We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, not a very nice location”
Review of Hilton Salalah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Salalah
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Salalah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2009

I chose to stay at the Hilton because I was in Salalah for work at the port, which is nearby. But that's this hotel's problem. The rooms are big and comfortable, the grounds are very pleasent, the service is friendly, the food is fine, the room's Internet connection was excellent. But as you sit on the beautiful wide sandy beach with the Indian Ocean lapping at your feet, the port facilities are clearly visible right in front of you, container ships are off in the distance, and there's a power station about a mile or so to your right. It really shouldn't matter. The water is clean and the beach is quiet (the isolated location is about a 10-minute $15 cab ride into town). But somehow it ruins the resort hotel effect. It didn't bother me because I was there for work, and was able to get in a nice swim at the begining and end of every work day, which is my idea of paradise. I wouldn't choose this hotel for a destination holiday. But if you are traveling through Oman for work or pleasure, and want to unwind at the sea for a few days, this place would be perfectly fine. I don't like swimming pools but the one here is attractive. There's a kid's pool and a children's play set. The hotel is generous with beach towels. The buffet dinners and breakfasts were well prepared, tasty and abundant. They were just too ``international'' for my tastes. After several days there I never got any idea what Omanis eat. I've read complaints about service, but I found everyone pleasant and helpful. From everything I've heard and read, there are stunning full day excursions that can be done from the hotel to deserted beaches and into the mountains. I didn't have time. The clientele is an odd mix. The main groups seemed to be Swedes on package tour holidays and Western oil and security workers from the Gulf getting some R&R. The latter included a few too many burly incomprehensible tattooed Brits drinking beer, but they kept out of everyone's way and behaved. There's a rather surreal pub/disco with a Filippina girls band at night. My room was large, clean and quiet. All in all, a good well run property, just a shame about the view.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

This was a lovely clean modern hotel and I couldn't fault the rooms. Large comfortable bed, internet access, tea/coffee making facilities. The only let down was the view from the beach. The hotel was situated out of town which was fine but was near to the biggest port in southern Arabia so there were mostly container ships going across the sky line in front of the hotel and a lovely view of the cranes!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisynook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

This was in May 2008 when my wife and me after a long business trip to Muscat decided to unwind ourselves and were suggested to go Salalah , as usual I booked the hotel by calling the property.
This hotel was a total misfit as a choice since we had to experience a substandard quality of food and overall services.Room ambience was too ordinary. A simple request took them ages to deliver. When we talk about product, Crowne Plaza Salalah was much better since we went for dinner couple of times and found their quality and services as per the 5 star standards. It was a mistake to book Hilton Salalah since it never gave us anything which could even meet our small expectations. Last but not least their swimming pool area is also not great and we will always prefer Crowne Plaza intead of Hilton incase we plan to visit again to Salalah.

Thanks

Jason Barbour

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Jasonbarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2008

The Hotel itself is small, 4 floors, and kind of secluded. So, if you are looking to just get away from it all and stay in the resort, with not too big of a crowd then this is the place for you. However, If you are looking for a more lively resort with more people and on a much larger scale, then the crown plaza is the choice for you.

As for the hotel itself. The hotel is very nice, rooms are very spacious, and overall aesthetics are very good, although I must point out that the beach was not very nice, in fact, the whole time I was there nobody ventured onto the beach, they just stayed within the confines of the pool area.

Service is ok, we had a bit of a problem with our booking, having booked a 1 room 4 adult on expedia, the "front counter manager" informed us that they do not allow that (even though we were able to book that way online) and that we have to pay for a second room. He was pretty rude, made snide remarks and was not willing to budge, even though it wasn't our fault. After much arguing, we were able to talk to the reservations manager, who was very polite and understanding and found some loop hole to get us 50% off, thus making it the same price.

Like I said before, the beach is poor, and you can see huge oil rigs and equipment in the distance, but the pool area is very nice. This however, does not even come close to the Crowne Plaza, which is very well organized and has a huge private beach that just looked more appealing, and the pool area also had driving ranges, mini golf, areas for the kids, 3 drinks stations, massage tables for him and her, and just seemed better overall.

Also, the subaqua diving people at the Hilton are very friendly and did a great job for our dolphin sighting adventure (saw more than 5 whales!).

Finally, the food. Ate breakfast both days we stayed there, and It was very good, good selection, custom made omelettes and pancakes and waffles. Ate dinner once, which was also very good, the canaloni was delicious. We ate once at the Crowne Plaza, and the food seemed to be ok, but not great.

For me, if I go to Salalah again, I will definitely stay at the Crowne Plaza. But that doesn't mean that I wouldn't recommend Hilton to some (especially older couples, people looking for some peace and quite)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tottihead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

The hotel rooms are very pleasant indeed. They are spacious, clean and have good facilities.

The hotel does let itself down though on the quality of the service. The food in the restaurant buffet is of good quality but, you have to repeatedly ask for staff to remove plates so that you can continue with your next course.

Service around the pool is also virtually non-existent. We were left with a tray of dirty plates, glasses etc for four hours by our sunbeds. I am quite sure it would have been longer, had we not left then.!

There is no entertainment for families, just a very bad band playing in a bar that will not allow children in.

It is a great place to escape to if you don't mind the lack of service and entertainment. The location on the beach is lovely although they don't show any photo's of the huge great port that is just to the right of the hotel or the cement works just down the road!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank its2hot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We stayed here during a work trip, it was an excellent way to un wind and was extremely luxirous. The location is bizarre but set on a nice beach, shared with Camels though.

The hotels facilities are fantastic, lovely pool and area.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank matt_williams386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

I liked this hotel for one major reason "REVIEWS" I love this site and reviews on it. As said by other reviewers it was fantastic hotel, with great garden and pool design. When i went with my family "as middle eastern" we liked this hotel for its calmness and different services. The rooms is tidy , but the air condition is that much cold, may be i wasnt lucky with my roomm but it was always around 23c which is not that cold for me in counting the humidity out side. The breakfast and different restaurants, specially the one near the coast are very good and very good barbique. After the breakfast you can go out and take a taxi for a full day for only 25 Omani Rials, which you take you for mostly every scenary in Salalah. In the night you can choose from swimming in the pool or set in the out side cafe and have some Shisha which very good. Nice stay and perfect hotel. But i hope they improve the air conditioner.


  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Rashed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salalah hotels
9.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah
19.3 mi away
Fanar Hotel & Residences
19.1 mi away
Juweira Boutique Hotel
Juweira Boutique Hotel
#4 of 22 in Salalah
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Salalah Gardens Hotel
Salalah Gardens Hotel
#8 of 22 in Salalah
99 reviews
9.6 mi away
Salalah Beach Resort Hotel
Salalah Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 22 in Salalah
66 reviews
5.8 mi away
IntercityHotel Salalah
IntercityHotel Salalah
#7 of 22 in Salalah
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Salalah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Salalah

Address: Sultan Qaboos St, Po Box 699, Salalah 211, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Dhofar Governorate > Salalah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salalah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Salalah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salalah
Price Range: $111 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Salalah 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Salalah Resort is a relaxing retreat, surrounded by vibrant bougainvilleas and lush palm groves. This beachfront Salalah hotel is set amidst landscaped gardens and all of the Salalah hotel rooms and suites offer tranquil views of the Indian Ocean and Arabian Sea, as well as the dramatic Dhofar mountain range. Relax by the Hilton Salalah Resort's freeform pool overlooking the white-sandy beach, browse the shopping arcade, work out in the gym or unwind in 6 restaurants and bars at this Salalah hotel. Dine on fresh seafood at Palm Grove Restaurant or enjoy authentic Arabic Cuisine at Al Maha Restaurant. Sip your favorite cocktails in Sea Breeze Bar, located on the stunning beachfront, or treat yourself at Sheba's Steak House with premium steaks, flavorful sauces and matching wines. Pamper yourself with an outdoor massage in one of the Caribbean style beach pavilions at this Salalah hotel, entertain the kids in the playground or enjoy a day sightseeing and visit the Old Souk, the Bird Sanctuary or follow the Frankincense trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Salalah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Salalah Hotel Salalah
Hilton International Salalah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing