We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'fivestar naturally' does'nt match up to the tagline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Nahda Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“'fivestar naturally' does'nt match up to the tagline”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The tagline for this resort is 'Fivestar Naturally'; this is where the 5 star rating ends. From the outset the resort service started out poorly, upon arrival there was no parking inside the resort due to an event, therefore the only option for resident guest was to park 5 minutes walk away in the sun, despite the resort claiming Valet parking. Then the Checkin did indeed take 30mins.
The best part for us was that we were upgraded to a premium villa which was absolutely lovely. despite a poor view and no internet the villa was great.
However the minibar was empty (despite what the brochure said), we called room service to fill it, they almost did but with every item already charged to our bill regardless of whether we drank any of it.

The facilities were pretty poor, the steam tunnel was not functional (though no sign to indicate this) even if it was functioning it was full of lizards and algae. The pool area was fine though there was a severe lack of loungers. There were only half the Jacuzzis working though both of them had around 10-20% of their tiles missing which makes for uncomfortable sitting. We tried to hire bikes as the resort is quite expansive but instead of being free with a refundable deposit as claimed in the brochure the staff member seemed to claim it was a fixed non-refundable fee, this was despite my partner being able to communicate with them in native tongue.

The largest let down was the evening meal, the resort claims 3 restaurants and a bar, of the 3 restaurants only one was open, the others appeared not to have been open in months, the one which was open only served a fairly limited buffet charged at 16 RO (£20) per person, there was no al a carte options which was quite frankly disgusting. In fairness we could have had room service which was al a carte. We made our way to the bar for a nightcap, apparently it was a wine night, though it was full of men only with the only women being from the live music. Not overly family or couple friendly.

We did not end up using the spa as only one person was working meaning we would have to wait a long time for availability which was a problem with a quick weekend break from muscat.

Considering the availability of quality real 5* resorts in Oman which are a similar fee we will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    107
    51
    28
    36
See reviews for
102
92
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed there last week for 2 nights and though its a bit away from city, its damn difficult to reach there as there is lot of traffic. We stayed in the premium villa and it was quite clean and nice but our villa was far away and we had to ask for buggy everytime we leave the villa as its far from the reception, restaurant and swimming pool. There was a weird smell in the villa so had to get a air freshner to spray in the room.. We had dinner at their only restaurant, dint have much options but the quantity was a lot and food was really good..the waiters were clumsy and werent very helpful..The first day at the resort, the breakfast was really good and there were hardly any people living in the resort so it wasnt crowded and we enjoyed it. The second day, there was a huge crowd in the restaurant for breakfast and the breakfast was really bad, it looked like they kept yesterdays breakfast which wasnt fresh at all!! Even the room wasnt cleaned even though we kept the sign outside saying to clean our room.. had to call housekeeping to come clean the room..the staff is so slow and the resort hardly have enough staff to get things done.. The swimming pool was nice and the resort is very environment friendly but kids play area, the furniture outside near the parks and gardens need cleaning as it has bird poop everywhere.. also stray cats were around.. Even the reception desk takes a long time to pick up the call as they dont have anyone sitting in their front desk all the time...The resort is nice in terms of stay but expected more!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinamDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

The check-in was slow and the desk staff was rude and unconcerned. However the rest of the stay was nice. It is in the middle of nowhere which is nice, but the taxi driver had a very difficult time locating it. Off the beaten path. Make sure you have good directions for any taxi driver if you're arriving at Muscat airport. Not many seem to know where this is and it's a hassle.
No city sounds, just birds and the occasional interruption of serenity by the local mosques who belt out their disruption 5 times a day. Keep you windows closed and you won't be bothered. A/C in the rooms are excellent and the bed is very comfortable. They only have wife in the pool area, the restaurant and the hotel lobby. NO wifi in the rooms. This is good to know ahead of time.
You have your own villa and it is roomy. Everything seems to be clean and very spacious grounds if you like walking. Everything is spread out nicely and lots of privacy. The pool area is nice too.
I would stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rkbucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Al Nahda Resort during March. The resort was a chance discovery while browsing through places looking for a different place to stay.

The resort is around 40 minutes drive form the Seeb airport and taxis charge 15 omani riyals. On entering the resort, the sheer greenery of the resort and the scent of the mango trees hits your senses. Its a perfect nature resort with chirping birds all around. The facilities in the resort are a bit run down but that somehow adds to the character of the nature resort. Expect less glitz factor in this resort. Wifey used the spa and she was all praise.

The one factor that the resort needs to seriously put efforts is in its staff training. On more than one occassion, we found the staff to be obstinate and not listening to the needs of its guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek_Saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for a night to celebrate our Valentine and it was flawless! We should thank Mr. Afsal Ahmad the Duty Manager for making our stay very pleasant and memorable. Such a true hospitality ambassador, he gave us the warmest welcome upon our check-in time, he helped my fiance to make sure the dinner and special room amenities arrangement were set to surprise me and he personally bid us the farewell before we left the resort. We thank Mr. Arup the Front Office Manager, Dr. Mary Ann the Director of Spa, Ishan and Manjula the Life Guards for making our stay so special. It was our 4th stay and definitely we will come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shesaidred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The moment you walk into the resort it feels like you are in another world, so green and huge. From the main gate to reception, to the room, the statf is so friendly and professional. I was too tired the 1st night to eat in the restaurant and ordered room service. Food came quick and the it was delicious. Next evening I went to the Khalab restaurant and the staff was super nice and my meal was great, the menu variety is more than adequate. Next day i booked myself a spa, had the Al Nahda signature massage done by Betty, I definitely will recommend her, strong and good. I will definitely recommend my friends to visit this hidden paradise

Room Tip: Ask for the premium rooms, large and individual private villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babelaas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife an I first visited Al Nahda last year, and unfortunately it was during a severe storm and the resort had a lot if flooding, as did everywhere else in the region. So we returned and visited for my Birthday at the start of February. A more relaxed, pleasant and value for money trip, we could not have wished for. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we were treated with efficiency, courtesy and friendly greetings.
We attended the Spa every day and that has been a wonderful experience for my wife and I. The treatment, advice, spa areas, all under the guidance of Dr Mary Ann has had us return again already this month. Yes there were some functions on, but it did not detract from our visit and peace whilst we relaxed ourselves. Yes there could be a bigger selection of eating venues available, but when we requested specialist meals (as I have a sever allergy to some foods) the chefs were exemplary and provided us with some of the best food we have eaten in Oman.
The open spaces and greenery are its attraction. The fact to have to walk a little distance to and from differing areas is nice and got us both out in the fresh air.
The treatments and follow ups from the Spa have been wonderful and have given both my wife and I goals to aim for in our own fitness quests.
The rooms both the Executive we booked for the second visit and the Premium for our first were both very well appointed with a nice range of toiletries available. Bathrooms are looking a little tired, but nothing so bad as to warrant a complaint.
The main point I have found, having been in Oman some years now, is that for the treatments and Spa you would end up paying two to three times the amount in Muscat itself, and be treated as just a number, I have been and tried most. The Spa in Al Nahda treats you as an individual guest and tend to your every requirement. The whole experience there is far better than any I have had at any of the bigger named hotels in Muscat itself.
I have marked breakfast down to average, simply because on the days we stayed there was a big function on, and there was only a small selection of items available for breakfast. However a request for anything extra was satisfied very quickly if requested.
If your looking for peace and quite, and to step away from it all for a while and forget everything, the Al Nahda Resort and Spa is the place to book for value for money and relaxation.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all three main room types here and all are equally comfortable. I have had my best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaerisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barka
21.9 mi away
Millennium Resort Mussanah
Millennium Resort Mussanah
#1 of 1 in Al Mussanah
875 reviews
18.7 mi away
Dunes by Al Nahda
Dunes by Al Nahda
#2 of 2 in Barka
45 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muscat Al Seeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Ramee Dream Resort
Ramee Dream Resort
#42 of 56 in Muscat
20 reviews
22.6 mi away
Oman Palm Hotel Suites
16.1 mi away
Hotel Summersands
Hotel Summersands
#4 of 5 in Seeb
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Nahda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Property: Al Nahda Resort & Spa
Address: PO Box 502 | PC 320, Barka 320, Oman
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Barka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Nahda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of thirty acres of gardens, enclosed by sprawling greens and clusters of mango trees, Al Nahda Resort & Spa provides the ultimate in tranquillity and relaxation. The resort's 109 rooms are designed in apartment, free-standing villa and bungalow styles and boast some of the largest rooms in Oman. The Eram Spa is one of the most unique spa concepts in the Middle East with more than 60 treatments offering wellness and healing therapies, as well as signature treatments and a host of other relaxing, medical and rejuvenating experiences. Three restaurants and two bars provide a variety of eating and drinking choices for all guests. For those looking to keep fit, our gym with 24 state-of-the-art machines, provides the latest facilities. Additional facilities include two floodlit tennis courts, a sand volleyball court, a dedicated children's play, underground meditation centre, steam tunnel, spa baths, amphitheatre, large swimming pool, 30 acres of gardens, Room service and the Eram Spa with 22 separate treatment rooms. Located a 30-minute drive from Muscat International Airport, Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the ideal setting for a relaxing break, away from downtown, though in the Muscat area, and surrounded by a selection of trees and nature to provide the perfect tranquil atmosphere.Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the Sultanate of Oman's first and only Preferred Boutique hotel, part of the Preferred Hotel Group, showcasing distinctive travel experiences in some of the most exceptional hotels and resorts around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Al Nahda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Nahda Hotel Barka
Al Nahda Resort And Spa
Al Nahda Resort & Spa Oman/Barka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing