We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic & Below Value - Better Options Available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sur
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is extremely basic and borders on budget (but for US$100 around 35 Riyals) the price is not budget but it comes a with sub-standard feel to the place.

The positives:
- The building from the outside looks good
- Is relatively new
- The balcony facing the bay have great views and you can pull the chairs out and sit
- A brilliant Turkish restaurant is next doors with lovely views and sheesha till 3:00 a.m
- Flat Screen TV in Room

The negatives:
- The rooms are very basic
- Bathroom plumbing was not good
- Towels were rougher than stone
- The Matress was so hard that you'd rather sleep on the floor.
- Found 2 cockroaches in my room

For the same price you have Sur Plaza or Sur Beach that have breakfast and other entertainment. Especially Sur Plaza has 3 bars (with no nightlife in Sur, just hanging out there is a plus) and a pool and 2 restaurants that come for the same price range.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gailani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 91 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

if you're looking for a place to stay in Sur, it can be the one. The hotel is not a fancy, elegant and trendy one, but rooms are big and comfortable and some have a very nice view. It is also clean. The staff is very nice and helpful, and did everything to meet our needs.
They have an arabian band that sings and plays music all night long (until 3.00 am) very close to hotel, and some rooms are too close to it. We spent one night awake because the noise was unbearable, but when we told the reception we were moved into another and more quite room the following day. Bear it in mind when you reserve.
The price was good for the type of accomodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagamundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

really nice big clean rooms, overlooking lagoon, friendly staff and nice restaurant nearby. It is the best place from which to visit old Sur.
We paid 35 OMR excluding breakfast.
Resto next door also adds to the value.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mungo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Based on trip advisor reviews I decided to stay at al ayjah hotel when I visited sur. I'm not sure why or how my experience differed so drastically from other guests but suffice it to say, it was terrible. Not only are the rooms not cleaned regularly ( they had a thick layer of dust on all the furniture and floor ) they are ridiculously designed ( the layout is something that can be overlooked) so that the air conditioner in the room isn't enough to cool it. At all. It's placed wierdly and isn't powerful enough for a room that size. We arrived at about 11 pm and called the reception at 1 to say the room had still not cooled. They came up, looked at it and fiddled with the remote and left saying it should be fine. It wasn't. So half an hour later we made another call and changed rooms. By now we had identified the problem. It wasn't the AC's fault. It just wasn't placed close to the bed so there was no cooling in that area at all. according to the guy at reception, all the rooms were designed the same way and there wasnt one with the AC over the bed.So finally at nearly 330 am, hot and bothered after tossing and turning for the last few hours we decided that we'd had enough and wanted to check out and go to some other hotel. It didn't end there though - they wanted us to pay for the whole night! Not even just for the hours we had stayed there! So we were forced to stay there since we were on a fixed budget but changed rooms yet again. (apparently now there was one room that had the AC over the bed!) now that this problem was solved, there was yet another that came up - there was no water in our bathrooms the second day! We had to use the bathroom of another room just to shower and use the toilet! It's safe to say the stay at this hotel ruined the weekend for us since we'd been up all night and lost most of the next day. It just left us with a bad taste in our mouths since it had taken the fun out of a nice weekend away. To sum it up- lousy service overall.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summer_rains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Al Ayjah Plaza hotel is well situated (nearby the suspension bridge) for a 1 day visit to Sur and the turtles in Ras Al Jinz (40 km away). 70 euro for a double room (decent breakfast included) is a fair price. Rooms on the 3th and 4th floor (lagoon side) are the best oriented. Friendly (Filipino) staff speaks very good English. Restaurant next door (same owner) was poor but new staff should soon change this situation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3th and 4th floor (lagoon side) are the best oriented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Accommodation in Oman seem to be either very expensive or not very good therefore although this hotel is not great and certainly needs updating, it was good compared to what else is on offer.

The hotel is in quiet area just outside central Sur (on the other side of the bridge). However, since central Sur is not very nice and, in Oman, you'll always need a car to go anywhere, the fact that the hotel was in a quiet area was an advantage. Sur is only a small city and you can get from the hotel to the centre in 5 minutes by car.

Staff was very nice and helpful and spoke good English. The rooms are quite simple and a bit dated but are huge and ours had a great view of the sea. Satellite TV, fridge, air conditioning all included. The only problem was the bathroom which was really spartan and old but was clean anyway. The other thing which was not a problem for me but that I can see could be a problem to others is the hardness of the beds. I like my mattresses hard but these were almost like sleeping on a warm floor... it took me a bit to get used to it but then I slept really well.

We had lunch in the restaurant connected to the hotel which had certainly the nicest setting in Sur. We sat outside in the shade on wooden benches and Omani cushions looking over a saltwater inlet. The food was average by Omani standards which unfortunately are not great. The bill was a bit high for Sur though still very cheap by European standards.

Overall, if you don't want to spend too much money this hotel gives you a good deal for Omani standards but it is certainly no luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarioPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel was spartan but clean. The room I had was enormous with two rooms opened to make one suite. The bed was very hard. The bathroom was basic but with a large wet room shower area. Fridges and TV in each room in my suite. I never saw any other guests during my stay! Staff friendly and very helpful. The restaurant attached served grilled fish freshly caught and brought right up to the terrace in the boat; simple but delicious cooking. A popular place with locals for sitting out and smoking shisha in the evenings. Quiet and nice location on a back bay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sur hotels
2.9 mi away
Sur Plaza Hotel
Sur Plaza Hotel
#1 of 10 in Sur
360 reviews
3.8 mi away
Resort Sur Beach Holiday
1.6 mi away
Zaki Hotel Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#2 of 10 in Sur
73 reviews
0 mi away
Sur Grand Hotel
Sur Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sur
6 reviews
0 mi away
Resort Ras Al Hadd Holiday
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel

Address: Al Ayjah, Sur, Sur 411, Oman
Location: Oman > Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate > Sur
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sur
Price Range: $58 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel Oman/Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing