We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Falaj Daris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falaj Daris Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nizwa
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I agree with most if what us written in other reports. This hotel makes its money from tour groups. There weren't enough towels by the pool and no one to ask for one. Internet costs a lot extra, breakfast was very average. The room was fine and there was plenty of warm water. Wouldn't recommend it but its near the centre if Nizwa and peaceful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    134
    71
    15
    6
See reviews for
36
134
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nizwa, Oman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

What can I say that is any good about the Falaj Daris Hotel in Nizwa. BecauseI live in Nizwa, I used to go there every week-end to eat and drink. I have stopped going because they never have anything in stock and the staff are useless. The service is appalling and, if you complain to the reception or manager, the waiters have the cheek to tell you off next time you come, talk about the "customer is king"! I will give a few examples, my favourite dish is lobster, it is priced very competitively at just 9.400 OMR, less than 20 dollars and when they have it, it is copious with two halves of a largish lobster served, the best value I have found for lobster in any restaurant in the world! The trouble is they never have it! Second thing, I am single so I like to drink one or two glasses of white wine with my seafood. They do NOT sell wine by the glass only small 17.5 cl bottles, the trouble is they never have the white wine, only red or rosé. Finally, I like Heineken Extra Cold as an alternative, again they never have it, so I would have to order Carlsberg which I hate. There is another top quality hotel outside Nizwa near Birkat-Al-Mouz, where the University of Nizwa is where I work, I always go there now as it is infinitely better including the service. The buffet there is also incomparably better. I review that place on the same site. Do take a look if you can find the review. Good luck.

Room Tip: Don't stay there at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delcloque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nizwa hotels

Nevis, West Indies
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

These days, most hotel guests need internet access as much as they need a bed in their room.
It is a cheek to charge extra for internet. I realize it costs money to set up a hotel network, but surely an extra R1 to R2 on the room rates would compensate and avoid all the frustration of having to pay extra. The costs of the swimming pools (which I did not use) is factored into the room rates, so why not internet?
After paying the fee through the hotel's portal, I tried for more than 20 minutes on my laptop to log into my email account. Hotel portal kept logging me out. Eventually I went to the front desk and was directed to their so called "Business Center" where it took another frustrating 10 minutes on their in-house PC to finally get my emails.
It is a pity this experience put a dampener on what otherwise was a very pleasant stay at a really nice comfortable and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Room 40 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevisowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed overnight at the hotel and although not the most modern hotel the rooms were clean,comfortable and spacious.We had trouble with mosquitos in our room but easily rectified with a call to reception and a can of spray.We opted for the restaurant for dinner (only guests eating there)rather than the buffet.Meals were of a good standard and menu was varied.The breakfast was also plentiful but buffet don't miss the man at the side cooking omelettes to order.We used the raised seating area at the back near the pool but far enough away to relax after a day spent exploring Nizwa.Hotel obviously used by tour groups so gets busy later in the afternoon / evening.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LSDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Arrived without a booking. Was greeted by staff with charm and perfect service. Lovely comfortable room, fab shower!! Relaxing afternoon by the pool. Couldn't be more delighted by our stay. A very comfortable experience.

Room Tip: Stayed at the back ofthe hotel, Room 42 of single storey hotel, but all rooms appeared equally well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is outrageously overpriced in relation to the standard of service. Nonetheless, the place has a charm if its own, so visitors tend to cough up regardless. The only competition is from the Golden Tulip, another overpriced hotel with a lovely location but even worse service and an excreable morning buffet.

In its favour, the Falaj Daris has a wonderful calm ambience with its mature gardens and flower-filled courtyards, which are magically lit up at night. To clarify, the REAR pool is temperature controlled so delightful all year round. Many of the rooms are well appointed and peaceful. What a pity that the staff here seem so averse to their guests...

Granted, if you are a typical tour group, eg: from Germany or Dubai (arriving in the evening, sent straight to the dinner buffet, off to bed, up early for the breakfast buffet before out all day on an exhausting whirlwind tour) you are the kind of guest which this hotel appreciates. Woe betide you, however, if you do not conform. Every morning, shortly after breakfast, any lingering sunbathers are routinely assailed with great poisonous clouds of insecticide. The message is clear. As for the overall staff attitude - it can best be summed up in the phrase "EVERYTHING is too much trouble". The reception in particular is cold and unwelcoming and officious in the extreme - as if one is about to enrol in the army - but then so are most of the waiters. And just try asking for a pool towel, if you dare! In short, it is best to stay away from the staff altogether and ask for nothing - then you will enjoy your stay.

If you are travelling through to Dubai, you will be assured of a far warmer welcome and superior level of service at the Ibri Motel. The food is much better too, and all at a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Make sure not to accept one of their small, noisy and ill-maintained old rooms around the buffet are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked direct and the reception staff were very helpful. Room small but clean and comfortable. Good location 10 minutes drive from town. Breakfasts good, dinner buffet was fairly ordinary. Best feature is the outside space, two large courtyards with pools and lots of sitting out space - it gives this hotel a special feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nizwa
15.1 mi away
SAHAB Hotel
SAHAB Hotel
#3 of 6 in Nizwa
423 reviews
5.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#1 of 6 in Nizwa
360 reviews
17.1 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
2.8 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Nizwa
31 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nizwa Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falaj Daris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falaj Daris Hotel

Property: Falaj Daris Hotel
Address: | P.O.Box 312, Nizwa PC 611, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nizwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Falaj Daris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Falaj Daris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falaj Daris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing