We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly service”
Review of Crowne Plaza Sohar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sohar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is the best hotel in the area. The staff are friendly and willing to a fault. Rooms are comfortable, clean and roomy. The restaurants are limited and food is average, but there is not much competition around. The hotel is quiet, and the pool area great, but the pool is very shallow at the shallow end.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radish20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to the General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Crowne Plaza Sohar with others guests’ on tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Warm regards
Patricia Craig
PA to our General Manager, Adel Aramouni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 197 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

we just stayed overnight. the place is quiet, great for relaxation to get away from he busy city. good breakfast and very friendly and accommodating staffs.... a perfect place to stop over at night when driving on the way to Muscat from UAE. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vhundhun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to the General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at the Crowne Plaza Sohar.

I am really pleased to have just read your review and delighted you chose to stay with us. The team here really does appreciate your nice comments and feedback.

We do apologize though that you faced some inconvenience while visiting our Bar and that they were low on stock of your favorite drink. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly look into not having a repeat of such an occurrence.

We trust that you will not judge us based on this particular experience and that you will give us another chance to serve you on your next visit to Sohar!

Yours sincerely
Patricia Craig
Personal Assistant to our General Manager, Adel Aramouni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

See ... if you are looking for an overnight stay it works ...... but if you are looking for entertainment so it sucks....

I stayed there for an overnight ..... it was fine coz I was in sohar for a business trip
Everything was great .... the staff is friendly and helpful (like the case everywhere in Oman)
any kind of bear you name it you get it ..... (except for the corona .. they were running out of corona on that night)
but the disco was really disappointing ...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ffahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went there for a week end, from Dubai. Even if this hotel is not intended for tourists but more for business or weddings, it was a very good choice! There is a big and very nice pool outside, in addition to a kids pool. We could spend long time there. I have tried the health center and had a message which was just excellent! The service everywhere is very nice, without being stupidly over polite. The food was very good, fresh and I was happy, among the vast choice, to be able to eat some specialities from Oman (this is not always possible in international hotels and this is a pity).

The nicest thing was the transfer from Dubai. It was organized by the hotel who sent us a taxi. Abdullah, the taxi driver from Oman, was so nice that the drive itself was an experience. He helped us through the 2 boarders administrations and I felt just well and in security in his taxi.

Room Tip: We had a suite with view on the road where I think a room with on the pool would have been better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Froch76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIAC933, PA to the General Manager at Crowne Plaza Sohar, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear guest,
On behalf of the entire team at Crowne Plaza Sohar we would like to thank you for your positive feedback.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and the service of our staff as well as our facilities.

Should you return to Sohar soon, we would be happy to welcome you once again.

Warm regards
For and on behalf of our General Manager, Adel Aramouni

Patricia Craig : PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

As many already wrote, the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere and it takes a while from Sohar before you reach it. If this doesn't bother you, it's an excellent choice. The property/building/landscape are all in great shape, very new and well maintained daily. The check-in was extremely friendly with welcome drinks and a bit of small talk about where we were from and what we were doing in the area. Got a high-floor pool-facing room with a balcony. It was flawless, spacious, spotlessly clean, modern and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and also impressive. After a few minutes we received a courtesy call if everything was OK and after a few minutes somebody brought a welcome fruit basket. It had fruit for 3 days in it! All fresh and nicely decorated. We used the pool and the saunas as well, everything spotlessly clean and very nice. It seems as if the hotel was almost empty. We paid just slightly over 100 EUR a night, which is a very low rate for the standard provided. I doubt I will be in the area again soon, but if it happens, this is where I'll stay :).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Recently opened hotel located outside Sohar (approx.15-20km to the centre), so if you are on business trip and you have to comute - beware! Avoid rooms facing Al Buraimi highway. Nice large (but shallow) pool, good gym. Nice food but nothing extraordinary.
Clean but with very poor built quality - as everywhere in the Middle East
Very good location if you have business in the Port of Sohar

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms by far the best. Avoid highway facing (noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kokosowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We used our membership of the Intercontinental Hotels Group privilege club to have a 2 nights for the price of one stay. Then we used our meal and wine vouchers, so all in all a bargain stay. We'll do it again next year when we rejoin. However, like all things in Oman, prices are at European levels, or more, most of the time but without the infrastructure to support it. So it may be a lot of outlay for a hotel in the middle of nowhere. That is at present. Maybe they are thinking ahead for when the port in Old Muscat is converted to a tourist site and all the port facilities move to Sohar (according to the local newspapers).

The hotel stands isolated from Sohar but is easily reached from there. It is a useful base from which to explore the area without the 2 to 2 and half hour drive from Muscat. The hotel has two good restaurants, a great pool and deck and new rooms! The views are not to be recommended though. I thought the empty gym was excellent, especially that it was empty and with no music. Again the newness of the development stands out. The gym has hardly been run-in, the rooms are undamaged by smokers, gum and feet, whilst the paved areas outside are cleaned and polished to within an inch of their lives every day.

In the local area are numerous wadis to go off-road, several small settlements with interesting castles e.g. Nakhal and Ar Rustaq (all anglisisations of the arabic involve a host of choices of spelling, expect to see several different ones for the same place within a few kilometres of one another).

Sohar is well worth a visit as well as its especially long waterfront, small fishing huts/houses on the periphery, date palms and small children and adults outside on large carpets etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrettYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sohar hotels
7.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Resort, Sohar
11.1 mi away
Mercure Sohar
Mercure Sohar
#4 of 10 in Sohar
35 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sohar Beach Hotel
Sohar Beach Hotel
#5 of 10 in Sohar
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Al Wadi Hotel
Al Wadi Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sohar
78 reviews
0 mi away
Bait Ul Marmar Hotel
Bait Ul Marmar Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sohar
1 reviews
1.7 mi away
Al Sadarah Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sohar

Address: Falaj Al Qabail | Al Buraimi Road, Sohar 322, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Sohar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Price Range: $89 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Sohar 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unhindered panoramic views over a vast natural reserve, the 4 star Crowne Plaza Sohar is the first International branded hotel in the region. Perfectly situated for the business and leisure traveller, the Crowne Plaza Sohar is located within a short distance of Sohar's industrial heart and the Port of Sohar. The hotel can be reached either from Muscat or Dubai International airports. Crowne Plaza Sohar is also part of the IHG Green Engage initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sohar Hotel Sohar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing