We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit dated but a decent budget choice”
Review of Al Wadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Wadi Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Reviewed November 14, 2013

As the taxi service in Oman is expensive after hours and I wanted a drink I opted to stay where I wouldn't need taxi home at night. Rooms are carpeted and a little stale, AC is noisy and bit smelly but wasn't required, bed comfortable and clean, slight issue with wifi and communication/feedback after I raised issue but once it worked it worked well. Restaurant was very good food and adjoining bar is loud and has pool tables so I was happy. If you don't want alcohol you can find similar standard but cheaper but overall I was happy to part with my money on checkout.

Room service menu would help a little. Staff polite and helpful but as I said, feedback on issues would be preferred.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKANEK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nothing special about.
Maybe only the fact that you can get a legal drink in Oman.
Food is eatable, Cleanliness acceptable, Wi-Fi slow but usable, A/C good (kind of noisy).
Front Desk Staff – Locals; Food & Beverage Staff – Pakistani, Indians, Pilipino; House Keeping – Nepali (Males Mostly).
Guests – Mainly on Business – Technicians, Services, Engineers, leaving the site in the morning and returning after 5 p.m.
During the day, place looks kind of “deserted”.
Regarding the prices… No Comment!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice and very helpfull staff, very nice rooms rounded establish aroud the pool (!) Very good and elaborated food. Hotel is a the limit of the city, along the main road towards EAU border.
Modern style hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ludo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It is ok for one night stay but not more. Small rooms, lighting in the room is very dim, mosquitos, and very slow service. Noisy night clubs, and reception staff need to learn how to smile. Breakfast mostly indian cuisine. Room service menu poor.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walid_F_Saleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The good thing I experienced in this hotel is its only a single storied building as far as the guest rooms are concerned and the structure in circular with a small round pool in the middle - this makes a cool stay and I can quickly go in & out of the room for my work. The room was spacious enough for a single traveler and quite clean as well. Wi-Fi strength was good. Having a pool in front of the room was quite soothing and sitting beside it in the evening was quite relaxing as well. There is fitness centre in the hotel.
The restaurant food was good. There are 3 bars with three different themes - pool bar, filipino bar and hindi songs bar. The location is on the highway between Sohar main city and the Sohar industrial area and it serves as a good staying location for people have work in the industrial area.There is a Safeer Hypermarket very close by.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndiOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel has everything a traveller would need. Spacey rooms (with comfortable beds) located in a ring around a swimming pool, reliable complimentary internet connection in rooms and a good choice of food for breakfast. Highly commendable!

The only difficulty is that due to the extensive construction works on the Muscat - Dubai highway, the hotel is hard to locate driving from the Muscat side (when you drive from the other direction it becomes self explanatory).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michal_Babilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm in the hotel now and having a great time. The staff smiles all the time. The poolside room is clean and comfortable. I'm still here and wishing I had more nights here. The pool area is very nice and I'm looking forward to the Filipino Bar tonight. Internet is fast enough and the TV channels are good. The Sri Lakan Manager...I've got to get her name...friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Poolside is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sohar hotels
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sohar
Crowne Plaza Sohar
#3 of 10 in Sohar
196 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Resort, Sohar
3.6 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#1 of 10 in Sohar
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Sohar Beach Hotel
Sohar Beach Hotel
#5 of 10 in Sohar
145 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mercure Sohar
Mercure Sohar
#4 of 10 in Sohar
35 reviews
0 mi away
Bait Ul Marmar Hotel
Bait Ul Marmar Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sohar
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Wadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Wadi Hotel

Address: Al Barakah Street | P. O. Box: 459, Sohar 311, Oman
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Sohar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Price Range: $60 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Wadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Wadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing