We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Boquette, Panama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valle del Rio
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip to Boquette, Panama”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed for one day in this lovely place. The hotel is very good, well located, very clean. The stuff is very friendly too. The included breakfast is basic but good.
The Wifi didn't worked for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avivmo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    55
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
67
64
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Valle del Rio was very comfortable, nice location. The staff was very helpful and most speak English.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OakHillsFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you can get a room overlooking river, you will be delighted with the view and the sound of the river lulling you to sleep. The staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel updated and high quality rooms. They could lose the scented spray they administer after they clean. Too strong!

The breakfast is fairly nice and the staff went the extra mile to make a protein smoothy for us...with a smile! The view of the man is to die for though. Great bed. Good pillows! 5 minute walk to town so it is quiet!

Room Tip: Third floor, river side. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We are from Santa Barbara, CA and stayed one week at this hotel and loved.it. there are other more pricey hotels on the river, but few had the serentiy and close location to the town's center. we could walk 5 minutes into town and eat while the hotel feels in the country.

ask for a room on the river in back. there are beautiful balaconys that over look the mountains and the river below. the rooms are very elegant, completely newly refurbished. the beds were excellent, fine sheets and tastefully done. the breakfast came with the price and was better than a continental, as they give you eggs, fruit, toast, juice and excellent coffee. free wifi. has a gym and a nice bar and restaurant. you can walk up the street to an upscale resort and see an amazing waterfall on your left off of a golf course. I highly recommend this hotel. staff are very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for room in back on river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anselyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I booked 2 days at this hotel even though the reviews were very mixed. I'll start with the pros as there were a few things about this hotel we liked. The location is beautiful with a mountain stream tumbling along the back of the property. Also, the hotel is within walking distance of downtown Boquete so you can walk downtown, have a nice supper with a glass of wine (the new Peru restaurant has great food and service), and walk back. Our room had a king bed and a nicely sized bathroom and shower. Unfortunately, this hotel has a lot of cons and as a result is very overpriced compared to other places we stayed at in Panama. The hotel needs repair throughout, the floor in our room was cracked and the boards wobbly and shrunken. Our room had a nice deck overlooking the stream but about a quarter of our deck was taken up by a ventilation shaft from the kitchen below. So from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. all we could hear in our room was the roar of the vent and smell whatever they were cooking in the kitchen below. The hotel was very noisy with loud people and music long into the evening and early morning so if you are looking for a quiet place to stay this isn't the right hotel. Breakfast was included with our stay - it was a help yourself type of breakfast where the coffee is in a big urn and the food laid out buffet style. All of the food with the exception of some fruit was very unappealing and the coffee was not drinkable.We settled for toast each morning although we had to ask for a toaster (if you are a coffee lover, there are lots of great coffee places in town and at various road stop coffee planations). After our 2 days were over we moved to another hotel in Boquete to finish our visit. I would not recommend this hotel and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WaterValleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I loved this place, the beautiful mountain right across the stream is like a postcard, it is a very lovely little hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable a little on the small size, but nice, the shower..oh my the rain shower was incredible, my daugther still talks about it and she is 5! it was close to everything which is great if you don't have a car. I think if they reduce the price a little and also reduce the prices on the restaurant they could have themselves a prime destination for vacationers, or at least include a continental breakfast with the room rate that would make it more appealing, I would come back again and stay even longer time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veronica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelValledelRio, Propietario at Hotel Valle del Rio, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Veronica
Greetings from Hotel Valle del Rio
I appreciate very much your review about our Hotel and travelers like you makes us be able to grow stronger every day. what i found odd is that we do include a full breakfast with our room rate to all our guests (no exceptions ) and i would very much would like to know is why didn't you enjoyed it. Please write us to valledelrio@gmail.com and comment about this matter. I would very much appreciated
Regards Ofer Hasky
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Great location about 500 yards outside of downtown Boquete, would agree with previous TA comment that Boguete is best explored via car, the hotel can be walked to or from, with luggage your going to want to cab it for around $2.00 depending on your cab driver.

Great rooms, with balcony over looking the valley and stream very peaceful. Wonderful comfortable bed with high quality linens. There is really nothing to want for in the room, great hot water rain shower, good size bathroom, no hair dryer but that seemed pretty standard for Panama.

There is no wifi in the room, but then while in Boquete you really shouldn't be spending your time on the internet. Their is a cable connection for your computer and if you ask nice they will load you one at the front desk. The wifi in the lobby and public areas does work fine.

The food service was very good, with a good selection. They have a large selection of wines are fairly good prices. The english at the front desk is fairly weak, but they give it a good try. They are not into making tours organizations or recommendations, so those are best planed else where.

You might want to note that the rooms are on the second and third floors, even though the room numbers for second floor start with a 1, mention this as there is no elevator. This location is one of the top picks for Boquete and I think for the money the best value close in to the downtown area

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
336 reviews
4.0 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
384 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 11 in Boquete
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valle del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valle del Rio

Property: Hotel Valle del Rio
Address: Camino Valle Escondido | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valle del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Hotel in Boquete with A/C in every room, Impecable service and large rooms with balcony and breath taking views. Paladar Restaurant with his large terrace overlooking the River will delight you with his exquisite menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Valle del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing