We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but service needs to improve.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Nahda Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had stayed at the resort for a night with friends and left the place with mixed opinions.There are some very good things about the place, so the good things first;

1. The rooms are very spacious and very well laid out.
2.The place has been landscaped exceptionally well.
3.The housekeeping staff (whenever we got to see them), were very polite & helpful.
4.The spa is the main USP of the place......and the treatments come highly recommended.

The areas which need improvement;

1. The reception seems understaffed and check in / check out took a very long time.
2.During my entire stay, my intercom was not working........despite several reminders and visits to the reception to complain about the same.........every visit to the reception involved a walk of 20 minutes.
3.The bicycles at the resort were in a very poor condition and all of them needs to be replaced at the earliest......it is a surprise that guests have to pay 5 RO to use them.
4. The food is awful and i would go on to suggest that you order for pizzas from a pizza hut which is located close by.........also, they charge 5 USD for a bottle of water at the restaurant.
5.The buggy service is very poor and if the resort wants people to return in future, they should certainly do something about it.
6. The steam tunnel (a wonderful concept) looked like it has not been in use for the past few months.......which is a pity.

Having noted all these negative aspects, i would still look forward to my next visit......mainly because of the serene surroundings and the spa.......also kids (2-8yrs) can have a nice time......older kids might find the place a little boring.

Room Tip: One should definitely opt for a room near the swimming pool as they spa and the restaurant are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnahdaresort, Manager at Al Nahda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Al Nahda Resort & Spa!

We are saddened to read your stay did not meet your expectations of us. Please be rest assured that wherever possible we will follow up with the various departments, taking all necessary corrective steps. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and we do strive for the high standards.
We thank you for the feedback and do hope that when ever you visit us again you and your family will have a memorable time with us.

Regards,

Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 346 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Al Nahda Resort & Spa for 2 nights and 3 days, 8 adults and 5 kids. We checked into the property at around 3pm, pretty smooth but disappointed that we were not allocated rooms next to each other despite having made a group booking. This was changed later on the same night. The place itself is lovely, beautiful large property with lush greenery. The rooms were very large and the beds were super comfy with a sofa bed in each of the rooms with an ordinary bathroom and a small kitchenette. The grounds were well groomed and well maintained, trimmed lawns and fab pool. The spa treatments were nice too though the much hyped most expensive treatment was far too short with no proper massage involved.
What was dreadful was the staff in the all day dining restaurants. They were grumpy, untrained, rude and argumentative. A simple request for joining the tables was met with a long diatribe as to why it will not be done. The food was nothing much to write home about but the desserts made up for the lack of any nice main course items. On the first night, one of the restaurant staff spent most of his time either hiding in one corner of the restaurant or on the mobile phone. Room service was once super prompt and the next time they did not show up at all. House keeping was not organized either. They cleaned the rooms but forgot to replace the towels and toiletries. The towels came upon our request but the toiletries never came-thank god for that as we had our own toiletries but not our own towels.
Over all, the place is great with plenty of room for the kids to play and adults to chose to either chill our or get physical. The yoga was great and there were several other group activities to chose from.
It is a great place for a relaxing weekend but a little attention to detail and staff that are well trained will really make this one of the best resorts in Oman.

Room Tip: We stayed in the detached single storied villas. They were lovely with total privacy, were in the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lollas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnahdaresort, Manager at Al Nahda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Al Nahda Resort & Spa!

We are humbled by the feedback given by you. We have taken note of the feedback regarding the restaurant and we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience.
We take pride in our Restaurants but your feedback will help us improve our services in a much better way.
We are hopeful that in your future visit you will enjoy every moment at Al Nahda Resort & Spa.

Regards,

Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The stay was very comfortable. Especially family and children will enjoy stay. It makes you feel mixed with nature. The rooms are good and neat with all amenities.The Gym, Spa and swiming pool and neat and well equiped. One more chance I would like to spend week end.

Room Tip: Stay away from busy city crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narikottil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnahdaresort, Manager at Al Nahda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Al Nahda Resort & Spa!

We are happy to know that your family had a perfect weekend and a great family time. We look forward to welcome you back to the resort. we are pleased to inform you that we have started some new activities for children and for families.

Should there be anything that we can be of assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,
Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a week-end stay at this resort and had a great time. A few of our friends with family stayed here for one-night. We had a great time at pool. The entire area was well maintained. Planning to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SudheerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnahdaresort, Manager at Al Nahda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Al Nahda Resort & Spa!

We are pleased to know that yourself and your friends had a great time with us. We look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Should there be anything that I can be of assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,
Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had a fantastic vacation in the resort. Spa facility is of superb quality. I wish I could be a localite to avail this facility forever :). Anyways, their golf course is one of the highlight. We spent good time there. Would love to come here again in my next visit to Oman.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrina355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnahdaresort, Manager at Al Nahda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you had a fantastic time at the Spa. We would be pleased to welcome you back to the resort.

Should there be anything that we can be of assistance please do not hesistate to contact us.

Best Regards,
Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Dont beleive the bad reivews I've stayed in Oman for 11 Years this is the best hotel here everything is reasonably priced service great The employees were very bright and happy to help . The food in the restaurant is very tasty and took 15 min to come .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hamlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spent one night at the resort during a weekend break. Was positively surprised by the big rooms/houses surrounded by big parks and relaxing nature.
Service was good although we had some issues while checking out .
The pool is great and you will definitely feel outside Oman for a bit. We had an open sea-food diner buffet which was close to a 5 star hotel one.
The only thing missing was the beach.. however recommended for a nice relaxing weekend outside Muscat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hich_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barka
18.7 mi away
Dunes by Al Nahda
Dunes by Al Nahda
#1 of 2 in Barka
66 reviews
21.8 mi away
Millennium Resort Mussanah
Millennium Resort Mussanah
#1 of 1 in Al Mussanah
992 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Summersands
Hotel Summersands
#4 of 5 in Seeb
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Oman Palm Hotel Suites
0 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#37 of 61 in Muscat
57 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muscat Al Seeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Nahda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 502 | PC 320, Barka 320, Oman
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Barka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Price Range: $105 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Nahda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of thirty acres of gardens, enclosed by sprawling greens and clusters of mango trees, Al Nahda Resort & Spa provides the ultimate in tranquillity and relaxation. The resort's 109 rooms are designed in apartment, free-standing villa and bungalow styles and boast some of the largest rooms in Oman. The Eram Spa is one of the most unique spa concepts in the Middle East with more than 60 treatments offering wellness and healing therapies, as well as signature treatments and a host of other relaxing, medical and rejuvenating experiences. Three restaurants and two bars provide a variety of eating and drinking choices for all guests. For those looking to keep fit, our gym with 24 state-of-the-art machines, provides the latest facilities. Additional facilities include two floodlit tennis courts, a sand volleyball court, a dedicated children's play, underground meditation centre, steam tunnel, spa baths, amphitheatre, large swimming pool, 30 acres of gardens, Room service and the Eram Spa with 22 separate treatment rooms. Located a 30-minute drive from Muscat International Airport, Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the ideal setting for a relaxing break, away from downtown, though in the Muscat area, and surrounded by a selection of trees and nature to provide the perfect tranquil atmosphere.Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the Sultanate of Oman's first and only Preferred Boutique hotel, part of the Preferred Hotel Group, showcasing distinctive travel experiences in some of the most exceptional hotels and resorts around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Al Nahda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Nahda Hotel Barka
Al Nahda Resort And Spa
Al Nahda Resort & Spa Oman/Barka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing