We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or miss experience with excellent food”
Review of Sohar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sohar Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Reviewed May 17, 2013

As other contributors have mentioned, this hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and has such potential as a truly beautiful beach-side vacation spot. There is a choice of rooms within the main building - or those set around a large pool/recreation area - some of which have sea views. The rooms vary enormously in quality, smell and 'positive vibe'. My advice is to ask to see several before making your choice - assuming there is a choice available when you arrive. This is the second time I've stayed here, and the first room was palatial and upstairs in the main building. This time round, the room was in a side Annex (there are also individual small chalets) - and felt damp and almost unpleasant. However, the reception staff responded to my comments and upgraded me to a larger, more refreshed small 'suite' (= lounge + bedroom). Very nice! The breakfast is great. The a la carte lunch and dinner choice even better.- although not cheap (try the dim sum or hot mezzah or spicy Thai Salad or Prawn Tempura or ... or ... the list is long and delicious). The service is always pleasant - but sometimes very slow. Not a disadvantage if you are on a relaxing holiday. In fact, my overall feeling is that your experience in this hotel can be hit or miss. My advice would therefore be - if you choose to stay here (and why not - in Sohar), and you are unhappy with what you get, explain your problem nicely to those in charge - and it is more than likely that your stay will become a hit.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before unpacking. If you are not happy after night 1, ask to change to a differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeveedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBOM, Front Office Manager at Sohar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Deeveedubai,

Thank very much for your valuable comments on Sohar Beach Hotel, we would like to inform you that we do take such positive comments seriously to improve our services and meet your expectations.

Thank you and best regards

Nabil Mazhar

Rooms Division Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

a very nice place to visit. the staff is very courteous and efficient. the place is very close to sohar beach. a real great outing. food is good and so is the ambiance! visit with family or friend. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank col_ajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBOM, Front Office Manager at Sohar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Seesin79,

Warm greetings from Sohar Beach Hotel, we would like to thank you for commenting on our Hotel, and we promise you that we will continue improving and elevating our services, to meet our valued guests expectation.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon in Sohar Beach Hotel.

Nabil Mazhar

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I tried to be optimistic about staying at this hotel. 1000AED for a Chalet seemed like a good deal Was staying with 2 friends, so the space was welcome. But the place really is unloved and has limited service.
From the outside it really does look lovely. The pool was large and clean, decent sunbeds.
Pool bar busy, although they don't serve alcohol until 2pm (for those of you that want a drink early).
Decor old & tired. Kitchen in the Chalet, bare. Just useful as it meant we had a large empty fridge. Living room sparcely decorated and unwelcoming. Bed large and comfortable, but massive dip in the mattress so obviously not been turned or changed in many years.

Breakfast - Poor. Hash brown was so hard I think it must have been deep fried for 3 hours. Crossiants, small and tasteless.

Staff we nice and did the best they can. No sign of any management presence at all for the whole day, except for a nice picture of him on the wall at Reception.

I think neglected is a hard word for this hotel. Unloved isn't. But it may well be issues with owners not wanting to spend the money on re-vamping more than anything else.

I think if you are looking for a cheap family weekend away from Dubai, with clean surroundings and place for the kids to go crazy by the pool & beach, then this is fine. If you want any kind of even basic luxury, then look elsewhere.

However, I will commended them on the way they handled my late charge for the lunch we consumed by the pool that didn't make it onto my bill in time as we checked out early. The call & email correspondence was prompt and professional, something you rarely see in Dubai.

Room Tip: Chalet 32 is at the end of the line, right next to the Pool, beach & Pool Bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBOM, Front Office Manager at Sohar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Ms. NC,

Thank you very much for you valued comments about Sohar Beach Hotel, such comments gives us a chance to elevate and improve our Hotel, we promise you that we will continue the efforts to improve.

once again thank you

warm regards

Nabil Mazhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

On the plus side, this hotel was clean with large rooms (we got the chalet) and effective A/C.

If the management revamped the decor and added some activities to the pool and beach area, it would be a rather nice place to stay. As it is though, there are no leaflets in reception telling you of local activities, we knew there was horse riding close by, but trying to communicate this seemed too much like hard work.

All of our bathrooms needed replacing they were ugly and cracked and looked awful. There were carpets with cigarette burns in them and a soiled, stained ancient kitchenette which served no purpose other than to look vile as it didn't even house plates, bowls or even an ashtray - could have explained why people had previously put them out on the floor....?

The pool was clean, but no facilities and the beach was very nice, but no loungers, no activities, not even a kayak or a jet-ski or windsurfing.

I have stayed in a youth hostel and on a PGL holiday with superior accommodation and didn't pay AED 1000 per night which is roughly $270.

With some TLC this place could be lovely, without it more people will arrive for two nights and only stay for one.

Room Tip: Room 32 is connected to another room so would be good for two families. It is also close to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBOM, Front Office Manager at Sohar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Ms.NC

Warm greetings from Sohar Beach Hotel

On behalf of the staff at Sohar Beach Hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Sohar. We look forward to making every stay most enjoyable and through your feedback we can continue to refine the services to meet our valued guests expectations

Sincerely,
The Staff at Sohar Beach Hotel


Thank you

Warm regards
Nabil Mazhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I came here twice in November - the first time, there were 5 of us and the food and service was very good. A week later we came back with 10 people and the service was very slow including trying to pay the bill at the end of the night. I have had numerous lunches here through work - they are fine. I think it's an issue when more than 6 people order 'a la carte'

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank claire_marshall34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBOM, Front Office Manager at Sohar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Warm greetings from Sohar Beach Hotel

On behalf of the staff at Sohar Beach Hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Sohar.
Through your feedback we can continue to refine the excellent accommodation and food and beverage service offerings that we currently offer

Sincerely,
The Staff at Sohar Beach Hotel


Thank you

Warm regards
Nabil Mazhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

After reading the articles about this hotel I arrived with an attitude that maybe the people complaining were being too hard so I came with an open mind. The trip from Muscat airport is a long one and took a 2 hrs drive at 140kph. In fact the hotel is located at the half way point between Muscat and Dubai. Im actually taking a taxi back to Dubai as its quicker than going back to Muscat etc. About 50 Rials for the fare. On arrival the hotel is impressive looking and right on the beach. Very traditional and wasnt disappointed.

The man on reception was great. Even though my room was not ready his pleasant manner and offering me a free dinner at the restaurant whilst I was waiting was very professional.

Walking to my room again no complaints with lovely surroundings and the waves crashing on the beach. It was when the door to my room was opened that things started to go a little backwards. The rooms do smell musty but it is because the area is damp and so close to the beach. The musty smell is noticeable but not overwhelming. The bed was big and comfortable but the rooms are old and tired with worn out carpet which was fine but it was the bathroom that let me down. The grout in the tiles looks terrible as it is black in some parts and falling out and really makes the room look terrible. The sink taps are rusty and just not acceptable.

It was so disappointing as the hotel staff are great, the grounds are good and the room are generally tidy. If the carpets were replaced or even put a rug on the floor to hide the worn bits and if the bathrooms had the taps replaced and the grout redone properly it would be a good hotel. I think an easy fix but appears things have not changed from the last reviewer who said the same.

Overall I would stay here again but if something is not done here soon it will lose lots of business. A shame as the hotel has so much potential

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBOM, Front Office Manager at Sohar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Warm greetings from Sohar Beach Hotel

On behalf of the staff at Sohar Beach Hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Sohar.
Through your feedback we can continue to refine the excellent accommodation and food and beverage service offerings that we currently offer

Sincerely,
The Staff at Sohar Beach Hotel


Thank you

Warm regards
Nabil Mazhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel has got one of the finest location in Sohar with a fantastic view of the sea & beach. It has got a big swimming pool surrounded by lush green gardens to laze around. The unique facility of a beach side bar adds to its value. We really enjoyed our drink there amidst the serene surroundings. We were staying in a chalet which is quite spacious for a couple & really well maintained. The dinner at the restaurant was simply delicious followed by a decent spread during breakfast the next day. The staff was found to be very helpful. Overall a stay worth remembering.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBOM, Front Office Manager at Sohar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Warm greetings from Sohar Beach Hotel

On behalf of the staff at Sohar Beach Hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Sohar.
Through your feedback we can continue to refine the excellent accommodation and food and beverage service offerings that we currently offer

Sincerely,
The Staff at Sohar Beach Hotel


Thank you

Warm regards
Nabil Mazhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sohar hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Resort, Sohar
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sohar
Crowne Plaza Sohar
#3 of 10 in Sohar
200 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Sohar
Mercure Sohar
#4 of 10 in Sohar
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Al Wadi Hotel
Al Wadi Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sohar
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
#8 of 10 in Sohar
22 reviews
3 mi away
Bait Ul Marmar Hotel
Bait Ul Marmar Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sohar
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohar Beach Hotel

Address: Sallan Road | PO Box 122, Al Tareef, Sohar 311, Oman
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Sohar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Price Range: $83 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohar Beach Hotel is the only 4 star resort in Sohar, occupying a prime beach side location, designed in the style of a traditional Omani fort keeping in view with the requirements of modern world. The property combines long tradition of Omani hospitality with an international standard of living. Sohar Beach Hotel offers 86 Keys, with 65 Modern-day Standard & Superior rooms; 9 well-designed Executive suites; 4 spacious deluxe suites & 7 One Bedroom Chalet over-viewing the beach. The hotel offers clear views of Arabian Sea on one side and lush green Garden on the other side from its spacious guest rooms. All rooms are equipped with a work desk, sofa and satellite/cable flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities are provided for your convenience. There is a floodlit tennis courts and a temperature-controlled outdoor swimming pool surrounded by well-maintained green garden, and of course the resort’s beach. Guests can keep them fit and healthy at the fully-equipped gym. Sohar Beach Hotel offers the guest a great choice of food and beverage outlets. Guests can enjoy a wide range of international cuisine alongside many traditional Arabian specialties. The resort enjoys a quite costal location, whilst providing easy access to the ancient capital of Sohar and its surrounding attractions, along with business areas of the city, Port of Sohar, Sohar Industrial Zone and Sohar Free Zone. Sohar Beach is 1 hour and half drive from Muscat and 2 hour drive from the border of the United Arab Emirates, the resort enjoys a quiet coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sohar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing