We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Sohar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sohar
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Thank you Crowne Plaza, Sohar for your excellent service, facilities and home away from home. Things are done with excellent care, staff are very friendly and helpful! I am currently here for a long period but I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to our General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Willie B from Cape Town

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at Crowne Plaza Sohar...your home away from home!

I am really pleased to have just read your review and delighted you chose to stay with us. The team here really does appreciate your nice comments and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the CPS in the near future. Please feel free to contact me via the Hotel and I will always be delighted to assist you with your reservations requirements.

Warm regards

Patricia Craig
PA to our General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    68
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
31
10
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel islocated on the Oman/Abu Dhabi road and is set up on a hill. Excellent facilities and super staff. Check is was easy, room was very large; and to top it off you could have the tv on in the bedroom and hear it all in the bathroom through concealed speakers!. lovely welcome fruit platter and a pillow menu. Great view and nice balcony. Seating area, frdige and mood lighting - all a very pleasant surprise. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis - very reasonable rate for Oman. Dinner was buffet and the choice was plentiful, breakfast much the same - downside - no pork products ... There is a sports bar with live music and reasonable prices, a bowling alley!!! and lots of snooker/pool tables and bar football. Pool was temerature controlled, not cold but not hot either. Lovely loungers, pool bar and childrens section. All in all a good stop over - about 40 minutes from Hatta border and made a welcome break in our journey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggeroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSohar, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to Crowne Plaza Sohar. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are honored to be your choice hotel when visiting Sohar. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Youssef Alonzo, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Prior to coming to this hotel I read some of the Trip Advisor reviews and I came across one that was to say the least laughable. This person had derated the hotel from a 5 star to a 4 star because their toast wasn't cooked properly.......get a grip people...lol. I found it quite interesting that this person has done 81 reviews yet only stayed in 16 hotels? Someone should really inform them that you don't write a new review everyday of your stay at the same hotel.....funny!

I have been here now for almost a week and I have yet to find anything that one would consider writing about in the negative. This very much a five star and everything about it has impressed me since I checked in. The room is very clean, laundry service perfect, food incredible and the staff well versed in their respective vocations.

If you are going to do business in Sohar Oman, this is where you need to stay. It without a doubt the most peaceful hotel in which I have stayed for some time and I assure you, it very much lives up to it's star rating.

Trip Advisor was developed for the convenience of professionals, so when you write a review first make sure that you understand how the star rating works and take all aspects of the facility into consideration, not just how they cooked your toast.......that cracks me up :-)

Room Tip: The best place for wifi is in the main lobby and get a room on the pool side it is peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to our General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mr Rigcat

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Sohar!

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your great review in detail on our quality of food, rooms and services that you have experienced during your stay.

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion about us and your stay here in TripAdvisor as it's imperative that our guests’ experiences are shared.

We also shared your warm and thoughtful appreciation with our colleagues which plays a very vital role in understanding and improving our ‘Guest’s experiences’.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again during your next visit to Sohar, Oman so that we can make it even more memorable!

Should you require any assistance with a booking, please do not hesitate to email us on cpsohar@cpsohar.com

Warm regards from us all
Patricia Craig
PA to our General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just come back from a visit to Oman and this place is paradise. The staff and service are excellent and so are the facilities. Its a bit out of the way but you don't need anything outside of the hotel. We'll be going back in October!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GwentValleysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to our General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Qwentvalleysgirl

Thank you so much for your great review and the time taken to do so.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments about the friendly and efficient service. This is something that we always strive to deliver and constantly improve.

Also happy to hear that you enjoyed our our facilities.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes
Patricia Craig
PA to our General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was here on a business trip. The hotel was a bit away from the city, but this doesn't matter at all. all you need is in the hotel anyway. Restaurant, Pool, Entertainment. I enjoyed it and can recommend it fully.

Very excellent staff! The best I met in Oman.

The only negative was the poor internet connection and no wireless in my room. I know there are other rooms with WLAN and it would be good to extend it to all rooms.

Nevertheless, it was a great stay.

Room Tip: I would prefer the rooms to the backside of the hotel. I assume they have wireless and you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozcroblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to our General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear valued guest

Thank you for the fantastic comments in regards to your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments about our friendly and efficient staff. This is something that we always strive to deliver and constantly improve on.

With regards to the WIFI in the rooms. We are presently working with a reputed company on a project to have WIFI in all the rooms. Presently and I'm sure you are aware we have WIFI in our restaurants, lobby lounge and pool area. Hopefully when you visit us again we can surprise you!

Once again thanks so much for the positive feedback, its appreciated.

Best wishes
Patricia Craig
PA to our General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

There's not much choice in Sohar, so the Crowne Plaza is a welcome option. Our family had such a great stay even though it was only one night. The room was large with a nice balcony looking out front, and the staff even made up a sofa bed for our kids. Our rate included dinner and breakfast, both of which were delicious. Be sure to ask the pasta chef to make you something custom. We aren't very familiar with Sohar so it was nice to not have to venture out to get food. The pool was gorgeous and lots of fun for the kids. There is a bowling alley at this hotel, which we didn't have time to try out because we were busy swimming and eating.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have sofa beds for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenobianblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to our General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear valued guest and family

Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback about your stay.

We are happy to know that you and your family's stay was great and that you enjoyed our facilities and services including our food offerings as well. Yes we pride ourselves on our pool and glad to hear that the kids enjoyed themselves.

We do appreciate your feedback and we take all your comments seriously as these are vital for us to continue improving our rooms, facilities and services in order to provide our guests the most enjoyable, comfortable and pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back and trying your hand at the ten pin bowling!

Best wishes
Patricia Craig
PA to our General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Definitely the only decent place to stay in Sohar of your are in for business. Many oil companies have their staff stay there. Quiet, nice pool, well maintained. But not really a 5 stars. Food in buffet not fresh everyday, quality varies. Staff is certainly friendly, check-in and out is smooth.
Fell sick there, and there was no way to get medicine or help from staff. Left on my own to manage. So friendly yes, but not always result oriented.
Gym and spa OK.
The real issue is the Internet, forget about it, the wifi is non existent in the hotel (reception or rooms, level 2 or level 3, etc.). One cannot even open an email. This is not acceptable in a hotel like Crown Plaza. That being said, there is no better place to stay in North Batinah/Sohar region.
Beds and pillows are very uncomfortable.
Rooms are all non smoking but have balconies. Difficult for summer time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemmayzetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear valued guest

Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your concerns.
We appreciate your feedback and it enables us to improve on our facilities and services.

Just to clarify on some of your points you mentioned.
The WIFI project is presently in progress with a reputed company and will be completed in around two and a half months time. However we certainly do have WIFI available in the entire lobby area, all restaurants and our pool area. Internet is available in the rooms.

Our buffet. We as a Crowne Plaza hotel can assure you of our freshness of our food and dedication of our chefs to serve only the best on a daily basis.

With regards to your request for medicine when you were ill. I agree with you. Assistance should have been provided to you. We are in a remote area and the local hospital, Life Line is around one and a half kilometers away.

I'm surprised you found the bed and pillow uncomfortable. I would like to share with you that our guests feedback on IHG guest feedback repeatedly votes our hotel high. We always stand at a 9 out of 10 nationally which I'm sure you will agree is an excellent score.

Smoking. The local Omani law stipulates that a no smoking policy in all buildings and guest rooms. We are fortunate that with our landscape and building position we are able to provide smoking on the balconies.

Our Sports Bar hosts a designated smoking area inside taking into consideration the high summer temps.

Thank you for your positive comments for our Front Office staff. I shall most certainly convey your thanks to them.

We would be delighted to have an opportunity to meet up with you on your next visit to Sohar.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards
Patricia Craig
PA to our General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sohar
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Resort, Sohar
8.2 mi away
Sohar Beach Hotel
Sohar Beach Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sohar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
6.5 mi away
Al Wadi Hotel
Al Wadi Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sohar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#1 of 6 in Nizwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
8.2 mi away
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
#8 of 10 in Sohar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.7 mi away
Al Sadarah Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sohar

Property: Crowne Plaza Sohar
Address: Falaj Al Qabail | Al Buraimi Road, Sohar 322, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Sohar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Sohar 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unhindered panoramic views over a vast natural reserve, the 4 star Crowne Plaza Sohar is the first International branded hotel in the region. Perfectly situated for the business and leisure traveller, the Crowne Plaza Sohar is located within a short distance of Sohar's industrial heart and the Port of Sohar. The hotel can be reached either from Muscat or Dubai International airports. Crowne Plaza Sohar is also part of the IHG Green Engage initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sohar Hotel Sohar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing