We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Falaj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Falaj Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Situated in Ruwi one of muscats older districts the al falaj hotel is well connected to the main highways and easy to reach. Fully air conditioned the hotel is a pleasant place to be, rooms were clean and well kept with good views of the town/mountains, wifi was available free and was quite fast. Food was served quickly and was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cipriani89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Client

We are honoured to receive your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf the team I would like to thank you for choosing Al Falaj Hotel as the most preferred Hotel and taking time off to give us your honest opinion of our services.
I do hope the remainder of your trip to Muscat was most enjoyable.
Best Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    230
    121
    28
    17
See reviews for
61
125
55
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at 01.10 in the hotel. The bar on the 8th floor was still open. Licenced! A very strange first look on Oman, full off Arabians in traditional clothes, beer in one hand, girls with nery short dress,in the other!... beside of that ok hotel for one night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bondt1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Gusts,
We thank you for your valuable opinion of our services. We are very happy that you found our services and facilities acceptable. You may also be of interest to you that we have many entertainment facilities in our hotel including authentic restaurants such as Japanese and Indian. We do have a Pub with a Trio, two ladies and one key board player in attendance. The Pub is very popular with our house guests as well as among the local citizens.
Please feel free to contact us directly if you are planning to visit Muscat again so that we may take care of your stay make your stay a memorable one.
Best Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very good hotel. Lovely lobby and great breakfast!

The bathroom was rather old and needs to be redone sometime soon.

Enjoyed my stay alot and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Client
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking time to write about us and expressing you opinion of our service. This we value very much. We have taken a positive not of your remarks. We would like to inform you that we will be refurbishing the rest of the remaining area of the hotel including Bathrooms.
One again thanks you for the feedback. I would take pleasure in welcoming you back after the refurbishment of the remaining areas in the near future.
Best Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivamogga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Hotel located near Ruwi is a nice one. Buffet breakfast provides a variety of options for travelers. The rooms are clean and the service is pretty good. Has an impressive lobby. Wi-fi facility is there but the speed is terrible. I had taken one hour package and could hardly open few pages.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinaymanyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest
We are glad you were able to enjoy your holiday to the most part. It is always a pleasure to read an in depth review left by a guest and guest comments are always welcome by our entire team.


I am pleased that you stay and the quality of the room was up to your expectations and you enjoyed the experience. I have also passed the compliments on the food to our kitchen team and the service team. I have also thanked personally the room service team for the good work for keeping room clean and meeting client’s expectations. They do work together to give every guest a satisfying experience which is of the highest quality . .

With all the good you mentioned I am disappointed to hear about the Wi Fi Connectivity., but I have already spoken our IT Department and will be looking further in to how we can improve on Wi Fi connectivity. We also provide Land Line Connected cables in every room in for Internet.

Thank you for choosing the Al Falaj Hotel; and also leaving us a review on Trip Advisor recommending us. The team here is looking forward to having you back with us whenever you are in Muscat Again.
Best Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Located in the middle of nowhere in the Indian area of town. you need taxis for everything and you can wait for more than half an hour before a taxi comes.
You can t walk anywhere, the wifi doesn t work in almost any room, the service is terrible, they barely greet you and very unfriendly atmosphere checking out today and going somewhere else

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
We regret very much to hear the disappointing experience that you had during your stay with us and wish to thank you for bringing them to our notice. We have taken very seriously the specific concerns you have brought up to our attention with regard to unfriendly staff, Wi Fi Connectivity and Availability of Taxis. All of the inconveniences faced during your stay with us have been communicated with the relevant Heads of Departments and rest assured that each aspect will be addressed accordingly.


We will take your comments as constructive criticism and trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future,
You may also be interested to learn that we are located very much in the heart of town. Very close to most of the historical and major shopping malls such as Gold Souk, Hypermarkets, Major financial institution, Central bank of Oman, Museums and the Muscat Port and some very popular restaurants in town. Most of these places and restaurants are within ten minutes by a Taxi and in some cases a five minute walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is situated very closely to old town and the historical sites.
I have already spoken to our It Manager regarding the Wi Fi and will be looking into ways of improving the Wi Fi connectivity further. We do not receive vary many complaints about the We Fi connectivity. , but I assure you that I will be looking in to it personally. However as per our IT Manager there may be certain interruption if someone is suing certain soft ware, we also provide cables connected to our land lines in every rooms incase certain computers have difficulty receiving Wi Fi Connectivity.

The hotel provide a registered public taxi cabs and also a rent a car service . To avoid delays during busy peak hours guests are advised to book taxi at least one hour in advance at the reception so that any delays can be avoided.

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and for staying at Al Falaj Hotel. Your comments will be shared amongst the team, which no doubt will help us improve our services. Your comfort is our pleasure. I would like to apologies on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us look forward to see you again. Please feel free to get in touch with us again if your are travelling to Muscat so that we may take care of your stay and make it a memorable one.

Binny Ramachandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruwi hotels

B'lore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

A bit shabby (rooms especially) with poor service standards. This was a not-so-good hotel in a lovely, middle eastern city. I decided to be wary of my belongings as a precaution.
Thumbs down. Certainly an avoid.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EyeTwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Al Falaj Hotel.
Before anything else, even almost after one year we appreciate you took the time to explain to us in detail your experience during your stay with us.
I have as well noted some of the constructive feedback you have made in relation to the room and the poor service standards of the hotel .I am very much disappointed that you stay with us was not all that it could have been. Please do get in touch with us next time you are travelling to Muscat so that I may take care of you and you next stay personally.
You may also be interested to learn that we have refurbished all our guests rooms and lobby ,Reception and restaurant areas in 2011.Yes you are correct the hotel is located in the middle of lovely city of Muscat in a very much nicer arrear near to major tourist attraction.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Al Falaj Hotel. I look forward to seeing you personally upon your return to Muscat Next Time.
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. This is a business hotel. Rooms are clean and decent but basic. Breakfast is good. Normal hotel I guess, nothing very exciting about it. Lobby is impressive and location is good. In a green area.

Room Tip: Take higher floor and mountain view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indian2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are very happy to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one. We do provide good accommodation at a very competitive price within the four star category. Once again thank you very much for spending some time to give us your comments about our hotel .We lo0ok forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Binny Ramahcnadra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruwi
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruwi Hotel
Ruwi Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ruwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 50 in Muscat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Falaj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Falaj Hotel

Property: Al Falaj Hotel
Address: PO Box 2031, Ruwi 112, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Ruwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Falaj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Falaj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Falaj Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing