We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for what you get”

Jabal Al Akhdhar Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nizwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jabal Al Akhdhar Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Nizwa B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Hotels in Oman are overpriced and this is not an exception. Rooms are OK, it is clean but dinner and breakfast are rather pathetic buffets for the price they are charging you. The second day we went round the corner to a cafe (next to the petrol station) to have some food instead and we paid for 4 people the same we would have paid for 1 person at the hotel and the food was much better!
They have opened a new hotel in the Plateau, Sahab Hotel which has a pool, the best views in the Plateau, a very good menu and great service. However, it is very expensive (around OR 75 per night).

Room Tip: Don´t stay for food
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nimonemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

As the previous reviewer stated, this was a cute and quaint hotel straight out of the 1970s. rooms were fine (give or take one or two cockroaches, to be expected in the desert) and staff friendly (apart from the head waiter in the restaurant. Perfect for a one night's stay in this amazing area. Only word of warning: watch the food in the buffet - it was mostly delicious, but we spotted that quite a bit of the chicken was very undercooked - best to avoid if you have a dodgy stomach.

Also a shame that there was no swimming pool - new hotel is being built close by which will have a pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roos1ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here for one night as part of an Oman road trip and we wished we had stayef for longer as there is masses to do in the local area in terms of sightseeing and hiking and enjoying the outdoors. The hotel reminded me of a 1970s motel - it was dated and basic but very comfortable. The price of the stay was expensive given what it is, however the place is very remote and therefore you would expect prices to be higher. The location is unbeatable and we would definitely stay there again. The food was again basic but well cooked and the staff were very friendly. We were offered an alcoholic beverage menu with our evening meal which surprised me. At breakfast there was a breakfast buffet, but eggs and toast were cooked to order. Because of the time of year we were there, it was cold, with temperatures plummeting to single digits but the rooms had air conditioner units which were also heaters. The rooms were nice and clean and the linen on the bed was lovely, but the room lacked equipment - there was no hairdryer or tea and coffee making facilities, although free mineral water was provided and there was a TV with limited channels. However we had a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

This is the only hotel on top of Jebel Al Akhdar, the "Green Mountain". It is conveniently located on the plateau. It's simple, clean and charming. We didn't expect much from the breakfast but we were pleasantly surprised. The food was really good and so fresh. The staff could have been a bit friendlier but overall we were happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmYousef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nizwa
0.0 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Nizwa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
SAHAB Hotel
SAHAB Hotel
#3 of 6 in Nizwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#1 of 6 in Nizwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falaj Daris Hotel
Falaj Daris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nizwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jabal Al Akhdhar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jabal Al Akhdhar Hotel

Property: Jabal Al Akhdhar Hotel
Address: 621 Al Jabal Al Akhdhar, Nizwa 611, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nizwa
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jabal Al Akhdhar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing