We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the real deal in every sense for every age.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Don,t let this hostel's good looks fool you!! The service is even better! Caring bilingual friendly smiles will always greet you. If you become I'll or hurt, they treat you like gramma would. Inquires made often by all the staff and making sure you get the help you need, when you need it.

I have stayed twice and will again when the airport in David gets more international flights.

Still this hostel is worth the task of arriving.

Thanks to all the staff.
Mary.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mslioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 457 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

There isn't anything awful to say about Hostal Refugio del Rio. My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer than planned! The hostel is located right along the river and I enjoyed resting in the hammock or sitting in the Jacuzzi and listening to the river. The hostel itself is kept clean and tidy and in immaculate condition. Also it's not located in the "heart" of Boquete so you can really absorb the tranquility of the area. However, it's just a 5 minute walk to the city centre should you need to get there.

Words cannot do justice to this place, you just have to see it for yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loooooved Refugio Del Rio, so much so in fact that we extended our planned 3 night stay in Boquete to over a week. Located right beside the river bank, we spent the afternoons reading in the hammocks or relaxing in the outside jacuzzi. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable as are all the facilities and all the staff are friendly and accommodating, going out of their way to make you feel like part of the family. The owners throw a weekly barbecue for the guests and are continually re-investing (unobtrusively I might add) in the facilities; for instance, they are creating a vegetable garden so that guests have access to all the fresh ingredients they need.
In short, I couldn't recommend Refugio Del Rio highly enough. It's the closest thing we've experienced to a home environment while we've been traveling.
Thanks so much for your hospitality guys.
Leigh and Danielle xx

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a double room for 2 nights.
the hostel has big rooms, a good kitchen, comfortable bed, a quiet location but still close to the centre. The garden is very nice as well. luccini, the owner is very friendly and makes everything to improve the hostel!
We could modify our motorbikes with his tools and friends..
all this makes it the best hostel i ve stayed in my RTW trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff and the owner are amazing! They are very friendly and happy to help you with anything they can - information, tips..not really trying to sell you tours but help you depending on your budget. The dorm is very spacious, the kitchen is very well equipped (literally has everything, one of the best hostel´s kitchens I´ve seen), lots of communal area, good WIFI, very green and beautiful outside, justnext to a small river. They even have a garden with herbs that we, the guests can use - mint, basil, oregano, etc. And dont miss the barbecue on Thursday, me and my friends happened to be there by chance and it was amazing!
Definitely the best deal in town!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luchini L, Owner at Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Elena,

Thank you for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Luchini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

i had the greatest time at el refugio del rio. I stayed with my mom and sister for four days and i wish i could have stayed longer. the staff is extremely helpful, kind, funny, sincere! they definately take pride in their work and have lots of fun at the same time. The weekly bbq is great! the owner luchini was a delight, i loved his hostel so much that i'm going to volunteer over the summer. refugio del rio is better than a top notch hotel, you can not beat the price, the people and especially the location. your able to enjoy a nice jacuzzi listen to the peacefulness of the river while you chill out on the hammock. its a shame we only stayed four days because they truly made us feel welcome and like we were part of their family from the start. i have nothing to complain about, its a must to stay here if you are in boquete.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karla_cadavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luchini L, Owner at Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you again in the summer.

PS: Thank your mother for the great Sancocho that she made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Refugio for over 2 weeks not only because we loved Boquete, but also because we loved the hostel so much. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, and we felt like family upon arrival. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, and are very dedicated to maintaining cleanliness. After checking out 7 hostels with comparable (if not more expensive!) rooms, it was a no brainier staying at Refugio. The grounds are also awesome, with a river right in the yard.....there is also a freshwater jacuzzi!! The owner, Luchini, goes out of his way to make sure his guests are happy and well taken care of (AWESOME weekly BBQ!), and we miss him dearly! I highly recommend staying here if you're traveling to Boquete.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JadeAndTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boquete Lodge
Boquete Lodge
#1 of 52 in Boquete
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#2 of 52 in Boquete
80 reviews
2.5 mi away
Spanish by the River-Boquete
3.6 mi away
La Jungla Experience
La Jungla Experience
#4 of 27 in Boquete
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio

Address: Av A Este | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range: $16 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known in town as the “luxurious” hostel for backpackers, you are always surprised to discover that such a beautiful house has been transformed into a hostel. Our place has been carefully furnished and decorated and also has 8 private all of which some have private and some have shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Refugio Del Rio Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing