We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but OK.”
Review of Majan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Majan Guest House
Ranked #5 of 8 Nizwa B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

You pay money and get a bed, a bathroom, free WiFi and breakfast. There is really not much more to mention about this place. The prices appear high in comparison to other Hotels we stayed in. The location is convenient to explore Nizwa (by car!)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clubalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 114 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

My room was very pleasant, the bed - as others pointed out - the hardest I have ever met in a hotel, but I managed to sleep. The breakfast next door is the same every morning, but not that bad. The guys at reception are very kind. The hotel is way out of city center, so stay there only if you have a car or do not mind taking taxi all the time. No pool, no garden, wifi only works at reception. With a car, it is not a bad option, but I think, 35 for a night is too much for this category.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KisgyorgyEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

No reading lights, very small sleeping room, boring breakfast - sleep there and continue your journey! But I doubt you can make much better choices in Nizwa - hotels look all pretty much the same.
But the bed was good to sleep, rooms are clean and staff was helpful e.g. for a power plug adapter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chr_weichsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Everything is about what is to expect from a hotel in this category. Yes, it is old and worn, but functionally and clean, but the matresses were so hard that they actually prevented sleep. Breakfast was also of expected quality - decent and adequate, but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CecilieC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Wanted to stay eleswhere but found that it was booked up so decided to save a few pounds and stay here. And what a nice surprise as the hostel was quite authentic and characterful with quiet rooms and a pretty decent location. the saving paid for our slap up dinner and the hostels breakie was one of the best we had in Oman.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights. Having a car is essential to allow benefiting from its location (8 kms from the city centre but close to the motorway to Bahla). Wifi only assured in the reception area. Staff friendly. Breakfast always the same composition but more than sufficient elements. Frankincense burned in the hallway every day adds to the 'old-days' atmosphere of this building.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Old but clean place. Easy to find - just on the road from Muscat, before proper Nizwa. Professional staff, tolerable breakfest, decent internet connection (for Omani standards). Just fit for one night stay. Some people complained about hard matrasses / beds - for me it is an advantage.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal_Babilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nizwa hotels
6.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#3 of 9 in Nizwa
388 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nizwa Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Falaj Daris Hotel
Falaj Daris Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nizwa
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
892 reviews
15.4 mi away
Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
17.5 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#8 of 9 in Nizwa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majan Guest House

Address: Main Street, Nizwa 611, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nizwa
Price Range: $48 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Majan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Majan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing