We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Al Nahda Resorts& Spa,Barka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Nahda Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at Al Nahda Resorts& Spa,Barka”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Around 22 TKM Alumni families went to Al Nahda resorts & spa during National holidays.we were very happy with overall experience at resort.staffs were very cordial and tried their best to make our stay comfortable.only dinner was more on western side, wish we had more veg/non veg indian dishes.everyone felt refreshed after stay.could utilise all facilities at resort like cycling,swimming pool,gym,volleyball,spa and so on.Thanks once again and keep up good job.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    105
    49
    27
    36
See reviews for
100
90
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Al Nahda Resort n Spa is the best resort in Oman and just 45 min away from Muscat City. You can enjoy all the facilities at the resort n not to miss the Spa treatment which is relaxing and one of the best in the region. The restaurant ambience is good n welcoming, at the same time the food is delicious and has a wide spread.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rups73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrweiler
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Al Nahda claims to be a top level 5 star resort. We found a spacious and nicely furnished room in a garden villa, being more an a four star level anyway.
The hotel area is rather big, so you have to walk long distances e.g. to the pool. The garden is nice but not the promised "sea of flowers" we were advertised with.
At our time (November 2103) the resort was only booked by ~ 20 %, one restaurant was closed, the others mostly empty.
We did not have wifi on the room, and only slow open wifi at the reception.
The service was not very good, so we had to wait 1 hour for our room to be prepared, although the hotel was mostly empty. Same, by the way, happened to other guests who arrived at 1:30 p.m. and also had to wait for their room to be finished.
The hotel is far away from the city, in the "middle of nowhere". You do not reach anything juist by walking outside.
All in all: significantly below what we would assume when we look at the classification and description. Rather expensive.

Room Tip: Try to get one close to the pool and the restaurant area in the back part, otherwise you will have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in October, during Eid holidays. On the whole, the experience was a positive one: this is a perfect place to leave the buzz of the city life behind and truly relax. The hotel boasts lots of greenery and this is 100% true. A big territory encourages walking, and the scent from the trees, bushes, and flowers is ravishing. The size of the rooms is fully satisfactory and leaves nothing to be desired, the furniture is not new but in a very decent condition, and the bed is soft as silk.
As for the cons, there are 3 major points that can affect the stay in this hotel:
1. The location: it is located around 45 minutes away from Muscat, near a village or a small town of Barka, and Barka has no attractions at all. Moreover, there are several road construction projects in Barka itself and on the way to Barka from Muscat.
2. The food: I can't complain about breakfast, but there are literally no places to eat apart from a single restaurant in the hotel, neither in the hotel nor in Barka. We were forced to buy pizza or rice from Lilu supermarket to vary our meals. The restaurant in the hotel is quite expensive, and the quality of the food for lunch or dinner is not worth this money.
3. The service: the staff at the reception hardly ever heard about the quality of the service. They could not help with some simple issues like advising a company to rent a car or providing a plug for the bath. The service is generally slow. However, to be fair, I need to mention a friendly guy who ensured quick check-in and check-out. The hotel provides bicycles for rent, but they are not enough for all visitors, so remember to book yours in advance.
It should also be remembered that the hotel is not near near the sea, it takes approximately 35-40 minutes to reach a clean beach suitable for swimming.
T sum up, If you want to forget about the noise and crowds or plan a romantic getaway, then this hotel is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariam_22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed in bad hotels, no doubt, but this is the worst I've ever experienced!

Food: terrible!
Rooms: terrible, old, no AC, dirty!
Staff: totally understaffed, not properly trained!

Before my wife and me travelled to this place, we have checked the comments here on Tripadvisor, some of them bad, some of them very good! But it seems, that they write their positive comments by themself, as I have just seen a rutine in it! 1 bad comment is followed by 2 good comments! This is a shame and a fraud!

Close this place, the earlier the better! Never ever again!

My advise: DONT GO THERE, ITS A WASTE OF MONEY!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barka hotels

Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have been to this resort earlier for various events. So this is my first overnight stay during eid holidays. We were a big group and booked 4 rooms. The resort location is good and its a 45 min drive from Muscat. With roadwork on a bit confusing to get there. No clear marking on the road. The resort is well planned and villas are spacious. Though it is run down and needs repair. The rooms are far from the reception so you have to wait for buggies. When it was time for check out we had to make repeated calls for the buggies and they arrived after 45 min. The rooms are spacious and even after we put extra beds there was space to move around. The furniture and curtains are old. Bathrooms are not so clean and smelly. The pool is quite popular on weekends and gets crowded. The spa experience made a difference to our stay. Dr Maria and her team specially Ashamol were excellent. Most of us went for massage and it was good and relaxing. Because of eid holidays, difficult to get an appointment. Need to pre book next time. Food is just average. Food at Al Nahda has never been impressive. Breakfast at restaurant was crowded and difficult to get a table. I feel staff were overwhelmed by the number of guests. They are used to quiet weekdays and don't have too many staff. Also a bit more training required in handling guests. Al Nahda has an excellent location with a big lawn for events and lots of open space. Wish the management will improve their service and spruce up the place so it meets a 5 star standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The reception is small and nice persons in service. The rooms are large and have bamboo and wooden furniture. The surroundings are green and quiet. Excellent Spa . Food is ala carte or buffet. Pool is nice and good temperature. Can rent bikes for going around. Large space . The gym is very large and modern

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NStar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barka
18.7 mi away
Dunes by Al Nahda
Dunes by Al Nahda
#2 of 2 in Barka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
21.9 mi away
Millennium Resort Mussanah
Millennium Resort Mussanah
#1 of 1 in Al Mussanah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muscat Al Seeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#1 of 6 in Nizwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
22.2 mi away
Eastin Residences Muscat
20.4 mi away
Remas Hotel Suites
Remas Hotel Suites
#1 of 4 in Seeb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Nahda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Property: Al Nahda Resort & Spa
Address: PO Box 502 | PC 320, Barka 320, Oman
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Barka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Nahda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of thirty acres of gardens, enclosed by sprawling greens and clusters of mango trees, Al Nahda Resort & Spa provides the ultimate in tranquillity and relaxation. The resort's 109 rooms are designed in apartment, free-standing villa and bungalow styles and boast some of the largest rooms in Oman. The Eram Spa is one of the most unique spa concepts in the Middle East with more than 60 treatments offering wellness and healing therapies, as well as signature treatments and a host of other relaxing, medical and rejuvenating experiences. Three restaurants and two bars provide a variety of eating and drinking choices for all guests. For those looking to keep fit, our gym with 24 state-of-the-art machines, provides the latest facilities. Additional facilities include two floodlit tennis courts, a sand volleyball court, a dedicated children's play, underground meditation centre, steam tunnel, spa baths, amphitheatre, large swimming pool, 30 acres of gardens, Room service and the Eram Spa with 22 separate treatment rooms. Located a 30-minute drive from Muscat International Airport, Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the ideal setting for a relaxing break, away from downtown, though in the Muscat area, and surrounded by a selection of trees and nature to provide the perfect tranquil atmosphere.Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the Sultanate of Oman's first and only Preferred Boutique hotel, part of the Preferred Hotel Group, showcasing distinctive travel experiences in some of the most exceptional hotels and resorts around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Nahda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Nahda Resort And Spa
Al Nahda Hotel Barka
Al Nahda Resort & Spa Oman/Barka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing