We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Crowne Plaza Sohar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sohar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for our most recent Valentine's getaway. If you are having trouble choosing between this hotel and the Sohar Beach Hotel I must recommend this hotel as the best hotel in the area. It may not be in the best location but the beach in Sohar is not really something to write home about and is sometimes coated with some sort of black residue (oil?).
.
The rooms are fantastic, the food on offer is amazing, the staff are very kind and polite, and it offers more facilities than any other hotels in the area. We ate a special 3 course Valentine’s meal and were very impressed by the quality of the food. The breakfast was also delicious.

We wanted to relax and that is what we did. There is a spa, with a steam room and sauna and the pool (all free for guests to use) is wonderful because parts of it are shaded. The hotel also offers a bowling alley (OMR4 for half an hour) and a games area where you can play pool, snooker, table tennis or darts (free for guests).

It is perfect for a weekend stay but I think you would get bored quickly if you stayed for longer and you weren't planning on exploring Sohar and its surrounds. If you are on business in Sohar, this is the only place I would recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, PA at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our food and rooms were excellent! Hope to see you soon once again and not just on special occasions. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

At Crown Plaza Sohar, you can enjoy a beautiful Pool and Sundeck, you will also enjoy quite and sunny climate.
Hotel elegant design and front desk and services employees are friendly.
The only thing it's remote location

Room Tip: All rooms are elegant; pool view could be of little advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaki Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, PA at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our service of a good quality. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Beautiful and immaculate, Room comfortable with very nice bathroom. Fruit tray a nice treat. Our room had a view of the pool, especially pretty at night. We stayed 2 nights the last week of Dec so it was a bit cool for the pool but nice to sit around with no one else there. Enjoyed the sauna and steam room. This appears to be mainly a business hotel and no one schedules conferences that week so it was almost empty. Even so dinner was good, especially the mussels. There is nothing outside of the hotel to walk to but the bourganvillea flower garden was gorgeous. I don't know why they built it so far away from the town so unless you are at meeting I think 2 days was long enough. The breakfast buffet was good, some unusual fruit and good choices. However I really just wanted a small breakfast but there was either the expensive buffet or just coffee and expensive rolls.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us and that you found our Food and Service is of good quality. We are proud to have served you and are looking forward to welcoming you once again. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Crowne Plaza hotel in Sohar is very modern, quite and peaceful. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is out of the world especially the Seafood buffet. The rooms are nice and spacious. The guys has a huge array of equipment. The swimming pool is massive. There is free internet. One are that could be improved is in the winter the air con can be a bit cool very little adjustment to heat the room. Given the high temperature Oman gets there are not many days that require heating the room.
.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raddicool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Food of good quality. We're equally delighted to know that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Looking forward to welcoming you once again. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Well, it's a good business hotel with comfort and event amenities. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. I only had breakfast at the hotel, witch was quite good and had plenty of options. (traditional or and western). Room was good with a nice view to the vast nothingness and the main road. Lots of parking space, a nice pool (never had a chance to swim but looked very inviting). We had a small event at the hotel bar/restaurant and it was super nice and relaxing. Would definitely stay there again when in Sohar.

Room Tip: My room had a desert and road view and it was silent. Pool (and rocks) view might be more interestin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forattini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, PA at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are very honored to have welcomed you as our valued guest. We appreciate your postive review concerning your room comfort and food quality. All in all, we are delighted that you had a wonderful experience. Looking forward to welcoming you soon in Sohar ! Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Although stayed only for one night it was enough to appreciate the effort put by staff to make the stay pleasant after a long day. Excellent food, nice rooms and facilities. Would definitively go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, PA at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your positive review and are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sohar ! Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel on my way to Muscat City. The hotel was almost empty so I got the courage to ask for upgradation from the receptionest, but he replied me: ARE YOU A MEMBER?
I answered him: NO. so he gave me a new membership card to fill in and said to me when you will reach 60,000 points then we shall consider you for an UPGRADATION. I replied: Thanks for your Generousity & Understanding. All in all the Hotel is Clean & in a very Quite area. I played some Snooker downstairs , there were also a Bowling game going on at the same place.
But what's for sure it's really very EXPENSIVE HOTEL.
NOT even a FREE BREAKFAST for OMR 70 room price per Night !!

Room Tip: There a big Supermarket 200 Mtrs away from the Hotel but in the same service road. Also a good Indi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABUHAMDANAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We will be happy to explain the subject of being upgraded if you can please send us your email on youssef.alonzo@ihg.com. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again to Crowne Plaza Sohar. Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sohar hotels
7.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Resort, Sohar
8.2 mi away
Sohar Beach Hotel
Sohar Beach Hotel
#5 of 10 in Sohar
139 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mercure Sohar
Mercure Sohar
#4 of 10 in Sohar
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#1 of 10 in Sohar
91 reviews
6.6 mi away
Al Wadi Hotel
Al Wadi Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sohar
77 reviews
8.2 mi away
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
#8 of 10 in Sohar
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sohar

Address: Falaj Al Qabail | Al Buraimi Road, Sohar 322, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Sohar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Price Range: $96 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Sohar 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unhindered panoramic views over a vast natural reserve, the 4 star Crowne Plaza Sohar is the first International branded hotel in the region. Perfectly situated for the business and leisure traveller, the Crowne Plaza Sohar is located within a short distance of Sohar's industrial heart and the Port of Sohar. The hotel can be reached either from Muscat or Dubai International airports. Crowne Plaza Sohar is also part of the IHG Green Engage initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sohar Hotel Sohar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing