We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was a great little spot right outside the town center. The town reminds me a lot of a small town where I am from and has a nice laid back feel. The hostel was very helpful in setting up a coffee tour and letting me know what I needed to do to hike the volcano. Very nice and clean. Not sure what one of the reviewers was talking about with the roaches and loud noises. The hostel has a struck policy about noise after 11pm. I was actually helping wash dishes last night with my phone playing fairly low music and was asked to turn it off. Great place and staff, with nice vintners and right on a little creek that creates a very calming atmosphere. Two thumbs up.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    88
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
25
163
114
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is a dump. The pictures are completely misleading. There were cockroaches in my room and the kitchen is very dirty! It is also very noisy late into the evening and early in the morning. You can get nicer places in Boquete for the same price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luchini L, Owner at Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Rachel,

We are really sorry for your bad experience, however, we have a few notes that might be useful for you, and for everyone who reads it.

Our system shows that you stayed in our dorm. Out of 11 other people, no one had experienced cockroaches. Moreover, since we started operating, we never received concerns regarding cockroaches. Based on the fact that we have a cat living mainly in the dorm, we highly doubt the existence of them in our hostal.
We clean our common facilities usually 4-5 times a day. It could happen, that after a busy afternoon you will not find everything flawlessly clean, but we do our best, and if any of our guests experience anything like this, the staff is really happy to help - just let us know please.
Regarding the noise; we have a strict policy, that states that quiet time is 11pm, this is respected by the staff and by guests as well. Nevertheless, you have stayed in our hostal during the carneval. That is another thing, that we can not control, but we made sure to let every of our clients know, that if they want quietness and tranquility, we have a hotel up in the mountains that can satisfy these type of needs. This information is attached in every confirmation letter that you receive after making a reservation with us.
At last but not least, an advice for your further travels; if you experience any problem during your stay at any lodging, please talk to the management after the first issues you have problem with, it is more likely that you can enjoy the rest of your stay there, than writing a bad review afterwards which is far from the reality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was a really pleasant place to stay in Boquete. It's a large hostel, with plenty of opportunity to meet people to hang out with or to explore the area. The kitchen is large and well equipped, and there are plenty of shops and markets nearby to stock up on local produce. The kitchen does get very busy, do be prepared to wait a while. The Panamanian staff were very helpful and friendly, a little Spanish will go a long way. It's a shame that the western staff couldn't be more disinterested if they tried. We stayed in the 10 bed dorm, which was spacious, and then the 6 bed dorm, which was a little more crowded but fine. We stayed longer than we anticipated. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robotwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place while searching for a hostel in Boquete. We were looking for a hostel with private rooms and privets baths. This beautiful place is located a couple of block from the town square sitting alongside a small river. It was clean and very affordable. The staff were super helpful. For the price we were blown away by how nice the amenities were. We plan on more trips to Boquete and El Refugio will be our top choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Strangrpilgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willingboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

So much more than just a hostal, Refugio del Rio is a beautiful place to stay in Boquete. The main house is clean and a great place to read or relax. The kitchen is stocked and always smells wonderful as guests cook throughout the day. The outside area is incredible; I met so many cool people from all over the world just by hanging out on the patio. Soothing sounds of the river make the backyard an excellent spot to chill, and the sauna was a welcome respite after a hike up Volcan Baru. Don't be scared of the outdoor shower and toilet, they work great. Many travelers stayed in their tents next to the river and I can definitely see why.

The staff is very friendly and helpful despite my limited Spanish (hola Gina!). Wifi was solid throughout the entire property area and they have four PCs for use as well. Two different travelers who had been all over told me this was there favorite hostal in the entire world. Such a great spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consecon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Rented a tree top room for 6 days. Great views, nice quiet area. Wifi always worked from our room so we didn't have to go to the common area.However the common area was nice & clean, like the rest of the property. Free coffee in the mornings was a nice touch.
Pleasant, helpful staff

Room Tip: If you want more privacy book a tree top room. You can still meet fellow travelers but only have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Refugio del Rio is true to its name, it is a refuge by a wonderful river. The sound of the river can be heard from the tents or from the private treetop rooms. All reasonably priced and worth much more than you pay. It is more than just a hostel, it's a home. The staff treats you like family, the facilities are immaculate, and the location is centered perfectly in the middle of the small town of Boquete.

I could continue to go on about the surroundings and decor, but it should be reemphasized that they really treat you like an old friend, or a traveling family member. So open, warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a treehouse!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
4.5 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
El Machico Hostel Boquete
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#9 of 30 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio

Property: Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Address: Av A Este | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known in town as the “luxurious” hostel for backpackers, you are always surprised to discover that such a beautiful house has been transformed into a hostel. Our place has been carefully furnished and decorated and also has 8 private all of which some have private and some have shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Refugio Del Rio Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing