We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst place to stay...”
Review of Hamdan Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamdan Plaza
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Salalah
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the worst place to stay...”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Not just Hamdan plaza..... almost everything is Salalah is bad. Except for hilton, crowne plaza and marriott which is like 85 kms away. The food was bad.... really really bad. And the room had this aweful old stench. Never again. Advantage? Close o the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinu_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
8
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

we have stayed this hotel in peak season time, the building looks likes altered from apartments,. The rooms are spacious but poor maintenance and furniture. The cost also comparatively high with other hotels, Hotel surroundings also not good and attractive.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vinukchandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Where do I start? This hotel is not really a hotel. It is actually a furnished apartment block that has been converted into a hotel, probably because they could not rent out the apartments outside of the monsoon season. This means that each room has a fridge that doesn't work, a huge foyer, a kitchen where none of the appliances work and with no pots or cutlery, and what can best be described as an industrial bathroom with lots of rust and leaky faucets. The shower-head had not been cleaned since the place was constructed.

I had a room that looked out onto a wide, three-lane highway, looking straight at the Lulu Hypermarket. That is, if you can see through the years of dust and grime that have become stuck like glue onto your window. By the way, this is touted as the prime selling point of the hotel...that it looks out onto a supermarket.

When you enter the lobby, during the high season, there are groups of Gulf Arabs typically sitting on the sofas or sometimes even in circles on the floor drinking tea. It reminds me of a bus station. Expect to be stared at if you are a non-Arab. There is an escalator, but it doesn't work, and it leads into darkness. There used to be a restaurant upstairs, I am told, but it seems no longer to exist. I didn't dare go exploring.

There is a very bad language problem here. If you speak English, forget it. If you know Arabic, you can probably get by at the reception desk. But everyone else you will see is Indian, but mostly from Kerala, so they don't even speak Hindi.

The "breakfast" is ghastly. Processed cheese wrapped in aluminum foil, processed juice (i.e., more fructose than fruit), stale bread, and chicken franks. The "bread" is not to be believed...one can tile a roof with it. This is even a step worse than the typical 2-star routine in Oman. The eggs are boiled...if you don't like boiled eggs, too bad...go to a restaurant. Oh, the cooks are all Indians, and they do make roti, which is quite tasty...more or less the only thing that is.

The worst part of the whole experience is that there is a distinct lack of cleanliness that one senses, but cannot actually see. I kept itching at night, and wondered what detergent or bleach they were using on the sheets. About a week after I got back home to Muscat, the itching had still not subsided. I found out why...chiggers.

A good scrubbing down would help this place immensely, and some disinfectant would not hurt. Make sure to plug in the mosquito repellants at night if you're here during the monsoon.

Avoid if possible.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SheikhDaoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salalah hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Choose this hotel if you aren't visiting Salalah for a vacation. You can't even call a B&B, as it's mostly a residential building converted into a hotel.

I was quite happy to see typical Arab-style huge rooms for a much lesser price, but then we were a struck a little dumb when saw that there is a kitchen without any utensils and rooms without any teapots! When asked housekeeping, they said blandly, "We don't have that, Sir.."

The breakfast is good, but not the best.

Stay here only if you are on a business trip, or if you want to stay on a central location and don't care about the view, which was a mistake I did. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudbadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stay in this hotel because no rooms available at the Hilton Salalah.
Reception staff speaks poor English.
Room nice,well equipeed,clean.
Breakfast average.
Hotel is centraly located close to the Lou Lou shopping centre.
Price paid 110 $ too high for this category.
Anyway I will stay here again when visit Salalah

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asterisk1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salalah hotels
4.0 mi away
Hilton Salalah
Hilton Salalah
#4 of 18 in Salalah
982 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah
16.0 mi away
Fanar Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Salalah Beach Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salalah Gardens Hotel
Salalah Gardens Hotel
#8 of 18 in Salalah
88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Salalah Plaza Hotel
Salalah Plaza Hotel
#13 of 18 in Salalah
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamdan Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamdan Plaza

Property: Hamdan Plaza
Address: P.O.Box: 2498 | Postal Code 211, Salalah 211, Oman
Location: Oman > Dhofar Governorate > Salalah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Salalah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamdan Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamdan Plaza Hotel is a centrally located Business hotel offering value for money offerings to the discerning traveller. The hotel offers free Wifi. The rooms either over look the city scape or the Dhofar mountains. The hotel has 4 conference halls which can host events from 50 till 400. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant offering buffet breakfasts and buffet dinners on Thursdays and Fridays. The restaurant has an a la carte menu from which our guests can choose from. Other services include Room service and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hamdan Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing