We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Singing in the Rain” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Salalah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Salalah
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Salalah
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Singing in the Rain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

The only place in the world, where rainy season is high season.. Salalah. Living in Dubai we had to experience this "wonder of nature", when the rest of the arab peninsula is boiling hot, it is raining in Salalah, and the place is full of locals and other golf citizens.

Well it is rain, noting like good old London rain, but all the same, Salalah is by far the most natural green place we have seen in the gulf

The Hilton is a strange hotel, feels like they were the first who thought of building a beach hotel here, because there is no other hotel to be seen. And the feeling of solitude was such that it took us 24 hours to discover that what we thought was the skyline of Salalah, was in fact the Salalah Freeport, with lights on the cranes.

For some reason, being on a beach hotel, they decided to have the back to the ocean, and not really any view of the indian ocean from anywhere in the lobby area. It was a typical arab lobby, a lot of white marbel, and plush sofa's even the usual majlis, which all hotels seems to have, in the hope that the odd sheikh decides to walk in.

Served a nice omani coffe upon arrival and given our rooms. The rooms are typical Hilton rooms, everything is there, even the signature digital radio, only no radio stations to listen to, but then who cares...we were there to see rain...

Service is, like always in Oman, very friendly and feels authentic, there is a strong national pride in the Omanis, something the rest of their gulf relatives seems to have missed out on.

A nice garden, pool area, pool side restaurant....all in all a reasonable experinece.

Word of warning, the local fishermen liek to use the beach outside the hotel, and they prefer to have a Toyota Landcruiser on the beach, dragging a net extended by a rope attached to a fishing boat.. so if you are not careful you could loose your head, as the drivers on the beach, seems to pay more attention to the fishing boat than the odd tourist they decapitate in the process

Location was, as said, very isolated, and far from what little there is to see in Salalah, because of the rainy season, the room rate was extra high. The rooms seemed like they could do with a few days of open windows or something like that. They were very stuff and damp, don’t know if they shut down some rooms outside of high season, and that is why it seemed so damp, but apart from that not bad, and if you feel like getting wet from other ways of your own sweat in the Middle East in August, Salalah is not a bad alternative..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uk2dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    304
    130
    50
    13
See reviews for
220
308
72
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat Governorate, Oman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

the entire stay was pleasant thanks to the fantastic room and service provided by the hotel. the room was seriously spacious and we had a lovely sea view. the hotel also had a lot of well maintained outdoor space, lovely pool and private beach access.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RiyaK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

On arrival we were given a warm welcome by the excellent front office staff. Check-in was smooth, and the rooms were comfortable. The restaurant was excellent and the bar very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuru71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

Dank smell everywhere, especially the room.

Isolated location. Nothing around to walk to.

More like a Holiday Inn than a Hilton Resort.

Bad value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlalUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonsll, Front Office Manager at Hilton Salalah, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you very much for having stayed at that Hilton Salalah Resort and for having taken the time to complete the Online Survey.

Your evaluation and comments are indeed vital in our endeavors to improve our services and standards.

I have shared and discussed your comments with our relevant heads of department and would like to assure you that appropriate action will be taken, especially regarding the damp smell in the room.

Meanwhile, we do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Salalah Resort or indeed to any other Hilton hotel in the world.

Yours sincerely,
Syed Abid Hussain
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We were ready for a small come-down after spending the previous week at the superb Six Senses Hideaway in Zighy Bay but really expected more from Hilton. We arrived in the late evening after a 2 hour 4X4 journey, flight from Dubai to Abu-Dhabi and then to Muscat and then to Salalah so - you guessed it - we were ready for a sleep! Unfortunately we were allocated the wrong room type on arrival so I went back to reception where sadly I had to go into growling mode in order to convince the receptionist that we were not prepared to sleep one night in this room only to move again the following day. He rang his off-duty manager, saw the mistake on his confirmation copy and re-allocated us to a lovely sea-view room (as we had booked) I must say the young man did exceptionally well in dealing with this grumpy old, baggy-eyed man that had just come into his life!!

Now I know that I am getting longer in the tooth but when my wife and I finally slipped into bed we found the bedding to be very damp; both to the touch and to the nose! "Never mind dear, we'll sort it out in the morning zzzzzzzzz ".

Through the week we noticed this same dank smell throughout the hotel corridors too. "Never mind dear" I said the following evening, "we'll go for a wonderful meal in the a la carte restaurant. Oh, no we wont: it appears to be closed" We were so disappointed because we enjoy our evening meals and drag our smart cloths all over the world, assuming a 5* hotel to have air-conditioned dining but no, not here, even in the days leading up to their peak season.

On a positive note, the room was lovely and clean. The staff, as you might expect, were excellent. The grounds and pool were clean and very well tended. The food was good, although the breakfast restaurant was more like a Holiday Inn - we really didn't like the buffet dinner we tried --dough, there I go again!

We'll try one of the new hotels that have/are openning up further down the coast next time, I think!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snobsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

beautiful area, definate retirement location as there is really not much to do other than driving/exploring/fishing. Plans to build resort to the north including golf so maybe in the future...

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank levymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2009 on the way home from a work trip. Everything is very tidy, both in public spaces and the rooms. Bathrooms clean and fresh smelling. Beds comfy. TV offerings limited for English speaking westerners such as myself, but enough to occupy when not outside the room. Minibar fully stocked each day, and a small selection of snacks along with the drinks. Alcoholic beverages available in the hotel, but pricey given the location. My wired Internet connection in the room was dead, and was not taken care of before I checked out - that said, internet access costs extra at this hotel and it too is expensive - one way around this is by taking advantage of the free access available in the lobby coffee shop - as long as you purchase and drink a coffee in there, you can get vouchers good for 30 minutes of access to the internet at a time.

Overall, I had a comfortable time there, staff very friendly and polite, but it is an expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanTaff970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salalah hotels
9.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah
19.3 mi away
Fanar Hotel & Residences
19.1 mi away
Juweira Boutique Hotel
Juweira Boutique Hotel
#4 of 18 in Salalah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Salalah Beach Resort Hotel
4.4 mi away
Salalah Gardens Hotel
Salalah Gardens Hotel
#8 of 18 in Salalah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
10.3 mi away
Al Nile Hotel
Al Nile Hotel
#12 of 18 in Salalah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Salalah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Salalah

Property: Hilton Salalah
Address: Sultan Qaboos St, Po Box 699, Salalah 211, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Dhofar Governorate > Salalah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salalah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salalah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Salalah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Salalah 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Salalah Resort is a relaxing retreat, surrounded by vibrant bougainvilleas and lush palm groves. This beachfront Salalah hotel is set amidst landscaped gardens and all of the Salalah hotel rooms and suites offer tranquil views of the Indian Ocean and Arabian Sea, as well as the dramatic Dhofar mountain range. Relax by the Hilton Salalah Resort's freeform pool overlooking the white-sandy beach, browse the shopping arcade, work out in the gym or unwind in 6 restaurants and bars at this Salalah hotel. Dine on fresh seafood at Palm Grove Restaurant or enjoy authentic Arabic Cuisine at Al Maha Restaurant. Sip your favorite cocktails in Sea Breeze Bar, located on the stunning beachfront, or treat yourself at Sheba's Steak House with premium steaks, flavorful sauces and matching wines. Pamper yourself with an outdoor massage in one of the Caribbean style beach pavilions at this Salalah hotel, entertain the kids in the playground or enjoy a day sightseeing and visit the Old Souk, the Bird Sanctuary or follow the Frankincense trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Salalah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Salalah Hotel Salalah
Hilton International Salalah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing