We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Crowne Plaza Sohar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sohar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

When was being informed of the hotel booking at Crown Plaza at Sohar, i was afraid that the standards will not be the same. Surprisingly, this is the best Crown Plaza i have been so far. The personnel are welcoming and attentive. The rooms are cozy and spacious. The breakfast contains multiple choices. The sport bar is a nice place for a drink and watching a football match through mainly retransmissions at around 9pm because of Middle East timezone ;-)
They arrangedtaxi for us for our daily transportation and take care of every request made by us.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite anyways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. We are delighted to know that your stay was comfortable. We hope to see you soon! Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    69
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
32
10
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel sits on its own next to the main road so all there is to see is desert and a few roads. However, it is conveniently located for the town and port and is the perfect location for anyone working in the nearby industrial zone.

I like the understated interior design because it is spacious, airy and not over the top like many 5 star hotels in the Gulf. My room was a good size, very comfortable and everything worked. Wifi was free and the desk was wel lit but the reading light (a few LEDs on a short stalk) was inadequate. Both bars were pleasant but most of the time there was little atmosphere because there were so few people around (it is hot outside in July!).

The outdoor leisure area with swimming pools looked very good but it was far too hot to spend any time there.

I tried both restaurants, the buffet and the a la carte place. The latter specialised in imported steaks and the quality was very good but it lacked atmosphere because there were few diners mid week. The buffet changed daily and it was satisfying but food that is kept hot can never be as good as fresh from the cooker so the verdict is ok but not a place to "dine out".

The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful so a good place for a business trip.

Room Tip: Little to choose from. They all look out onto the desert, which is pretty barrne in July
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. If you would like any assistance during your stay, please contact me on: youssef.alonzo@ihg.com. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sur, Oman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The rooms are very clean and spacious. There is coffee and tea facilities in the room. There is extra sofa and welcoming fruit and cholates. Iron and ironing table also found in the room in addition to the safe box. Furnature is modern and new. The bed is confortable and nice. I realy enjoyed sleeping in this hotel. The toilte has a bath and a shower. It also got shattaf. All toilet amenities were available. The staff fare very nice and helpful.
The only thing is that the hotel is a bit far from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The moment you step in, you realize that this is nothing like what you've seen before in this part of the world. Traditional yet contemporary, with its decor made to match the beautiful sun and the picturesque mountains of Oman, this hotel is themed towards relaxation.
The rooms are well equipped and extremely cozy. The closet space is a whole different area in the room which is such a good idea.
The Restaurant, though a little scarce on their menu, serves good quality, delicious food. I could write a whole different review on their breakfast....its that lovely! Very rarely do restaurants pay enough importance to the music selection. They've done a wonderful job in choosing their playlists!
The wifi in the hotel is a bit temporamental but I understood from their friendly and proactive staff that it is being looked into.
I haven't used the pool or the spa, but the pool area is really splendid looking. They have various courts for outdoor and indoor sports and even a bowling alley.
This is what a 5 star hotel is all about.
I don't think I could get enough of this hotel...I sincerely wish the same for you too!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanchM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Although at first I wanted the hotel to be closer to the city, this is no reason to write sth negative. It provides you with everything you need so no city is needed after all- Sohar is not that interesting after all anyway. Very helpful stuff, excellent facilities, amazing breakfast. Everything you might need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giannakak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to our General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Giannakak

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of your stay with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Once again thanks very much for your comments and we sincerely hope to see you when you next pass by Sohar!

Warm regards
Patricia Craig
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Thank you Crowne Plaza, Sohar for your excellent service, facilities and home away from home. Things are done with excellent care, staff are very friendly and helpful! I am currently here for a long period but I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to our General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Willie B from Cape Town

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at Crowne Plaza Sohar...your home away from home!

I am really pleased to have just read your review and delighted you chose to stay with us. The team here really does appreciate your nice comments and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the CPS in the near future. Please feel free to contact me via the Hotel and I will always be delighted to assist you with your reservations requirements.

Warm regards

Patricia Craig
PA to our General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel islocated on the Oman/Abu Dhabi road and is set up on a hill. Excellent facilities and super staff. Check is was easy, room was very large; and to top it off you could have the tv on in the bedroom and hear it all in the bathroom through concealed speakers!. lovely welcome fruit platter and a pillow menu. Great view and nice balcony. Seating area, frdige and mood lighting - all a very pleasant surprise. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis - very reasonable rate for Oman. Dinner was buffet and the choice was plentiful, breakfast much the same - downside - no pork products ... There is a sports bar with live music and reasonable prices, a bowling alley!!! and lots of snooker/pool tables and bar football. Pool was temerature controlled, not cold but not hot either. Lovely loungers, pool bar and childrens section. All in all a good stop over - about 40 minutes from Hatta border and made a welcome break in our journey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggeroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sohar hotels
7.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Resort, Sohar
8.2 mi away
Sohar Beach Hotel
Sohar Beach Hotel
#5 of 10 in Sohar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mercure Sohar
Mercure Sohar
#4 of 10 in Sohar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Al Wadi Hotel
Al Wadi Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sohar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
10.1 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#1 of 10 in Sohar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
8.2 mi away
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
#7 of 10 in Sohar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sohar

Property: Crowne Plaza Sohar
Address: Falaj Al Qabail | Al Buraimi Road, Sohar 322, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Sohar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Sohar 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unhindered panoramic views over a vast natural reserve, the 4 star Crowne Plaza Sohar is the first International branded hotel in the region. Perfectly situated for the business and leisure traveller, the Crowne Plaza Sohar is located within a short distance of Sohar's industrial heart and the Port of Sohar. The hotel can be reached either from Muscat or Dubai International airports. Crowne Plaza Sohar is also part of the IHG Green Engage initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sohar Hotel Sohar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing