We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the sun set from the hotel !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SAHAB Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SAHAB Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Nizwa
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the sun set from the hotel !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We really enjoyed the friendly attitude of the staff and the extended stay (late checkout) to enjoy the sun set from the private terrace from the room !,

The rates are very high !!, but i guess this is the only hotel there of this standards ( remember its not even a single star hotel !!).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mohammed Mushta... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    178
    76
    23
    17
See reviews for
125
197
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
muscat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Had a great time in this beautiful hotel in Jebel Akhdar. The views are stunning, the location is relaxing and spiritual and the hotel is uniquely designed. We were very happy with the quality of food and service. I would definately recommend this to all my friends and family :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suzy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

A wonderful hotel, I didn't expect to see such standard hotel up in the mountain.
Quite, Cool, Relaxing & Beautiful location.
I've been visiting the mountain for quite some time to escape Muscat noise & summer heat 50DegC+ to a cool & relaxing place. But accommodation was an issue till this last visit.
It’s the closest place from Muscat to escape the heat, just 1hr 30min from Muscat Airport.
Clean air & wonderful atmosphere.
I loooooved it & sure will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank usama_moosawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

As a lover of the outdoors and natural luxury, I found the Sahab Hotel to be a true beauty!
Sahab Hotel has entirely adopted this new tourism concept by blending the ancient landscape of the Jabal Al Akhdar Mountains with traditional Omani architecture and an incredibly spectacular view.

Perched on the edge of a gaping canyon overlooking the green terraces of the villages below, it is not hard to take a deep breath of blissful delight as you immerse yourself in the infinity pool, watching the sun cast dramatic shadows as it sets across the opposing mountain range....

I love that there is not much around, rather just the splendour of the outdoors to go and explore. If you are into this type of travel then there is plenty to do! I highly recommend doing the 3 village walk, and Diana's view point (named after princess Di on her 1990 tour of the area) . If you want to do something a little different then the staff can organise for you to do some farming in a nearby village - not a bad job considering the million dollar views you will be working amongst! I would recommend pre-booking these

Definitely suited to those who love the outdoors and like to stay somewhere which has minimal impact on the surrounding environment

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

I booked the hotel based on favorable reviews on Tripadvisor, the quality of the pictures on the website, and the fact that it seemed a good option given the lack of outstanding hotels around Nizwa. Given the price and location outside of the main areas, I was expecting a nice and cosy boutique hotel. Far from it, the hotel is fairly basic with a minimalist decoration, even in the rooms (4* really ???), a building being built next to it, and is far from the standards one would expect from a price perspective. The only good thing is the view, which is definitely worth a look, as the hotel dominates the valley. Add to it the fact that it takes 1 hour to access it through a road in the mountains, and there are not many options in the region, going there should be considered carefully. We ended up coming back to the valley at the Golden Tulip, which is clean and ok.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank NickFromAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Based out of Oman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

As an expat living in Oman, we are all spoilt by the nice Muscat hotels such as the Chedi, the Intercon, ShangriLa, etc. At last there is a comparable hotel outside Muscat, up Jebal Akhdar, in the 10-degree-s-cooler-than-Muscat heat. Beautifully designed with natural stone, location overlooking a massive gorge with 3 picturesque villages, a lovely infinity-style pool, well designed rock gardens, nice furniture, perfect rooms, great food and really friendly and helpful staff (and owner - didnt get his name, but cool dude). The website www.sahab-hotel.com does not yet do the place justice, so we were very pleasantly surprised (and ended up staying an extra night as a result). We brought our own beer-wine as they do not yet have an alcohol license, and were allowed have it on our dinner table, so very chilled out. Roads up to the place are all in perfect condition, nice villages to visit, etc. Will be returning for sure! Oh, and free high speed wifi !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MOF1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a small hotel, on the top of the mountain in Oman. Great view, great staff, great experience.
Short drive from Muscat
Wonderful experience in Oman

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kathleenwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nizwa
9.9 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
10.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#1 of 6 in Nizwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Falaj Daris Hotel
Falaj Daris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nizwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
12.8 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Nizwa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cliff Guest House
The Cliff Guest House
#1 of 8 in Nizwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SAHAB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SAHAB Hotel

Property: SAHAB Hotel
Address: P.O box72 | Jabal Al Akhdar, Nizwa 621, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Nizwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SAHAB Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAHAB is a unique and tranquil boutique hotel situated on the Saiq Plateau located2,004 m.above sea level on Jabal Al Akdar,overlooking a canyon that contains ancient villages and famous terrace farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your SAHAB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing