We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but wadi tiwi easier to see”
Review of Wadi Shab

Wadi Shab
Book In Advance
More Info
$163.00*
and up
Private Day Trip: Bimah Sinkhole, Wadi Shab, and Tiwi Beach from Muscat
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice but wadi tiwi easier to see”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wadi tiwi can be seen from the car whereas wadi Shab needs a boat ride up the river and 45min hike after, not sure it's worth it if time is of the essence.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank adam_monty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    197
    36
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We only visited this briefly because of plans that evening and so we did not get to fully explore it but what we saw is very pretty and being just off the main highway made it easy to find. We were bitten by flies when we got out the car though - first and only time the whole visit to Oman! Next time we go we will make sure we take the boat trip over to the other side of the wadi and go and explore it properly. According to the man who looked after the boats you will want to take about 4 hours to really explore and enjoy yourself there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blondiesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

its about 1 and a half hour buy car from Sur. the road condition is good, the view is fantastic and you will be amazed when you reach the wadi and try to enter the cave its very thrilling advwenture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank juncelebria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have visited Wadi Shaab at least 6 times in two years in Oman and it is always a refreshing experience. Expect a 45 minute to 1 hour climb to the top where there are safe and clear pools to swim. ** if you have water shoes, bring them! The rocks are shockingly pointy on the floor of the wadi!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CooperMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really neat!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent a few hours here. The valley is beautiful and the water is an amazing blue colour. The hike is a easy one and most people can do it with a good pair of runners. We did not make it all the way to the waterfall because it was getting late in the day but well worth the amount of hike we did. It was really dissapointing to see all the garbage and pollution here though.( garbage floating int he water and garbage cans overflowing, garbage in the trees) It did spoil the beauty in some spots. I wish people would start to appreciate the natural beauty that they have.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwix36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadi Shab also viewed

Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate, Oman
Dibba Al Bay Ah, Musandam Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Oman, Middle East
 

Been to Wadi Shab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing