We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD HOTEL IN RUWI”
Review of Al Falaj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Falaj Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ruwi
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A good hotel with excellent rooms and good beds. Nice location and close to the downtown region. Very close to many chain foods and shopping centres. Well maintained swimming pool, sauna, The hotel is well managed though most of the staff are local Omanis the hotel with a with a sprawling lobby, and offering a great breakfast spread really proved to be value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the front or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAJESH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Client

Thank you very much for letting us know about our services. We are grateful for telling our clients about our services. It is a great motivation to our entire team to hear from a satisfied clients.

I have personally praised our chefs for a fantastic breakfast buffet they offer daily basis to our clients with wide verity of international corners.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the buffet.

Thank you very much once again and look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Muscat.

Kind Regards

Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 560 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed there for a night.

This is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We asked for a non smoking room when checking in. The hotel representative at reception kind of ignored us. We asked again and they said, yes it will be non smoking.

In the lift itself, we realized that it was a smoking room as they have only one non smoking floor - 6th.

After checking in, we realized that the toilet flush and the shower is broken. We complained to the hotel staff who said it will be taken care of which never happened.

Another big problem is the air-conditioning as it does not work.

Staff do not care and they are not friendly. There is construction going on in the hotel but they call it renovation.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate your comments and thank you for letting us know when things are not correct. On behalf of the entire team we would like to convey our sincere disappointment for not being bale to provide the services as per your expectations. One again we do apologies and as always do take the guests feed back very seriously to improve our services.

Yes we do have renovation our bathrooms currently in progress. The renovations are done with great care and as to minimize what ever the inconvenience to our clients .We are grateful to our clients for cooperating with us during the renovation to upgrade our services to serve you better.

The renovation will last for toe months and it will be completed by the first week of September 3013.

We have taken a note your feed back about our front office staff during our weekly meetings and training sessions. As for Non smoking rooms .we do have a non smoking floor on the 6th floor and in addition to that we have non smoking rooms located on each level.
Our engineer has taken a note of the shower rom and AC temperature and assured that preventive measurers will be taken and apologies
for the same.

You may also be interested to learn that once our renovation plan is completed in September we will be having all our new bathroom with new look to offer in addition to our already renovated rooms to our valuable clients.

I will take pleasure in welcoming you back next time you are traveling to Muscat. We assure
you that your next stay with us will be a memorable one

Once again we do apologies for the inconvenience caused.
.
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have been often travelling to Oman. Tried couple of Hotels. For me as a business traveler, end of the day experience and the morning experience made lot of sense to stick to Al Falaj Hotel. The facilities at the price is good. In and around it has 6 places to dine and drink. The service by the house keeping is tremendous. The front office treats you very nice. A nice spread of breakfast offering Traditional, European, Srilankan and Indian fishes along with live egg counter and good spread of bakery and fresh fruits. There may be day or two of maintenance period during which some of travelers faced problem. But hey!!! I have been coming to Oman for last 2 and half year and this place rocks.
Forget the 5 stars....at this price it surely offers what a 4 star is supposed to offer and much more than its competition at Oman.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surjeetdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for clients who write to us when things are right and letting us know hoe they value our services. Thank you very much for your valuable feed back.

I am glad hear that our team has provided an excellent services and exceeded your expectations' have thanked them for the great commitment and loyalty shown to our clients.

We are a very competitively priced four star hotel in town we provide value for money service.
in comparison to most of the hotel in its class in town. We are committed in improving our services to our clients and feed back form our clients are very valuable to us.


Once again thank you very much for letting us know about your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back again in the near future to Al Falaj Hotel

Thank you
Kind Regards

Binny Ramachandra
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was recently here with a number of co-workers at the hotel. We were assured from hotel management a great deal for this 5-4 star hotel. When I arrived with e-mail in hand the duty manager would not honour the deal, the charged me a considerable amount more then promised in the e-mail.

Local wealthy Arabs or wealthy looking business men received cool refreshments while awaiting their room; however, we waited over 45 minutes and received not even an apology. The duty staff was not trained to handle multiple customers and the hotel manager neglected to tell any staff about the special rate for us.

The hotel had expensive dinning at an expensive price, good thing Pizza Hut was down the road. For a hotel that was supposed to be rated highly in Muscat, they don't even have an interact or ATM and have one cab only that is over priced seldom available.

The rooms are pokey with very small beds, similar to something you would find in a camper trailer. The bathrooms were out dated with fixtures, moldy tubs. The second floor had drywall removed so they could put buckets all over the floor so they could catch the water leaking from the walls (Mid June 2013).

The restaurants and clubs were boring with little to no locals or patrons. The location of the hotel is close to nothing..... Expect to take an expensive bad rid if you want to do anything from this hotel.

Last but not least, this hotel definitely could use some interior upgrades to its rooms, its internet, its AC..... and the duty managers could learn a lot from the guy making the omelets, because he was by far the most courteous member of the staff.

In closing, the managers could really learn a lot by going to a 2-star Muscat hotel near by to see how they treat their customers.

NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Not this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear guest
Our sincere gratitude for taking some time to write about us and letting us know when things are not right.
First of all I’m sorry for any inconvenience and distress this misunderstanding may have caused you and for not exceeding your expectations.
We have taken a note of your comments about the room rates. In a situation where by a client has booked through different channels will have a confirm reservation from the same channels confirmed to the hotel and the rates will have to honored by the hotel.
In regards to your comments about the staff and I would like to apologies on behalf of my team for any misunderstanding you may have had with our front office staff.


The hotel is one of the well know four star hotels in town for it quality and price. The hotel rates are very competitively priced and we are amid market hotel with extensive facilities. Some of our restaurants are well known for their cuisines. All our rooms meet star classifications.
The hotel has a Taxi services and call cab services. The clients can avoid waiting time by booking the taxi half an hour in advance. Hear in Muscat Fridays is a holiday and clients may experience limited taxi services and Public services will have limited timings. The hotel has gone through an extensive refurbishment program just one year ago to it is rooms, Lobby, Restaurants and we have just started refurbishing our En Suite bathrooms with modern fittings and fixtures and new interior which is due to finish in August 2013.
Please feel free to contact us directly if you are travelling to Muscat again so that we could take personal care off your next stay and exceed your expectations.

One again we thank you for letting us know your valuable feedback and we apologize for any distress you may have experience.

Look forward t to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

AL FALAJ HOTEL - CANADIAN FRIENDS BEWARE -
This 5 Star Hotel is 4 stars away from reality (in my opinion). I'm not sure if it was the 45 minute wait for my pre-arranged by email room and rate, the attempted price change despite my email in hand pricing from their reservations, or if it was the 4 rooms they had to give me in an 8 hour period to finally get an in-room internet connection with working A/C that makes me feel that this place is a dump.

Was it too much to ask this highly rated facility for Wireless Internet that works (as advertised), AC that cools my room (as advertised) or a working toilet (not advertised but assumed).

The hotel boasts 3 restaurants and several bars and pubs......all on which had nothing but crickets on its busiest day of the week (Friday).

In the end, I settled for a room with a "flush it 7 times to get rid of the turd down" toilet for the luxury of Internet and A/C. Although the staff is accommodating and tries, I think the real turd here is the Hotel Itself.

Perhaps Al Falaj should consider upgrading the basics before expending into the 90s. Of course they could just downgrade AL FALAJ to a 1-Star so customers can just not expect a 5-star result. I was here 14-15 June 13 in rooms 329, 407, 403 and 227. Am I ever tired from all the room changes. Who needs a gym when the hotel run around gives you all the Cardio you will need.

Thanks for nothing Al Falaj!

Room Tip: Find another hotel with more than 1 review......its obvious that someone is skimming the bad reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear guest,
First of all I do apologies for any frustration you may have experienced.
And would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to write about our services. We appreciate customers who let us know when things aren’t right and at the same time we appreciate the opportunity to clarify what we think has happened.

I am certainly disappointed that your stay with us was not at all that it could have been. In case of any rate difference due to room booked through on line site our standard procedure will be to charge same rate as the online site even though the hotel offers slightly cheaper rates for those who walk in or booked directly with us as online site rate to be honored by the hotel to that particular site. The special rate will be extended after the online rates reservation period.
We have discussed your positive feedback about the toilets and WI Fi with our I.T. department and engineering team.
You may also be interested to learn that this month we have just started to renovate all our bathrooms in addition to the recently refurbished bedrooms and hotel lobby and restaurants.

This four stars Al Falaj Hotel have one of the most popular dining outlets in town. Tokyo Taro our Japanese restaurant is the most well known for its cuisine in Muscat and has been the leader in its category over two decades. Our Nuts and Bolts Night Club is popular among the young professionals in town and each of our bars cater for different entertainmnet.The souk café our main Dining outlets is themed around traditional Omani Hospitality.
I would take pleasure in welcoming you back again after our refurbishment is finished in August 2013 so that you could take care of your stay and make your visits an amore memorable one.
Once again please do accept our apologies for any inconvenience or frustration it may because you and I hope the reminder of your trip to Muscat was enjoyable.
Kind regards
Binny Raamchandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Centrally located with good facilities, this hotel is an excellent choice. This hotel also boasts of one of the largest auditoriums in the city. Good and friendly staff. A nice swimming pool, gym, gift shop, multi cuisine restaurant, sports bar and variety of shops are other pluses of this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guests
Many thanks and my heartfelt appreciation for taking time to write about our services standards and quality of our products. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us .I have thanked my team for taking care of you stay and they highly value your valuable comments. We are very much pleased that we met your expectations and we look forward to see you once again in the near future.
Please do contact us when you are travelling to Muscat again and we thank you once again for your valuable feedback.
Thank you
Kind Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good hotel, very friendly staff. The best things about this hotel is the in-house facilities. Great in house restaurants, superb morning breakfast. Just that the room is very small and the near by area is residential area so not a lot to explore near-by. But hotel will keep you involved pubs, pool, restaurants all are quite good to keep you occupied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Client

Our sincere thanks for letting us know how much you have enjoyed our products and services. It indeed a great pleasure to hear from our satisfied clients. My team hear would like to thank you for taking valuable time of your to let us know when things are right. Thank you for your giving your appreciation of the services .It is great motivation to improve the services and quality of our products.
I have taken the liberty in sharing your comments with the entire team during our regular meetings.

You may also be interest to learn that we have started refurbishing our entire bathroom in addition to the recently renovated rooms. I would like to take pleasure in welcoming you back after the refurbishment in August 2013.Please feel free to contact us directly if you are visiting Muscat a again so that we could take care your stay personally.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruwi
0.8 mi away
Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat
1 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
261 reviews
8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,633 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 61 in Muscat
630 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Falaj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Falaj Hotel

Address: PO Box 2031, Ruwi 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Ruwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ruwi
Price Range: $64 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Falaj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Falaj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Falaj Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing