We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe but very bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Rawalpindi
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Staying for a week, I have experienced one of my worst hotel, the only good thing there is the security measures, you feel like you are entering a military base not an hotel but yet this measures are normal for hotels in the region.
The staff in the reception is far from friendly, electricity regularly shutdown every hours or so but for just a few seconds, the bathroom has small cockroaches in it.
The GYM's equipment is old, the staff in the GYM was friendly though.
AC was broken in the room too.

To summary it up DO NOT GO THERE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 324 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

My stay at PC Rawalpindi reminds me of an old English idiom "Empty vessels make the most noise".
Before I decided to stay there I read reviews of hotels in Rawalpindi and decided to stay at the PC because it sounded all good. PC is a big name. It costs Pk Rs 14,000 (97GBP) per night so there would seem to be no reason for it to be otherwise.
We stayed one night and were not at all tempted to extend our stay.
Checking in was not difficult; the reception desk staff are friendly and polite; not really able to converse well in English. The rest of the staff is polite too.
While checking in we had requested to check out a couple of hours later than the normal check-out time which is 2pm and the receptionist had agreed after consulting with his manager.
The room was on the 4th floor and certainly spacious. It had a large double bed which was not very comfortable. The bathroom has a beautiful washbasin made of some good quality glass but had a fine layer of limescale so didn't actually gleam the way I suppose it is meant to. The level of cleanliness in the bathroom and room were average.
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but you can call room service and get tea. Costs about 3.5GBP for 2, and a little more because you are expected to tip the waiter.
The AC was not working so the room became quite stuffy, and on the day we were staying there was no hot water after midnight to the early hours of morning; some maintenance, we were informed.
When I went to check out at about 5ish I was informed that I would have to pay 50% additional charges for checking out late. I informed them I was going to review the hotel on TripAdvisor and write about my experience (AC, no hot water, extra charges in spite of informing in advance, etc) they promptly withdrew the charges...
So thanks to TripAdvisor, I didn't have to pay the unnecessary 50% additional but I certainly will not recommend PC to anyone if they are paying out of their own pockets.
Considering I have stayed in PC Lahore many years ago, 1995, I was certainly disappointed with how the standards were so average and below average.
Will have to look for another place on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IvyDaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is located in the most safe area of Rawalpindi, the twin city of Islamabad. Hotel is too old and needs urgent facelifting. Food outlets are good specially the chinese restaurant. Room cleaning is poor and so the staff attitude.

Room Tip: swiming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank binshakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I rated PC Pindi on value factor. STD room costing Rs. 14,800 + a whopping 25% room tax. For over Rs. 18,000 I got
a small room with dbl. or queen size bed on 4th floor with partial view of Mall Rd. that is obstructed & not clear view. The bathroom floods when taking shower as it has a fixed half door. All the staff from
Duty Mgr. Reception, Security, bellman.
HK & maintenance crew are extremely polite & helpful. The lobby men's room attended waits on you hand & foot so do tip him. Lobby, gift shops, Heath Club, swimming pool attendant are all doing their best to please you but none of them
Have been empowered by top bosses or
Hashwani owners. Reception mgr is too
Scared to make a rate adjustment when told that I'm unhappy as it took over an hour to find me a true non-smoking room
Hair dryer wont work in bathroom due to a Permanent short circuit. I could not use
Spa & gym as it is ladies time 10-2pm & expect me to come back. It's time that upper management wake up & GM shows some presence in hotel lobby & walk the property to see the staff & guests inter acting & maybe he decides to empower the hotel employees.
Written by former hotel GM,AGM,GSM, Night Mgr., Operations Mgr & N.Auditor.
H.I.Malik Washington,DC 10 Oct. 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is my first review for a hotel in my country, and thank god I stayed here for a night only. The bathrooms are old, rooms are really tiny, and facilities are average considering it's the only hotel in the city. Breakfast did not have many continental items, mostly local,They really need to upgrade or just close down.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SairaAdnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Staff are courteous and helpful. Facilities are very good by local standards.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. The only problem is that that lifts are terrible, old and extremely slow. Cant say if a 5 star hotel. Maybe a Three. Security checks before entering the hotel are a bit too much. Not enough parking especially in the evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OmarAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawalpindi
0.0 mi away
Royalton Hotel
Royalton Hotel
#1 of 10 in Rawalpindi
53 reviews
9.2 mi away
Islamabad Serena Hotel
Islamabad Serena Hotel
#1 of 23 in Islamabad
581 reviews
10.1 mi away
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
#2 of 23 in Islamabad
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flashman's Hotel
Flashman's Hotel
#7 of 10 in Rawalpindi
12 reviews
9.0 mi away
Islamabad Hotel
Islamabad Hotel
#7 of 23 in Islamabad
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grace Crown Hotel
Grace Crown Hotel
#2 of 10 in Rawalpindi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi

Address: The Mall Road | PO Box# 211, Rawalpindi 46000, Pakistan
Phone Number:
Location: Pakistan > Punjab Province > Rawalpindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Rawalpindi
Price Range: $134 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PEARL CONTINENTAL RAWALPINDI HOTEL 5 STAR HOTEL IN RAWALPINDI MALL ROAD Located on the prestigious Mall Road in the heart of this commercial & shopping cosmopolitan city, Pearl-Continental Rawalpindi hotel is just 7 kilometers away from the Benazir International Airport Islamabad. At The Pearl-Continental Rawalpindi we know you need a good work life balance and the comforts you expect away from home, therefore we ensure that your stay is hassle-free, looked after by our team of professionals who understand your needs. The Hotel provides easy access to all major banks, offices of multinational companies, shopping arcades, malls and traditional bazaars/markets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing