We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sur Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
44
203
133
23
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
203
133
23
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightdecent staystar hotelfriendly hoteloutdoor poolturtle reservecomfortable bedspool sideen routebreakfast buffetwadi shabbusy roadhotel guestsshort stayras al jinzair conditioninggym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 408 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is a decent place and good for the price charged. Friendly staff, neat & clean rooms. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed at the pool side. Its centrally located so easy to get there as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenMats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Sur Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear guest,
Greetings from Sur Plaza Hotel

Please accept our since thanks for choosing to stay at Sur Plaza Hotel during your recent visit to Sur. We have noted your comments placed on www.tripadvisor.com and indeed delighted to note you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments pertaining to value for money, breakfast and enjoying by the pool side was specially noted and our sincere thanks for sahring same.

We indeed look forward to your next visit and to welcome you back to Sur Plaza Hotel.

Thank you
sincere regards,

Renuke Coswatte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We spent one night with my husband and 18-month daughter in March. The welcome from reception staff was not as warm as we were used to receive in the rest of the country. We also had a bad experience for dinner at the restaurant of the hotel where the meat was overcooked and the gambas as well. Breakfast was OK. I reckon there is not much accommodation in the city but I would not necessarily recommend this hotel for any visitors wishing to stay more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Sur Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Ms. Sandra,
Greetings from Sur Plaza Hotel

Firstly, please accept our sincere gratitude for your comments relating to your stay with us. We welcome your comments and reviewed as areas for improvement.

We sincerely apologize for the service levels offered by our Front office staff during your arrival. Indeed we maintain very high standards in guest service and personally dissapointed that we were unable to meet your expectations.

Your comments relating to the dinner was seriously discussed with our Chef. Again, as part of our service, I trust our service team were able to offer alternatives to your meal and to ensure that your dining experience was pleasant.

I trust your experiences with us will not impact negatively towards recommending Sur Plaza Hotel to your friends and family. In the event you decide to visit us again, please contact me on managersur@omanhotels.com where I personally can attend to your booking and make necessary arrangements.

Thank you
Sincere regards,

Renuke Coswatte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This March, me and my girlfriend had stayed in Sur Plaza Hotel. We had a remarkable stay there. The front desk was very friendly. The Omani person seems to be knowing many languages. He was really nice. The lady at the reservation had helped us with some useful information regarding the places around Sur. Mr. Pilly (I guess that was his name) was a charming man. The food (mainly breakfast) was so-so but the dinner buffet was ok.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have a better view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Sur Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear guest,
Greetings from Sur Plaza Hotel

Please accept our sincere thanks for choosing to stay at Sur Plaza Hotel during your recent visit to Sur. Judging by your comments placed on www.tripadvisor.com, we are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and specially the service offered by our team.

Highlighting of individuals who have provided memorable service levels are indeed appreciated and will be no doubt informed to them as part of motivating and further training. I am certain that the rest of our team also equally provided high service levels during your stay with us.

Breakfast will be looked in to in view of improving futher and meeting expectations as levels maintained during dinner.

Once again we appreciate your comments and indeed look forward to your return visit in the future.

Thank you
Sincere regards,

Renuke Coswatte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

As we were on a round trip from Muscat to Sur and back via the Wahib Sands and Ibra, we were looking for a clean and simple restaurant to have our lunch break.
Good simple fare is served here with the Biryani with fish the clear recommendation for future patrons!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Sur Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Mr. H Wolfgang,

Greetings from Sur plaza Hotel

Please accept our sincere thanks for choosing to visit Sur Plaza Hotel during your recent trip to Sur. We indeed hope that you enjoyed the rugged and natural beauty of Sur.

We indeed appreciate your comments relating to our Oyster's Restaurant and the cuisine we served. Our food and bevarege team always strive to produce the best at all times and as a result, Oyster's Restaurant is considered the Best in Sur.

We anticipate your return visit to Sur in the near future and having an opportunity to welcome back to Oyster's Restaurant.

Thank you
Sincere regards,

Renuke Coswatte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our room was basic, but comfortable. Food was OK BUT the Reception Staff need to go to a charm school. Lady who checked us in was efficient but FAR FROM FRIENDLY. When we checked out we were told to 'Have a nice day.' but I think the words stuck in the female Receptionist's throat. The pool area was pleasant and we would stay here again, but hope our comments are noted.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool was pleasant.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessaPolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmanHotels, General Manager at Sur Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Greetings from Sur Plaza Hotel

Please accept our sincere gratitude for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Sur. We have indeed noted your comments being placed on www.tripadvisor.com and improvements will be done accordingly.

Improving pronunciation and english as a second language is an on going effort being made by us in supporting local staff to develop their full potential. No doubt your comments further stress for this need and will indeed intensify our training and coaching efforts.

Further improvements to rooms are planned which will enhance our position as the BEST PROPERTY in Sur. Also, we have noted your comments relating to food and specially the pool side which is appreciated.

Your comments are indeed well noted and will be utilized as further training material and as feedback for future upgraded of the hotel. Once again we thank you for your comments and your stay and indeed look forward to your return visit in the future.

Thank you
Sincere regards,

Renuke Coswatte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews