We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Down”
Review of Al Falaj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Falaj Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ruwi
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A bit shabby (rooms especially) with poor service standards. This was a not-so-good hotel in a lovely, middle eastern city. I decided to be wary of my belongings as a precaution.
Thumbs down. Certainly an avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EyeTwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Al Falaj Hotel.
Before anything else, even almost after one year we appreciate you took the time to explain to us in detail your experience during your stay with us.
I have as well noted some of the constructive feedback you have made in relation to the room and the poor service standards of the hotel .I am very much disappointed that you stay with us was not all that it could have been. Please do get in touch with us next time you are travelling to Muscat so that I may take care of you and you next stay personally.
You may also be interested to learn that we have refurbished all our guests rooms and lobby ,Reception and restaurant areas in 2011.Yes you are correct the hotel is located in the middle of lovely city of Muscat in a very much nicer arrear near to major tourist attraction.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Al Falaj Hotel. I look forward to seeing you personally upon your return to Muscat Next Time.
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 556 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. This is a business hotel. Rooms are clean and decent but basic. Breakfast is good. Normal hotel I guess, nothing very exciting about it. Lobby is impressive and location is good. In a green area.

Room Tip: Take higher floor and mountain view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indian2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are very happy to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one. We do provide good accommodation at a very competitive price within the four star category. Once again thank you very much for spending some time to give us your comments about our hotel .We lo0ok forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Binny Ramahcnadra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had been here on a 2-night visit on business. The place is in Ruwi, that has many good restaurants nearby and quite close to the Mutrah corniche and souq. The rooms were alright - clean and reasonably spacious. Had food at the restaurant - breakfast spread was good - mostly continental, with one or two indian dishes. Lunch buffet was also okay (Indian food), but felt that it was a bit overpriced, compared with the other places in Muscat.
Staff at the reception was very helpful, were happy to help when I needed an adapter for my laptop charger and issues with the internet.
Overall a pleasent experience, except the traffic to Ruwi.

Room Tip: Higher floors are definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKasAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Client.
We are honored to receive valuable comments and feedback from clients such yours. I am pleased that your contact with our front office team was memorable and I have thanked them personally for this. If you are traveling to Muscat again please feel free to contact us directly. We look forward to welcome back once again.

Binny Ramachanrda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had an extra few days that we weren't expecting, so jumped in a taxi and headed to the Al Falaj Hotel as I had previously stayed there and knew it was a good hotel. Thankfully they had rooms available and they were a decent price, not increased because we were 'walk ins'. The room was clean and fresh, we changed straight away and headed to the pool, where we were the only ones, so had a great time lounging by the pool and cooling off every now and again. We stayed 2 days, enjoying meals at the hotel restaurant, where the food was delicious. We also ate at the Japenese restaurant on the top floor of the hotel next to the bar. This is a friendly hotel, with lovely food, clean facitlities and good prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzyCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guests.

Our heartfelt gratitude for taking some time off to give your feed back to us. Client’s opinion is always an important tool for us to improve our services. I am very much happy to hear that we have lived up to your expectations and as a regularly client of ours we thank you for staying with us. I have raised your experience during our service team meetings thanked all my team for the service provided to our valuable clients. I would take pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future.

Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is ok if you are wanting something nice but cheap. The hotel and room is very clean, customer service is ok. Food is pretty bad. Bed's are uncomfortable as are the pillows. Really loud at night time as the walls are paper thin. i was between 2 families with toddlers...being woken up at 3am because of a crying toddler is not what i enjoy when im on holiday! Good location though, only 5 minutes from the Muttrah Souq and the Corniche.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou85_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest

We are grateful to you for your feedback regarding our hotel. I am quite concerned about your comments about the noise .Our procedure in the event like this is to offer an upgraded room on a different floor.

We have raised your remarks about our food with our entire service team. Once again thanks you for your valuable opinion. You may interest to learn that we provide guests feedback forms in all our restaurants to get detailed food reviews in order to continuously improve our products.

Please contact us directly if you are travelling to Muscat again so that we could make your next stay with us an enjoyable and a memorable one.
Kind Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you have regular business in Mutrah Souq , this is a good place, Rated as a 3 star you would be satisfied giving value for money , if you expect 4star quality you would be disappointed. The front office staff are indifferent. The non smoking rooms are neat and clean but small. The pub blares music till 1.00 am and if your room happens to be in line , your sleep would go out for a toss.

The Manager Nasser was cooperative.

Food is average.

Overall, the place is average with potential to transcend expectations.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, insist on rooms on 6th floor, the other rooms have overwhelming fumes of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoeb Habib H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your feedback and valuable input regarding our services. I am certainly disappointed that your stay with us was not as per your expectation. I would like to apologize on behalf of my team for your stay. Our practice in the event like this is to offer you a room change to a quite Non Smoking room on a different floor.

I am pleased to know that your interaction with our team member is memorable.

It may interest you that we have refurbished all our guest rooms one year ago, to provide modern four star accommodation facilities at a very competitive price to our business and leisure clients.


We once again, thank you for sharing your valuable comments with us and we look forward to be of service to you on your next visits to Muscat make your stay a memorable one.

Kind Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The guy who reviewed his stay in this hotel in 1983 will be shocked to find that his review still applies. The hotel looks and feels like it was made decades ago with no improvements whatsoever.
Firstly, when we reached the hotel, the staff were not behaving as if they didn't care that we had paid for the services of the hotel. Even the restaurant staff behave arrogantly.
Secondly, the room was tiny and dark with no proper lighting.
Thirdly, though they said that we would get one hour internet access per day free from our rooms, the network was pathetic and we could never get connected to the Internet. Since we went on a business trip and we were not given access during office hours, we were stuck without internet for the entire trip.
The only advantage was the location of the hotel, which was close to the city center. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend this hotel even if it was free.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwasil, General Manager at Al Falaj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Your comments are highly appreciated and we thank you for sharing your views. This is the only way we could measure our service standard and exceed our guest expectations. I am certainly disappointed and quite concerned that your stay in our hotel was not up to your expectation. We do apologize for that. We have taken a positive note of this.

For the same reason, to obtain guests feed back we have placed comments cards in all our rooms as well as in all outlets. Your reference about the Internet speed is regular during peak hours due to Local networking system.

Al Falaj Hotel has undergone major refurbishments in the last one year to four start facilities. All our 140 rooms are modern and newly refurbished.

The Hotel has been a leader in its category for many years. In addition to that, our Lobby, Reception have undergone a major face lift and added three more outlets to enhance clients dining experience.

While thanking for sharing your valuable feedback, I would take pleasure in inviting the clients to contact us directly so that we may take care of your next stay and make it a more memorable an enjoyable one.


Kind Regards
Binny Ramachandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruwi
0.8 mi away
Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat
8.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,614 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 61 in Muscat
617 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Falaj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Falaj Hotel

Address: PO Box 2031, Ruwi 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Ruwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ruwi
Price Range: $68 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Falaj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Al Falaj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Falaj Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing