We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Inviting”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Of all the hostels I've ever stayed at this is by far the best ! There rooms and grounds aren't what you would expect from a hostel they are stunning an clean . There is much more of a hotel feel about the space .
The staff are wonderful as well as the owner who hosted 2 BBQs while we were there in the outdoor tarris area. The food and company were wonderful . Be sure to did out if it's BBQ night an grab something to contribute at the shop . You don't want to miss out on the festivities .
I would reccommend this hostel to anyone of any age . They will make you feel welcome and help you plan your stay in Bouquete .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jssmith353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    88
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
25
163
114
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Absoultely beautiful place. CLEAN private rooms with balconies. Dorms were clean and comfortable. The view was breath taking. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Very short walk to the centre of town, but tucked away so you feel like you're in your own little paradise!
We altered our trip and came back for an extra night!
I would recommend this hostel to any and all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyGodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, clean rooms at a great rate, lovely gardens, go to sleep to the sound of the river. We loved Boquete and Refugio del rio. Stayed longer than we planned in both a private room in the main building then the treehouse. Both were great, especially the treehouse. Would book that again but you need to not mind it being slightly open to the air. You dont need to look anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soorts-Hossegor, Aquitaine, France
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nice rooms, big kitchen, nice location!
Only few rooms in the Hostal that makes it a quite place. Good place for couples.
Staff was friendly and helpful. A 5mn walk from the center of Boquete.
I'll go back there for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here for my last night in Boquete after moving out of one of the other very popular hostels in town. It was so quiet and peaceful that I wish I had stayed here the entire time. It is still very close to all of the activity in the center of town, but you are next to the river and don't hear any of the hustle and bustle. They also rent scooters at cheaper rates than anywhere else. If you're looking for the party crowd, try elsewhere. If you'd like to be in a great location but have space to breathe and relax, check it out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Three of us stayed at the Refugio in May 2012 for 5 days. The hostel is fantastic. Beautiful grounds, right next to the river with a large garden with hammocks/lawn chairs to relax in. The building itself is beautiful and clean. We stayed in the Colibri room (triple) which had a private bathroom and a large, airy room with 2 twin beds and one queen or king bed. It was very inexpensive and overall just an amazing find.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liborka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

As a weary traveler, I arrived in Boquete after 2 months of travel and being "on the go" and Refugio del Rio was just what I needed. The creekside location was perfect, tranquil and just 2 blocks from the town center. The staff was really helpful, the place was clean, and the kitchen was the largest I have seen for a hostel. Free wifi was great and even better 4 computers to use (backing up pictures and such) so rarely had to wait for one. The patio was the nightly hang out for all the guests and was a very homey feeling. I highly recommend this place and if I go back to Boquete there is no other place I would consider!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
4.5 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
El Machico Hostel Boquete
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#9 of 31 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio

Property: Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Address: Av A Este | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known in town as the “luxurious” hostel for backpackers, you are always surprised to discover that such a beautiful house has been transformed into a hostel. Our place has been carefully furnished and decorated and also has 8 private all of which some have private and some have shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Refugio Del Rio Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing