We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
117
57
20
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
57
20
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river the room rate included breakfast buffet style fabulous shower limited english coffee machine room was spacious hot water small refrigerator excellent coffee hotel is located boquete area three nights stream balcony town festival
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 207 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Valle del Rio was very comfortable, nice location. The staff was very helpful and most speak English.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OakHillsFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you can get a room overlooking river, you will be delighted with the view and the sound of the river lulling you to sleep. The staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel updated and high quality rooms. They could lose the scented spray they administer after they clean. Too strong!

The breakfast is fairly nice and the staff went the extra mile to make a protein smoothy for us...with a smile! The view of the man is to die for though. Great bed. Good pillows! 5 minute walk to town so it is quiet!

Room Tip: Third floor, river side. Worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We are from Santa Barbara, CA and stayed one week at this hotel and loved.it. there are other more pricey hotels on the river, but few had the serentiy and close location to the town's center. we could walk 5 minutes into town and eat while the hotel feels in the country.

ask for a room on the river in back. there are beautiful balaconys that over look the mountains and the river below. the rooms are very elegant, completely newly refurbished. the beds were excellent, fine sheets and tastefully done. the breakfast came with the price and was better than a continental, as they give you eggs, fruit, toast, juice and excellent coffee. free wifi. has a gym and a nice bar and restaurant. you can walk up the street to an upscale resort and see an amazing waterfall on your left off of a golf course. I highly recommend this hotel. staff are very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for room in back on river.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anselyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I booked 2 days at this hotel even though the reviews were very mixed. I'll start with the pros as there were a few things about this hotel we liked. The location is beautiful with a mountain stream tumbling along the back of the property. Also, the hotel is within walking distance of downtown Boquete so you can walk downtown, have a nice supper with a glass of wine (the new Peru restaurant has great food and service), and walk back. Our room had a king bed and a nicely sized bathroom and shower. Unfortunately, this hotel has a lot of cons and as a result is very overpriced compared to other places we stayed at in Panama. The hotel needs repair throughout, the floor in our room was cracked and the boards wobbly and shrunken. Our room had a nice deck overlooking the stream but about a quarter of our deck was taken up by a ventilation shaft from the kitchen below. So from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. all we could hear in our room was the roar of the vent and smell whatever they were cooking in the kitchen below. The hotel was very noisy with loud people and music long into the evening and early morning so if you are looking for a quiet place to stay this isn't the right hotel. Breakfast was included with our stay - it was a help yourself type of breakfast where the coffee is in a big urn and the food laid out buffet style. All of the food with the exception of some fruit was very unappealing and the coffee was not drinkable.We settled for toast each morning although we had to ask for a toaster (if you are a coffee lover, there are lots of great coffee places in town and at various road stop coffee planations). After our 2 days were over we moved to another hotel in Boquete to finish our visit. I would not recommend this hotel and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WaterValleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I loved this place, the beautiful mountain right across the stream is like a postcard, it is a very lovely little hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable a little on the small size, but nice, the shower..oh my the rain shower was incredible, my daugther still talks about it and she is 5! it was close to everything which is great if you don't have a car. I think if they reduce the price a little and also reduce the prices on the restaurant they could have themselves a prime destination for vacationers, or at least include a continental breakfast with the room rate that would make it more appealing, I would come back again and stay even longer time!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelValledelRio, Propietario at Hotel Valle del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Dear Veronica
Greetings from Hotel Valle del Rio
I appreciate very much your review about our Hotel and travelers like you makes us be able to grow stronger every day. what i found odd is that we do include a full breakfast with our room rate to all our guests (no exceptions ) and i would very much would like to know is why didn't you enjoyed it. Please write us to valledelrio@gmail.com and comment about this matter. I would very much appreciated
Regards Ofer Hasky
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews