We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Nearby Hotels
The Haven and Spa(Boquete)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finca Lerida(Boquete)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ladera(Boquete)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
327
92
26
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
92
26
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomthe riverthe ownertour deskbig kitchenshared kitchendel riohot waterclean roomsrelaxing placehome away from homestayed nightsdormhostelsoundwifislackline
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 466 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We (couple 41 & 50) stayed at Refugio del Rio for one night in March 2014. We paid $38 a night for a private room with a bathroom and small patio. The room was large and clean but basic and the double bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large and very modern. The shower was very nice with lots of hot water. There is a hot tub, community kitchen, patio/salon, wi-fi and several computers. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hostal had a very social but quiet atmosphere. There were a lot of people staying there and the kitchen was crowded. The bus stop, restaurants, shops and ATMs are within five minutes walking. Refugio del Rio is a very good value and we would stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in the private treehouse room. Read our books on the patio and were lulled to sleep by the sound of the river rushing by. Not TV, no A/C necessary. We did get a few bug bites...try not to leave the light on inside after dark. Great value and closer to town to do your shopping and browsing. Lots of tours offered though we passed on them...not really our thing but for folks tht need to be entertained there is plenty on offer. The main building has a communal kitchen which is well stocked and some computer on hand. The wifi didn't quite reach our room but no biggie...Boquete is a nice cool (in temperature) mountain town and highly recommended if you are trying to get away from the stonking CA heat.

Room Tip: They only take cash
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

There is a lovely stream that flows besides the hostel. A very hot, hot tub to enjoy after the adventures that can be had here. Clean rooms. On-site shop. Warm ambience and awesomely friendly staff! Highly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank vanessatod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was a great little spot right outside the town center. The town reminds me a lot of a small town where I am from and has a nice laid back feel. The hostel was very helpful in setting up a coffee tour and letting me know what I needed to do to hike the volcano. Very nice and clean. Not sure what one of the reviewers was talking about with the roaches and loud noises. The hostel has a struck policy about noise after 11pm. I was actually helping wash dishes last night with my phone playing fairly low music and was asked to turn it off. Great place and staff, with nice vintners and right on a little creek that creates a very calming atmosphere. Two thumbs up.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is a dump. The pictures are completely misleading. There were cockroaches in my room and the kitchen is very dirty! It is also very noisy late into the evening and early in the morning. You can get nicer places in Boquete for the same price.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luchini L, Owner at Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Rachel,

We are really sorry for your bad experience, however, we have a few notes that might be useful for you, and for everyone who reads it.

Our system shows that you stayed in our dorm. Out of 11 other people, no one had experienced cockroaches. Moreover, since we started operating, we never received concerns regarding cockroaches. Based on the fact that we have a cat living mainly in the dorm, we highly doubt the existence of them in our hostal.
We clean our common facilities usually 4-5 times a day. It could happen, that after a busy afternoon you will not find everything flawlessly clean, but we do our best, and if any of our guests experience anything like this, the staff is really happy to help - just let us know please.
Regarding the noise; we have a strict policy, that states that quiet time is 11pm, this is respected by the staff and by guests as well. Nevertheless, you have stayed in our hostal during the carneval. That is another thing, that we can not control, but we made sure to let every of our clients know, that if they want quietness and tranquility, we have a hotel up in the mountains that can satisfy these type of needs. This information is attached in every confirmation letter that you receive after making a reservation with us.
At last but not least, an advice for your further travels; if you experience any problem during your stay at any lodging, please talk to the management after the first issues you have problem with, it is more likely that you can enjoy the rest of your stay there, than writing a bad review afterwards which is far from the reality.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews