We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omani charm”
Review of Golden Tulip Nizwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nizwa
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The name put me off as it was so un omani but v glad we went with this hotel. short trip out of town yet well worth it to get the stunning mountain scenery that seems to cradle the hotel. Welcoming drinks & fresh dates on arrival. All rooms are set around hotel pool, with opening patio doors into that central area. V good at end of day for catching last of sun. a la carte meal in outside eatery v nice..higly recommend tandoori chicken. Buffet breakfast plentiful but average quality. Suffered with several power failures on the days we were there but generator kicked in v quickly & in a strange way seemed to add to the charm of the place. Recommend over any of the other central nizwa places.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip N, Sales Coordinator at Golden Tulip Nizwa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your successful stay in our hotel. We are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed our service. At Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel we truly strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and thank you once again for your kind feedback.


Mirela Sterea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 388 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

- very nice rooms adjacent to the garden with the pool
- spacious halls all over the hotel
- lovely gift shop !! - with a marvellous selection of table cloths
- really nice breakfast, though the breakfast area was too small (strange layout of tables)
- gorgeous pool with super nice life guard caring dearly for the well-being of all guests
- nice music in the outdoor bars

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaCenterentola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip N, Sales Coordinator at Golden Tulip Nizwa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed our service. At Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel we aspire to create wonderful memories to our guests. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future and thank you once again for your lovely feedback.


Mirela Sterea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

All ok (except the highly overpriced and rather modest poolside dinner on Fridays).
Pool offers a nice chance to relax after a busy day in the Grand Canyon area.
Very nice, attentive staff.
Location of the hotel is not truly sexy (in the middle of nowhere), but ok if you have a car (which in any case is a must in the region, unless you travel with a guided group a retired German high school teachers who seem to have discovered Oman).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel itself is wonderful: great rooms, the buffet is extremely rich, decors are in some sort in local style and so on. What is misleading is the location, which is not actually in Nizwa, but along the main road very far from town (no noise from the road, however).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The front area and public areas make a nice impression. The room is ok, not great (for the price). The mattress is ok and the bathroom is clean. On arrival, a large bottle of water and a package of dry dates were left on the table.
Unfortunately, there is no washcloth in the bathroom and while shampoo is provided, hair conditioner is not (and is not available). When we called room service, staff did not know what was on the room service menu. It took several minutes for someone at the restaurant end to find a menu so that they could take our order. I like my cereal with cold milk. Staff will serve hot milk to pour on the cereal. If you prefer cold milk on your cereal, you must specify that. Staff told me that no one drinks cold milk in December. You get a strong sense that the staff have no direction and are inexperienced with foreign guests.

Meanwhile, the internet went down at 8:00 pm and service was not restored until after 12:00 pm, the next day.

This hotel is ok, but not worth the price charged.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mecorton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Rather negative comments in the travel guide (e.g. the setting, which is actually quite nice with views of the mountains), but the hotel is quite ok. A long way from the centre of Nizwa (18 km). Very nice pool area; rooms with good beds. Atmosphere of the restaurant (and breakfast room) not quite our taste and not in sync with the nice style of other areas of the hotel.
The gym is very limited (water and some towels would be very nice as well).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanshja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

When we arrived, only 1 room was booked instead of 2 and the hotel was full. The staff was very friendly and diplomatic and gave us a suite, we called it the Sultan Suite, because we had 2 rooms with kitchen, dining room and living room, just great. The decoration of the hotel is Omani style, very beautiful. The only minus : the food. The first evening we were waiting 2 hours to get our food, the second evening we made a reservation for the buffet to avoid the long waiting time. Food was not terrible. Even breakfast was the less good we experienced in Oman. We were very happy with the location of the hotel and with the hotel itself, but food wasn't a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nizwa hotels
10.4 mi away
Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
16.1 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
894 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nizwa Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Falaj Daris Hotel
Falaj Daris Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nizwa
269 reviews
10.7 mi away
SAHAB Hotel
SAHAB Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nizwa
442 reviews
12.3 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#8 of 9 in Nizwa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Nizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Nizwa

Address: Hai a Thurat, Nizwa 611, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nizwa
Price Range: $153 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Nizwa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel is a 4 star deluxe property built in the charming traditional Omani style architecture. Recently renovated, the hotel is furnished with care and beautiful taste offering all the comforts and amenities for business and leisure travellers alike. The 120 rooms property is surrounded by rugged Hajjar Mountains range and is strategically located for adventure tours through Oman's exciting interiors. The dramatic sceneries around the hotel are soften only by the renowned local hospitality. The famous Omani dates and kahwa (coffee) which welcome guests from the four winds in the lovely Sultanate are complimentary served upon arrival in our hotel lobby as well. The former capital, Nizwa, with its colourful souq and imposing fort are 10 minutes drive away. Other major attractions include the ancient mud houses of Birkat Al Mawz village, the pottery town of Bahla, fascinating Jabrin Castle and the picturesque mountain villages of Al Hamra and Misfah. At the end of all hectic explorations, you are welcomed back into the warmth and care of Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel, indulging you with traditional authentic hospitality discreetly blended with the hotel modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Nizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Nizwa Hotel Nizwa
Nizwa Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing