We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great food, good value”
Review of Hotel Ladera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ladera
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice room, great food, good value”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Ladera for 2 nights to finish up our visit to Boquete. We had the king suite at the far end of the hotel from the reception desk and as a result had wonderful big windows on 2 sides of our room to enjoy the view and frequent valley rainbows. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and nicely sized. The room is not air conditioned but there was always a breeze flowing in the patio doors and a fan in the ceiling so the room cooled down nicely for sleeping. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and the bartender gave us Spanish lessons while we sat and enjoyed a complimentary drink. The hotel is within walking distance of Boquete and we did walk into town during the day. I would caution that at night it is very dark and there is a lot of traffic on the road so we did not walk at night. Also, because the hotel is on a busy road there is a far bit of traffic sound until later in the evening. We ate 2 suppers at the hotel and the food was very good. Breakfasts were included and although the menu was set (only choices were coffee vs. orange juice / toast vs. tortilla) the food was good. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in the king suite at the far end on the 2nd level. Lots of windows and pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterValleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    51
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
49
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at this place for 2 nights while we explored Boquete. It is a nice, 15 minute walk to the centre of town. It provides all the comforts of modern living. They do not set up for breakfast not even a coffee station for guests to be able to walk in and pour themselves a cup of coffee. It would have been nice if they at least had that.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlifeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roatan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 2 and half weeks in Panama and the meals we had here stand out as the best. A quick inspection of the grounds told us we were in for a treat before the food even arrived. The construction looked brand new despite being many years old (I asked) Stainless steel screws were used on the outdoor areas and LED lights were recessed into the stairs. A canal next to the restaurant held floating flowers arrangements and a worker was wading thru the water to pick up errant rose petals (I'm not making this up). We had soup, salad, a main course, desert and drinks for $60. My only complaint was the lemonade was very bitter, but the orange juice is fresh squeezed. The ceviche was the best I ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stumbled upon Hotel Ladera before our hike up Sendero El Pianista while staying in Boquete. The food was absolutely delicious - we were pleasantly surprised. We had expected a quick lunch before a long hike, but ended up eating some of the best ceviche and most delicious watercress salad we had ever had! Needless to say, we went back for dinner and tried out more of the menu - this is one of the best restaurants in Boquete - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakedape13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The rooms were very nice, clean, and spacious. They have a really cute little balcony that looks out to the mountains right over the river - very picturesque. It's a short walk over the bridge into town. It's nice to have the restaurant on site to have breakfast or a drink at night. The staff was a bit strange. I don't have anything negative to say about them, but they were just not very welcoming and they seemed to have very elaborate processes for simple transactions that were time consuming and odd.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOXtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We shopped around, and when we perused Hotel Ladera, we booked our entire stay here! Comes with breakfast, and the room, specifically #20, I was in love! With a fabulous terrace, although small, perfect for two, to take in the sounds of the rushing river, the butterflies flying by our windows. Wonderful, romantic, we will be back soon and absolutely coming back here!!!! (Coffee divine)!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canapana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We traveled from the Panama City, Panama area to Boquete by car. It's not a short trip, but it's a nice drive. We wound up in Boquete a few hours before the sun was going down, with no reservations. We had looked up some places online and figured when we got to Boquete something would shake out...
After going to several of the hostels, many of which we booked, we heard about Hotel Ladera. We went there on a whim...
What we found was a great hotel, tucked away. We asked about rooms and found they had availability on short notice. The front desk staff person, Ricardo, was very accommodating, bilingual (Spanish/English) and funny. After a little bit of negotiation we booked a nice double.
The rooms have a nice patio and the hotel opens up nicely to the sounds of the mountains and the city. Very clean, warm showers and comfortable beds.
The kitchen/bar staff were great, funny and very helpful.
The hotel staff in general were quick to assist us in our many needs...from helping us book flights, to giving us advice on where to go next in Panama, to helping us access the local tours that Boquete had to offer...hiking, coffee farms, etc.
If I find myself back in Boquete, Hotel Ladera is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
336 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ladera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ladera

Property: Hotel Ladera
Address: Buenos Aires Street | Via Palo Alto, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ladera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera Hotel- Boquete . A hotel with beautiful contemporary design on the banks of the rushing Caldera River. Enjoy mountain views of Volcan Baru in one of the most beautiful areas of Boquete. We offer rooms, suites and an apartment. Breakfast for two is included.Enjoy our onsite restaurant with the highest Trip Advisor Rating in Boquete.Located in the beautiful Palo Alto section of Boquete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ladera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing