We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base in Salalah” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arabian Sea Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salalah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arabian Sea Villas
Ranked #1 of 11 Salalah B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A good base in Salalah”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have to agree with most reviewers when they say the hotel offers the basics. It's quite clean, though they don't clean the room every day (not an issue for me--I don't clean every day, either!). The hotel is somewhat worn and could use some freshening up, though the exterior was delightful with lots of potted plants and swept walkways. The bed was comfortable and the a/c worked almost too well. I appreciated having a mini-fridge in the room. Breakfast was a good array of choices and the kitchen will scramble some eggs for you if you ask.

The bathroom was pretty standard, featuring a shower pan on the floor. The hot water was scalding and I had to be very careful not to turn up the tap too much. The bath towel was thick, but there was no hand towel or wash cloth, and it was a bit inconvenient having to use the liquid soap by the sink without a cloth.

I had a terrace room but think I would have preferred a sea-view balcony room instead. The terrace was used by guests from the lower floors so it was not always private as a balcony would have been (e.g., they were using tables and chairs I had planned to use for lunch). Also, there is a wall along the roof edge that prevents a good sea view unless you're near the edge; if you were on the sofa in the sitting room you had no view. There was no screen on the sea-facing windows so they had to be kept shut to keep out mosquitos; would have loved to have the windows open to listen to the waves at night. I peeked in one balcony room as it was being cleaned and it had a much nicer bathroom and the balcony sliding door had a screen, as well as a balustrade that permitted a good view.

A car here is pretty essential. You are far away from the better restaurants (although a nearby "dive" had good Indian food) and at the mercy of few-and-far-between taxis or the guide. They have a guide that they use on a regular basis. He also picked me up at the airport. He is personable and gave me an interesting tour but didn't seem as knowledgeable as I would have expected.

Still, as others have noted, this hotel offers you basic comfort and friendly service, and I would not hesitate to go back. I think if I'd had a different room I would have given four stars.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank azbuceadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

After being picked up at the airport, we got our 'daily briefing' every day during our breakfast with help and hints and as much information as we needed to spend a great day exploring Salalah and its surroundings. The rooms were clean and comfortable. No complaints. No pushy sales. Just extra nice people and good care. We loved it, we'll be back.
Wireless was up and running and free.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcomove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

we had a roof balcony room with excellent view of the ocean and the passing dolphins every evening. for breakfast I went to the breakfast room, asked for a board and carried all the good things to our balcony for breakfast, just great! since a bit out of town, make sure you have a car, on the beach you can walk for hours

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aelte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

I was with a group of five and we found staff to be helpful to us in finding restaurants and the like. It's on the beach and the swimmers among us were happy campers. It was at the end of a three week tour around Oman so the out of the way location was fine. Rooms were clean; breakfast was good. What more can I say?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jogil415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

The bathroom gutter oveflows as soon as you open the tap and fills the entire floor. The AC in the room was not working. Despite a complaint, the AC was not repaired.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sightlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

if you're expecting 5* treatment, this is not the place for you. the accomodation can best be described as basic, everything in the room looks worn out. including the wooden doors and there are no safe box here. but you have to give the staff top notch for service and attentiveness. The place though old is never dirty, they will clean your room daily if you ask them to. it's really more of a homestay than anything else. The view from the balcony is fantastic. Point to note is that in Salalah, it is more convenient to rent a car to get around. Most of the places can be located via gps.

This is a cheaper option to stay in Salalah which has often been described as being out of reach of most people, other than those who can pay for top notch prices.

Mia and Mussalam are wonderful hosts and they will take care of your needs. you can even have free wifi here, just ask Mia for the password.

If you lowered your expectations and if you're looking for a clean bed to rest your head at night, than this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sienna_roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

This was a gem of a find. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, a little fridge and a good bathroom. Our room had a balcony overlooking the lovely beach which is mostly empty except for on a Friday evening when it comes alive with locals of every age.
The continental breakfast in the guesthouse is good with very friendly service. The place is clean, well-run and good value with free internet access. Dinner can be arranged and we ate there one evening because a group was staying. It was basic food but perfectly good and a nice change from having to take a taxi into town. We found that it is better to walk towards the Crowne Plaza hotel to pick up a taxi rather than to take one right outside the Villas .... a better price can be negotiated (around 2-3 rials).
If, like us, you don't wish to rent a car, then tours of surrounding Salalah can be arranged through Mia or Mussallem who run the property. We took two tours with Mia and they were both excellent.
We would love to return here one day and would definitely recommend it to guests who want a good base from which to experience Salalah without paying too much.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banjo_Pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salalah hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah
9.6 mi away
Fanar Hotel & Residences
9.7 mi away
Hilton Salalah
Hilton Salalah
#5 of 18 in Salalah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Juweira Boutique Hotel
Juweira Boutique Hotel
#4 of 18 in Salalah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hamdan Plaza
Hamdan Plaza
#10 of 18 in Salalah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
9.2 mi away
Salalah Rotana Resort
Salalah Rotana Resort
#3 of 18 in Salalah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Sea Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Sea Villas

Property: Arabian Sea Villas
Address: Dahariz Beach | PO Box 2403, Salalah 211, Oman
Location: Oman > Dhofar Governorate > Salalah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Salalah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly and clean bed and breakfast direct on the beautiful white sandy beach. All rooms have private bathrooms, ceiling fans, air conditioning, televisions, refrigerators and wireless internet. Onsite restaurant for a breakfast buffet and evening meals can be arranged. English, German, French, Dutch and Arabic are spoken by the staff. Local tours can be arranged on an individual or group basis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arabian Sea Villas Hotel Salalah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing