We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Wadi Shab
from $92.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
from $72.90
More Info
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveler rating
927
317
62
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
927
317
62
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride small boat waterproof camera flip flops per person amazing place drinking water water shoes car park sink hole the cliff across the river walking shoes your feet on the rocks be careful lots of water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very beautiful wadi not very far from Muscat. You have to take a short boat tour to enter the wadi. It takes over an hour to get to the end, but even a shorter walk gives a good impression of this beautiful place. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank Hanshja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

First of all, when I read all the reviews I thought this was regular hiking with perhaps paths. I was so wrong - after the boat ride to get to the other side of the river, there was a relative 'flat' distance (albeit with a lot of pebbles), and then after that I felt like we were rock-climbing! Perhaps not so dramatic, but there were all boulders and rocks and you have do quite a lot of climbing. I really don't think it's safe for children at some points (even though some parents bring them), because one slip and you are down the cliff. Don't be crazy and wear flip-flops, this is not the place to act cool. After all the climbing, you have to swim across some pools, which is logistically difficult so prepare a water-proof bag (we used plastic bags, not so easy). Finally at the 'final pool', you have to dive down across a small crack to get the waterfalls, but please don't try if you are not a good swimmer! I am just a swimming-pool-type of swimmer, and nearly drowned there! Basically, this is a great place to go, but please bear in mind safety comes first!

3  Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you get the chance, visit this wad. You start by being taken across by ferry, so bring some small change. The first part of the walk is ruined by litter & water pipes but it then becomes very beautiful. After a leisurely 45 minutes you get to a point where you can swim up the wadi to enter a cave. While very popular there was lots of space to enjoy the beauty & tranquility. The last boat back is at 5.30 so don't leave it too late to start off.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank JuliaB209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

To access the wadi you have to pay 400 Baiza (around 65p) for a short boat ride across the river then you can walk for about 30 minutes along the wadi. Along the way you will be walking on pebbles and rocks often in full sun so take plenty of water and a hat! There are pools of water along the way and small fenced areas where people are growing bananas and possibly millet. At the end there are larger, deeper pools where the Cliff Diving World Championships were held in 2012. It is a great place to picnic but there are no facilities apart from disgustingly dirty public toilets.
Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Beautiful wadi to visit. We came in early afternoon, took the boat across and went for the walk. The walk is somewhat challenging since walks are washed away in earlier rains. After 45 minute walk you’ll see the wadi itself. Go on the longer walk, bring your swimming gear (we forgot ours so had to go in our underwear) and swim to the cave. Amazing experience to see the cave and waterfall!

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank MaartenNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews