We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money & the hype-Hotel Sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pearl Continental Hotel Bhurban
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bhurban
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I booked for a valley room view and that was about the only thing good in this hotel cause everything else about this Hotel sucked. The worst thing about this Hotel was the dirtiest Toilets........from cracked Seats on the commode to smelly drinking glasses in the Nadia Coffee Shop, everything about this Hotel was pathetic. And the prize-winner about this is the astronomical price I paid.........it was cheaper to stay in Serena Hotel Islamabad, which is a real 5 star Hotel unlike this fake claimant and come by road on a day-trip as that will be much cheaper and more fun.

Room Tip: Take the valley room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PkWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

Pearl Continental Bhurban may claim to be a five star hotel (it certainly has more security than the Presidents House) but it is NOT a five star hotel. The staff at the front desk is extremely unhelpful and even discourteous. The corridors reek of a nauseating stale odor reminiscent of PIA airplanes. The furniture is tacky. The bathroom fittings are rusting. There is no internet in the rooms. All PC Bhurban has to recommend itself is the picturesque setting. But then again there are dozens of guest houses and hotels in Murree and Nathiagali with equally beautiful setting but for a much better price and experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tsamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

At $165 a night, we expected true five star service. Unfortunately, the PC Bhurban does not deliver that. We were there at what was the start of the off-season, and hence the pool was out of commission, as was the tennis court and business center. Also, only two restaurants were effectively in operation, with the buffet breakfasts and dinners extremely monotonous and forgettable. The Chinese was a better bet. Many services that one would expect as standard in a five star were either missing or available as an extra at an (often exhorbitant) charge.

The hotel seems geared towards day trippers, sales conferences and honeymooners who have never travelled before. Guest expectations appear to be low and standards have dropped to match.

The grounds too have seen better days but are still worth a stroll, and the views are all they cracked up to be. It is a pity that there is piped music all over the grounds drowning out the sounds of nature completely.

In its current state, the PC Bhurban is a three star hotel at best, but with the prices of a five star. There are not very many options in the area of a similar standard, so visitors may not have much of a choice. But keep your expectations low (if you must go) so the disappointment is not too great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mansooree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I came to this hotel expecting great things, and was extremely disappointed. Possibly to drum up business, the management had filled the place with day-trippers for the week-end, clearly paying a fraction of the $150 I paid. Tacky amusements were laid on for these trippers in the grounds, such as air-pistol stands for bursting balloons, the pool was filled with loud mouthed louts, there was shouting in the corridors throughout the night - genuinely awful.

The room I was assigned (541) was located by an exhaust fan from the kitchen, so that the stench of cooking (oddly smelling of barbecue sauce) was present 24 hrs a day, so that you could not open your balcony door without smelling this stench.

The room was OK, but pretty dated and in need of redecoration.

I regularly stay at other Pearl Continental hotels, including the gorgeous Muzaffarabad one, but the Bhurban one had none of the refinement of these.

I suppose because of the day trippers, there was an aura of mistrust among the staff. When I was checking out, I was accosted by a security guard because I didn't have a tag put on by the porter, as if I was trying to steal luggage!

The view in the morning is wonderful, but that kitchen stench put a damper on things. For the high price, this should be a refined spa-type experience, not something comparable to a Pakistani bus station.

A genuinely awful stay. I strongly dissuade any of my colleagues from going there (for the record I am a foreigner working in Pakistan).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jackem888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

As locations go, this doesn't get any better. Two hours' drive from Islamabad up winding mountain roads - as you get higher, you can actually smell the pine forests - a lovely contrast to the busman's fart you get so used to in South Asian cities.

The views from the hotel are just mind-blowing. The gentle rolling Murree hills in the foreground, and the snow-capped mountains of Kashmir in the distance.

Murree was, famously, an old British hill station - and a lot of the Raj lives on today. Nowhere is this more true than the obvious love of gardens - the hotel gardens, which go on for acres, are pure EM Forster meets Gertrude Jekyll.

The PC at Bhurban really is the only place for a foreign visitor to stay. It's totally comfortable, nut not outstanding. The rooms are spacious - obviously built in the 1960's with a recent "cat's lick and a promise" makeover to give them a more contemporary feel.

Food is acceptable, but not memorable. The service in the Chinese restaurant resembled the speed of rock erosion. And, compared to hotels in the cities, it's expensive - but I guess that's the price you pay for staying in such a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank richardbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We had an executive room - with views of the mountains.
Room with balcony- very well presented, very clean
Room service - excellent - you get whatever you ask for at any time of the day or night
LAN internet access - Rs800 for 24hours (of use)
Restaurants - nice buffet style at the Nadia restaurant
They also arranged to pick us up at the airport in Islamabad. Chauffeur service available at reception for exploring the area.
Excellent customer service, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller121980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

A stay in PC Bhurban should be on any ones list who would like to explore the majestic beauty of Northern Pakistan. The area is simply stunning, the layers of distant mountains, the fresh air and open spaces would be a delight for anyone.
PC Bhurban, is probably the best hotel in this area, its clean and has great views and lovely open spaces. You can tell that this once was a 5 star hotel in its pomp. It is in need of a little updating however and does look dated, probably not much more that a 3 or 4 star hotel.
Food was nice, service was excellent and they organised a driver and 4x4 to help us explore the area...all priceless for our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhurban
6.1 mi away
Shangrila Resort Hotel Murree Hills
5.2 mi away
Hotel LeGrand Changla Gali
Hotel LeGrand Changla Gali
#1 of 2 in Abbotabad
4 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Al Azeem
#1 of 1 in Ayubia
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chinar Family Resort
Chinar Family Resort
#2 of 2 in Bhurban
6 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Elites
Hotel Elites
#1 of 1 in Nathia Gali
63 reviews
0 mi away
Bhurban Apartments
Bhurban Apartments
#2 of 3 in Bhurban
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Continental Hotel Bhurban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Continental Hotel Bhurban

Address: | Murree Hills, Bhurban 47150, Pakistan
Location: Pakistan > Punjab Province > Bhurban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bhurban
Price Range: $192 - $1,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pearl Continental Hotel Bhurban 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service Hotel & Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearl Continental Hotel Bhurban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Continental Bhurban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing