We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the view”
Review of SAHAB Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SAHAB Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nizwa
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A nice hotel with the most impressive view. A good relaxing atmosphere with pleasant and attentive staff.

Our room looked over the plant area which was pleasant but you can't actually see the view. The only rooms to look over the view are the deluxe ones on the upper level.

The pool looks lovely but is ice cold! My husband swam 40 lengths in it and was still cold at the end of it. There is a warm pool but not that warm compared to the temperate air temperature especially in the evening.

There is no alcohol sold in the hotel so we brought along our own coolbox of beer and we sat on our patio for a drink.

The food was mostly good but the buffet was cold in parts and some food was under cooked. The breakfast was much better with freshly made to order pancakes, waffles and omelettes! They also had lovely fire pits outside in the evening to keep you warm as the temperatue drops quite significantly so bring your jumpers!

The hotel is overall quite expensive but a standard price for Oman. Worth it for the cool temperatures and great view. Plus a great little walk through a local village available nearby.

Room Tip: Studio rooms do not face the garden area but towards a building site! Only room upstairs get a prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    179
    79
    26
    19
See reviews for
129
201
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

For anyone living in the Gulf states in summer, escaping the heat is a welcome relief. The hotel is situated on Jebel Akdar, an easy drive from the Emirates or Muscat, and a stunning drive up the mountain. A full 10C colder than in the valley. The hotel is in a superb location, spoiled only by the building of a monster hotel next door, which will dwarf it. The rooms are small, admittedly, but we found the staff very helpful. The food is getting better, and the bread is so delicious, I persuaded the staff to sell me a loaf, good fresh bread being hard to find in Oman. There is no liquor license, but your own bottles are accepted. The area is quiet, unspoilt and beautiful, and quite rural. The history of the mountain and its wars make it all the more of a special place. If you're going to Nizwa, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A bit overpriced with 130 Omani Rials=1300Dhs=around 260 Euro .The hotel itself is more a 3 star venue with poorly designed rooms in terms of interior design . We were 4, 2 adults,2children. 2 persons had to sleep on a sofaandthey gave only 1 extra blanket. Hot water in bath was not working. Breakfast sooo poor (considering this price). Main course for dinner were all cold ...noodles , french fries.etc...
Everything is just a poorly 2-3 star and compared to other hotels with nice views its just overpriced for nothing .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had lovely time at Sahab. The views from the property is truly breathtaking. The rooms are aesthetically done. The hotel blends beautifully with the landscape. We found the staff very courteous and helpful. The breakfast spread was also quite good. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the construction site of another hotel be sure to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed one afternoon and night at the Sahab as part of a three day tour. On arrival the reception was NOT welcoming contrary to the exceptional welcome we got everywhere else in 14 day stay in Oman. The receptionist was very sullen and every question asked was virtually ignored. Our guide suggested a drink as we had a long journey this was treated with disdain.

The only reason i have given a very good rating is because the views are spectacular the pool area is lovely with nice planting the hotel is new the rooms so the rooms albeit rather small were clean. I did ask if there were towels for the sunbeds and was directed to a unit with towels in a plastic bag(back from then laundry) which i had to open myself and take one out.

We had a bbq in the evening which was reasonable although i did think 4 riyals (£6.50) for a glass of juice rather expensive. There was no atmosphere in the restaurant or perhaps this is the mode of the hotel.
one redeeming aspect of the hotel was the breakfast which was individually cooked and delicious a pleasant change from the buffet breakfasts we had been having.

I would have liked to go for a small walk in the mountains which i read was available with markers but there was no information and no one seemed approachable to ask. Most people just seemed to go by themselves.

Certainly worth a 1 night stay if only for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It's one of these hotels: everything is great. Nice rooms, great location, inspiring, but a bit too expensive for the service it offers. Food isn't particularly good, but okay. It probably will take another 1-2 seasons to improve...
Example: I booked a standard room and got an email offering a another room for 40€ on top, because the other was next to a construction site. I thought, great. In the end I realized that we were only 10 guests in the hotel. I don't understand why they don't offer rooms for free in that case...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corny_dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was quite disappointed by this hotel, which lacks maintenance. We stayed in the studio for 300 dollars per night - and we had to hire a 4X4 to get there for 150 dollars as no cars are allowed to the mountains by the police-, so you expect to have at least a telephone and wifi working in you room, which was not the case, and to have a bathroom a little bit larger than just a shower with old curtains.
The view on the mountains from the hotel is nice, the villages are pretty, and it worths a visit if you're interested to understand how people live in Oman, but if I'd knew it was like that, I would go there to spend a day and go back to sleep in Muscat, which is only a 2 hours drive (the road is very good).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItaloSvevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nizwa
0.4 mi away
Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
9.9 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
738 reviews
10.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#1 of 7 in Nizwa
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Nizwa
33 reviews
15.1 mi away
Falaj Daris Hotel
Falaj Daris Hotel
#3 of 7 in Nizwa
263 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nizwa Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SAHAB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SAHAB Hotel

Property: SAHAB Hotel
Address: P.O box72 | Jabal Al Akhdar, Nizwa 621, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nizwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SAHAB Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAHAB is a unique and tranquil boutique hotel situated on the Saiq Plateau located2,004 m.above sea level on Jabal Al Akdar,overlooking a canyon that contains ancient villages and famous terrace farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your SAHAB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing