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“when you have to have french food”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

i almost always get the snails to start. cant help it. under new mgmt., with one of the old chefs. have had rabbit, fish, pork, salads and of course the snails. i like the dessert crepe with nutella. to die for!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wemovealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boquete Art Cafe also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Boquete Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing