We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOKYO TARO their Japanese Restaurant is TOP NOTCH!! Best in Muscat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Falaj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Falaj Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“TOKYO TARO their Japanese Restaurant is TOP NOTCH!! Best in Muscat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Last weekend a goup of us visited Tokyo Taro on the endeavour to desperately fill our cravings for Japanese food!!! WOW!!! Simply Amazing, while it is more than i would normally pay for a meal it is worth it! (Still cheaper than LeftBank!!!) the Food was amazing, and there was soooo much of it. And the best Sake I have tasted in a long while.
There are Bento boxes, Sushi or Teppanyaki... all you could want for Japanese enthusiasts!
I will be back soon!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM-TGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    230
    121
    28
    17
See reviews for
61
125
55
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

The hotel is not a 4 star. The rooms are very ordinary. The food is limited. Its clean and thats about it. The service is ok. i dont know how can this hotel be a 4 star property. The rooms are like lodge type.

  • Disliked — Rooms were very small and very badly done up.
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

That was my first visit to this country, as i was assigned the new responsibility of a project manager for the MJEC, OMAN Project.

as a alone person, i reached over there to start my new assigment in this country. i found this hotel as an average hotel, in the same price you can find out better hotels in india also. as the food is quite cheap in oman, so i dont feel that the person should be worried over there. beaing a lot of indian over there, i found that this hotel cook doesnt know, to what you call as a food. outside in muscat, even behind of that hotel when you come on main road there are two resturant - one is punhabi and one is chinees both are really good. but this hotel food is so bad.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sanjut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

If you need a hotel near to the central business district in Ruwi and want a taste of traditional Oman, this is still a good choice. Whilst it is a little dated, everything is clean enough and it has a reasonable coffee shop restaurant and pool. A change from modern hotels. The bar/club on the top floor offer excellent views but a dreadful live band, so savour the views over a quick drink and escape.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

Al Falaj - Muscat - Oman

We stayed here as the joining point for a peregine tour.

The hotel was basic and clean but nothing fancy.
The location in Ruwi is kind of not near anything. Down town Ruwi is not somewhere you really want to go as a female. Its full of men standing around doing nothing on the streets and quite intimidating.

Close to the Sultan's Museum and about a $3 Omani Rial taxi ride to the souq and the corniche. Not really a walkable distance unless you feel like a hike.

The restaurant food was standard fare and you could get a drink at the sports bar or le pub as well as the dining room.

The japanese restaurant on level 8 was good food. And according to the locals we know - best japanese in town.

All in all - a basic clean hotel - but be prepared to taxi everywhere as it is generally too hot to walk.

  • Liked — The room had a mini bar
  • Disliked — smoking in the bar
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sammythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel as part of our Adventure Holiday Company tour of Oman between 18 and 28 December 2006. We had 2 different rooms and the previous review stating that the rooms stunk was not true for us and the bedding was clean. It is a very corporate hotel with little character, part of a French chain which look the same wherever they are. we stayed in 6 different venues in Oman and we would rate this the lowest, both for its lack of ambience and the poor quality breakfast, but it is central and perfectly ok.

  • Disliked — Boring, rather worn
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Labiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruwi
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruwi Hotel
Ruwi Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ruwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 50 in Muscat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Falaj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Falaj Hotel

Property: Al Falaj Hotel
Address: PO Box 2031, Ruwi 112, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Ruwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Falaj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Falaj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Falaj Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing