We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good”
Review of Crowne Plaza Sohar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sohar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent dinner prepared for us. We had a steak literally 5 minutes to 11pm (closing time). Very professional staff, great pool and spa. The hotel offers VERY interesting promotions that are obviously not via bookings and other servers.....i recommend to check with the hotel.
It is not in the city centre and certainly NOT on the beach. However for an escape weekend, I'd say VERY good place to stay.
We had really NOTHiNG to complain about.

Room Tip: As for the room facing the pool....it may be noisy facing the motorway.....for some:-) we had a good...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your valuable review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your steak meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you once again at Crowne Plaza Sohar. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Sohar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 191 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located bit away from the down town. Not many choices of restaurant within the hotel or around the hotel. Ideal location if the business is in the Industrial zone of Sohar, else seems to be an isolated location. Front office is ideally located. Spacious greeting area and staffs are easy going. Room is spacious, clean and looks new. Good for families or transit travellers for a stop-over for a night or two.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kapilan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your important review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you once again at Crowne Plaza Sohar. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I've stayed in a number of other hotels in Sohar, but since finding the Crowne Plaza it's become my default choice.

One important point to note is that although there are signposts for the hotel as you initially approach Sohar from Dubai unfortunately there isn't one on the roundabout where you actually have to turn off the main drag... I've been before but was tired and forgot where to go so spent 40 minutes driving around before eventually finding the turning.

This trip I arrived late after a long long wait to get through the border control at Hatta (nearly 4hrs) to be met by a friendly smile and a "welcome back" from the check in clerk (the clerks here are amongst the friendliest of any I've experienced).

Given a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool area it was lovely to stand on the balcony and feel the breeze.

I headed down to dinner, unfortunately I'd forgotten that Oman is dry for 2 days of the Eid celebration (Dubai is only dry for 1) so there was no alcohol being served (though room service was no issue) but the food was excellent.

Note that the buffet restaurant also has an a la carte menu (I ate from that menu this time, though I have previously eaten in the excellent steak restaurant as well)
The food was very good, service was attentive and I can't fault anything about that area of operations.

I initially opted to not have breakfast at the hotel as it's rather expensive for what it is, sadly there's no other options in the area so I ended up breakfasting on the terrace again anyway.
Fresh made waffles were great, but the buffet part is a little odd (potato croquettes not hash browns, no pancakes and it appears no pork license as only turkey bacon and tomato and basil sausages)
The breajfast is probably the weakest part of the hotel to be honest.

Spent the rest of the day lounging by the excellent pool, one of my favourite hotel pools in the area, it's clean, the perfect temperature and has a little coffee bar by the side.
Sadly some inconsiderate guests decided that everyone else should suffer their music blaring from an Ipod dock - despite clear signs forbidding this.
The hotel staff seemed to conveniently disappear at this point and it was left to me to tell them to turn it off and get the verbal abuse in return - ho hum.

Dinner in the sports bar before heading back to Dubai was excellent - simply the best steak and ale pie of any I've had anywhere in the world - I won't even bother looking at the menu next time it was that good - just remember that you need your knees covered!

To conclude, this is an excellent hotel, especially given its location and one that is definately recommended for a relaxing weekend away, there are a few tourist things to do in the Sohar area but mostly this is a lounging by the pool style location!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

We appreciate your valuable review. We do apologise for the disturbance caused from the music of the other guests, we shall do our best to make sure it does not happen again. Regarding your review on our Buffet Breakfast, we have passed it to our Executive Chef for his input. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our steaks. Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sohar. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

For a weekend relaxation, we found ourselves in this fantastic hotel in Sohar. Fairly situated away from the city buzz, It's the perfect place. Magnificent structure, big halls, a huge pool--so inviting in this hot season. the crews are very friendly and excellent service. front desk guys were helpful and so were the buffet people. Great rooms too, spacious. But what I like the most is the food! International cuisines served. Desserts were so yummy! Well, it suitedme.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmedkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. If you would like any assistance during your stay, please contact me on: youssef.alonzo@ihg.com.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This excellent hotel is located outside Sohar, conveniently near the highway. It emerges from the flat surroundings, giving a feeling of luxury and opulence.
The entrance hall is wide, clean, neat and elegant, with a superb transparent elevator!
The personnel was very helpful and kind.
The room meets and exceeds the expectations of a 5-stars hotel: big room, luxurious bathroom, free & fast wifi connection, selection of pillows, etc.
I have experienced both the dinner and the breakfast: both with a huge selection of foods and styles, ranging from Omani to a international tastes.
An experience that I will not forgot! Simply astonishing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prill0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. If you would like any assistance during your stay, please contact me on: youssef.alonzo@ihg.com.
We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

When was being informed of the hotel booking at Crown Plaza at Sohar, i was afraid that the standards will not be the same. Surprisingly, this is the best Crown Plaza i have been so far. The personnel are welcoming and attentive. The rooms are cozy and spacious. The breakfast contains multiple choices. The sport bar is a nice place for a drink and watching a football match through mainly retransmissions at around 9pm because of Middle East timezone ;-)
They arrangedtaxi for us for our daily transportation and take care of every request made by us.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite anyways...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. We are delighted to know that your stay was comfortable. We hope to see you soon! Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel sits on its own next to the main road so all there is to see is desert and a few roads. However, it is conveniently located for the town and port and is the perfect location for anyone working in the nearby industrial zone.

I like the understated interior design because it is spacious, airy and not over the top like many 5 star hotels in the Gulf. My room was a good size, very comfortable and everything worked. Wifi was free and the desk was wel lit but the reading light (a few LEDs on a short stalk) was inadequate. Both bars were pleasant but most of the time there was little atmosphere because there were so few people around (it is hot outside in July!).

The outdoor leisure area with swimming pools looked very good but it was far too hot to spend any time there.

I tried both restaurants, the buffet and the a la carte place. The latter specialised in imported steaks and the quality was very good but it lacked atmosphere because there were few diners mid week. The buffet changed daily and it was satisfying but food that is kept hot can never be as good as fresh from the cooker so the verdict is ok but not a place to "dine out".

The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful so a good place for a business trip.

Room Tip: Little to choose from. They all look out onto the desert, which is pretty barrne in July
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. If you would like any assistance during your stay, please contact me on: youssef.alonzo@ihg.com. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sohar hotels
7.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Resort, Sohar
11.0 mi away
Mercure Sohar
Mercure Sohar
#4 of 10 in Sohar
26 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sohar Beach Hotel
Sohar Beach Hotel
#5 of 10 in Sohar
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#1 of 10 in Sohar
89 reviews
6.6 mi away
Al Wadi Hotel
Al Wadi Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sohar
76 reviews
8.2 mi away
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
#8 of 10 in Sohar
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sohar

Address: Falaj Al Qabail | Al Buraimi Road, Sohar 322, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Sohar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Price Range: $93 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Sohar 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unhindered panoramic views over a vast natural reserve, the 4 star Crowne Plaza Sohar is the first International branded hotel in the region. Perfectly situated for the business and leisure traveller, the Crowne Plaza Sohar is located within a short distance of Sohar's industrial heart and the Port of Sohar. The hotel can be reached either from Muscat or Dubai International airports. Crowne Plaza Sohar is also part of the IHG Green Engage initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sohar Hotel Sohar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing