We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My last visit to Salalah Crowne Plaza resort Salalah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Salalah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It is an Excelent and quiet Resort for vacation and busniess , When I visit this Resort I feel like I am at home , Hotel Staff are very friendly and helpfull , Weather is excelent and hotel managment is great . I feel like I am in Hawai

Room Tip: Ask front Desk
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raffi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Raffi,

Greetings from you favorite destination!!

Thank you very much for the wonderful review and choosing Crowne Plaza while in Salalah.

We are extremely delighted to hear that you enjoy the facilities of the Hotel. Nothing else is of greater importance to us than to have our guests remain our guests for every stay.

Out team here is excited to hear that you were happy with the services provided by them.

We thank you for this wonderful review and recommending us to future travelers and at the same time we look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,

George Verghese
george.verghese@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 688 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have just returned from a weekend at the Crowne Plaza and I am amazed that this hotel is billed as 5 star. From the moment I walked in it smelt musty and damp. The main pool was out of commission, which would not have been a problem if i had been told of this when I booked only a few weeks prior. The aircon in the room did not work properly and leaked. The mini bar was empty and was utterly filthy. The bell boy said that there where chairs on the balcony and he would arranged for a table to be delivered so that we could enjoy the sea view. Great I thought, but on our return from a walk on the beach, not only had the table not been delivered, but the chairs had vanished. We ordered lunch , which did arrive promptly, but maybe that was because the staff had forget to warm it! The beach bar and the poolside bar where both closed for the whole weekend, although they were meant to be open. I was served a soft drink that was 8 months out of date. I could go on and you could ask, why didn't I complain. If it wasn't for the fact that I had won the weekend as a prize and I wasn't paying for it I would have. The only plus side was that the settings is beautiful. I definitely will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_Robbo_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Gary_Robbo_Robinson,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed at Holiday Inn C.P. Salalah for 8 nights recently.
The hotel is resort style and spread out over a large area directly on the beach.
The area adjacent to the hotel does not have any restaurants or stores

-Reception: Reception experience was ok but a little subdued. Staff did not describe the various features of the hotel.

-Room: Very spacious with nice décor
-Room safe: YES
-Room sound isolation: OK, except I could sometimes hear the furniture scraping on the floor in the adjacent room. The room door has a good pressure closure, so the doors don’t slam.
-Room lighting: Plentiful - 3 lamps + wall and ceiling.
-Room ventilation and air conditioning: Excellent, with easy control panel.
-Room fridge or mini-bar: YES – and they will empty it if you want to store some of your own goodies.
-Room kettle: YES, with free daily water bottles (2) + tea and coffee. Real glasses and mugs.
-Room amenities: YES and plentiful, including some unique items.
-Room bed and sleep quality: Excellent bed comfort with premium linens and great pillows. Included in the amenities is a sleep kit which consists of an aroma therapy spray for your pillows and scented oil for your pulse points that is supposed to calm you before sleep. Neat!!
-Room work desk: Average sized work desk with a glass top (optical computer mouse will not work on glass top). The work chair looks like a dining room style chair (not adjustable). The chair makes a loud scraping noise when moved on the marble floor, as there are no felt pads underneath.
-Room internet and telephone: Reliable internet with a good Wi-Fi signal. Three telephones in the room.
-Room TV: Excellent flat screen TV with many English channels, including free premium channels that broadcast in High definition. During my 8 day stay, all channels worked for the first 4 days, but some of the movie channels didn’t work (OSN Cinema, OSN premiere, Fox) afterwards. A technician investigated, but was not able to fix the problem. He thought the problem was with the satellite service.
-Room storage: Good amount of storage options (drawers, hangers)
-Room iron and ironing board: YES

-Bathroom: Good functional design with many free amenities. Water temperature and pressure was excellent (takes a while for water to become hot). The hair dryer is located in a strange location – in the work desk drawer. A cleaning hose is available instead of bidet.

-Security: Electronic proximity card for room access, but anyone can access the hallways
- Business center: YES

-Housekeeping and cleanliness: When I first checked in, the room was spotless, however over the 8 days I stayed, some cleaning in my room was overlooked (I saw the same stains on mirrors and floors several days in a row) I didn’t see any housekeeping supervisor going around with a checklist (as I’ve seen at some other hotels).

-On site shopping: There is a small shopping arcade on the ground floor; however there are no food items sold. Personal and pharmacy items sold are very limited to one small display case. Hilton on the other hand has their “Pantry” store where weary travellers can purchase a few nice snacks for their room.

-Restaurant: The free breakfast buffet was very good (fresh cut fruits, eggs made to order, whole wheat breads) The dinner was OK, but based on the meals I had it didn’t feel like I was eating in a high end resort.

-Gym and Leisure: The gym is located in a separate building beside the resort where you mix with non-hotel guests. The facilities are very comprehensive, including a squash court, golf driving range and mini golf course. There are several pools and with dining and bar facilities.

-Parking: Free and easy outdoor

-Airport Shuttle: Free and works on a fixed schedule

-Maintenance: During my stay, I saw maintenance activities constantly occurring (emptying the pool to clean it, lawn and garden maintenance, etc…), however it looks like other items are being overlooked, like; one lamp shade in my room had huge brown water stains on it, the other lamp shade was all dented. Other items on the property show signs of neglect, like the beach chairs, where the pads are just left in their positions of disarray, looking dirty. The palm tree coverings are also coming apart.

-Staff: I encountered excellent staff (like Sharif in the restaurant) and others, however other staff seem to walk around looking half asleep or sullen.

-What I liked
> Good ambience in a resort style with lots of potential
> Sleep quality
> The room features and amenities
> The best TV system I’ve seen in a hotel (except for the channels that stopped working)
> The breakfast

-To Improve
> Improve staff training for people engagement skills. Also, when the TV channels didn’t work, I asked the maintenance person to contact me with the reason, but there was not follow-up
> Use a housekeeping supervisor with check-list so that room cleaning items don’t get overlooked
> Re-focus the maintenance efforts (make cleaning or replacing stained lamp shades a priority)
> Add an adjustable work chair for business travellers
> Add felt to the bottom of furniture so it doesn’t scrape loudly
> Allow guest to purchase a few small food and personal hygiene items in the shopping arcade

-Conclusion
I like this hotel a lot, but there are some items that bug me. What bugs me the most is the items to improve look to be easily fixable with no large investment. I’ve read previous reviews which also point out some of these items, with management responding that they will immediately rectify the situation. Only time will tell if the wake-up call comes.

Room Tip: My room was at the end of the hallway, so there was very little traffic
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review that is so detailed and so specific. Certainly a review that is so detailed from a senior reviewer will help us tremendously and this is very much appreciated.

We have gone through the points in detail and are pleased to note that at the outset you like the hotel a lot and there were specific services such as the breakfast, TV in the room, amenities, the quality of pillows and the bed that you liked extremely along with the ambiance of the resort.

However we are disappointed that we still had areas that we could improve on to ensure your stay was truly a remarkable experience.

We will ensure that the points for improvement that you have mentioned are taken care off and are fixed at the earliest. Some of them are already on our list and we have been working on them

Our goal is to exceed the needs of our guest and we want to ensure that you experience this when you stay with us next time. Please let me know on george.verghese@ihg.com if you have plans to travel to this part of the world soon and I will be happy to take if forward to ensure you have a great experience.

Once again we thank you for such a great and honest review and we look forward to having you with us sometime soon.

George Verghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was my first time in Salalah and wont be my last. There are basically 3 hotels to choose from -The Marriott (which is a little remote), The Hilton (which is rated just above this hotel but had a poor review from one of my colleagues) or the Crowne Plaza. I decided therefore to give the CP a go whilst here on business. At the time of my visit ( May) the hotel was a little quiet.However, the staff, food and facilities were all excellent and certainly far better than the Crowne Plaza's sister hotel in Muscat. The private beach which adjoins the hotel is very well kept and a life guard was on duty throughout despite guest numbers being very low. The Dolphin Restaurant is without doubt the place to eat with BBQ's and Theme nights continuously changing throughout the week. The rooms are clean, spacious with good air con and a well stocked fridge.The hotel also has a pub which serves bar snacks, a extensive selection of alcoholic drinks,sports TV and a band from South America playing most nights. All in all this hotel exceeded my expectations and considering the lack of choice for good quality hotels in the area I would say that you cant go wrong with this one.

Room Tip: Just got to overlook the pools and beach
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boeing_gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and choosing Crowne Plaza Salalah for your stay during your first visit to Salalah.

We are proud that you choose us over our competitors during your recent stay and at the same time we are happy that we were able to surprise you and exceeded your expectation.

We at Crowne Plaza believe that our Guests are Travelling for Success and we play a major role in this. We want to do this by offering great service and the best facilities.

This being our goal we thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to having you with us for continuous success when you stay with us for business or leisure.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel has the best location in Salalah comparing to the other beach properties in the city. Also they have the best beach in the area. The hotel is quite old but the standard is maintained.

Rooms are quite good however not all the rooms with balconies!

Breakfast was very good. We tried dinner at the dolphin restaurant by the beach and this was an amazing experience.

Rates are competitive and reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohi_Khater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Mr. Khater,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review and choosing Crowne Plaza while in Salalah for your recent stay.

We are extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, the beach and food offered in our resort.

We at Crowne Plaza Salalah strive to deliver Seamless Service to our guests who are travelling for success during business or leisure and we are delighted that this objective of ours has been met.

We thank you for this wonderful review and recommending us to future travelers and at the same time we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was an overall nice experience however do not eat or drink at the resort. It is extremely expensive. I can really recommend this place for a couple!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MABE_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments. We constantly strive to exceed our guest expectation and offer different and better experience every time.

We respect your view pertaining to prices of food & beverage and would like to share that our prices have not been changed for some time now and these prices are competitive compared to similar standard hotels in the region.

As a Resort, we not only provide a product but also an experience and a level of quality that is expected from Crowne Plaza Hotels.

As we are committed to create a memorable experience for all our guest, we look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I originally booked the Marriott, but found a better deal at the Crowne Plaza and appreciated being much closer to Salalah. The hotel is a somewhat older property but well kept with good ammenities and the staff at the desk are incredibly helpful. The private beach is excellent and Salalah is only a few minutes away. The quality of the food is good, a bit pricey, but food service is quite slow. I got a rate that included the breakfast buffet only, so we ate some dinners on the property and went out other times. Taxis can be expensive but renting a car at the hotel is cheap. I also enjoyed sitting at the Arabic Majlis in the evening to enjoy drinks at the Dolphin Bar. It's a great setting to relax and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GV123, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Patrick,

Thank you very much for your time writing this review and choosing Crowne Plaza Salalah for your recent stay though you were booked at another hotel.

We are happy that you liked the hotel overall as a great product and you found the place great for Relaxation and Restoration.

However we understand from your review that we still have some improvement to do in areas such as speed of service, which we assure will be taken care off with the help of training of our colleagues.

Once again we thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Salalah and look forward to having you with us for another successful stay.

Kind Regards,

George Verghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salalah hotels
9.2 mi away
Hilton Salalah
Hilton Salalah
#4 of 21 in Salalah
1,001 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fanar Hotel & Residences
9.9 mi away
Juweira Boutique Hotel
Juweira Boutique Hotel
#3 of 21 in Salalah
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Salalah Gardens Hotel
Salalah Gardens Hotel
#8 of 21 in Salalah
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salalah Beach Resort Hotel
Salalah Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 21 in Salalah
63 reviews
7.4 mi away
Salalah Plaza Hotel
Salalah Plaza Hotel
#15 of 21 in Salalah
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah

Address: Al Khandaq St, Salalah 211, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Dhofar Governorate > Salalah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Salalah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salalah
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Salalah
Price Range: $144 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah is situated in 45 acres of lush tropical garden, overlooking the Indian Ocean and on a long stretch of pristine white sandy beach. The resort enjoys an ideal location for Business Traveler's, Meeting & Events and for Families. Just 10 minutes drive from the Salalah International Airport, 8 minutes from the city center and 15 minutes from the Port of Salalah. All 153 rooms including 9 suites and the 19 three-bedroom family villas are stylishly well appointed and equipped with private bathroom, radio, International direct dial telephone, voice mail, interactive television including satellite channels, and mini-fridge. The Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah boasts of the only 'Green' 9 hole Par 3 Golf Course in Oman. The THREE meeting rooms at the Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah are tailored to meet the ever-changing requirements of the discerning travelers and meeting communities alike. The ballroom is equipped and caters to any social or business event, such as gala dinner, wedding, cocktails, meetings, seminars and conferences, product launches and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah Hotel Salalah
Crowne Plaza Salalah
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salalah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing