We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Nahda Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Dont beleive the bad reivews I've stayed in Oman for 11 Years this is the best hotel here everything is reasonably priced service great The employees were very bright and happy to help . The food in the restaurant is very tasty and took 15 min to come .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hamlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spent one night at the resort during a weekend break. Was positively surprised by the big rooms/houses surrounded by big parks and relaxing nature.
Service was good although we had some issues while checking out .
The pool is great and you will definitely feel outside Oman for a bit. We had an open sea-food diner buffet which was close to a 5 star hotel one.
The only thing missing was the beach.. however recommended for a nice relaxing weekend outside Muscat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hich_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I found this property pretty nice terms of comfort and value.

The basic rooms are all “semi suits" size/ layout. The property is located about one hour drive from the airport.
The property is an ideal spot for afamily or couples looking for some calmness and private time.

Plus points are:

- Comfort wise room are good. Layout of room, bed and furniture is nice and gives a good aesthetic.
- Very nicely done landscaping, green lawns and walk ways. Gets in a great amount of
positive energy in you! one can breathe in some fresh air as there is a feeling of calmness.
Get a bike and go around..even walking is good - if weather permits
- Breakfast is pretty decent and has some good selection.
- Nice pool and a lot to do for kids
- Spa seems nice but dint get to try
- smoking free property
- price wise a great bargain
- Check in check out is quick and staff is profession but not exactly “warm” as they should be specially the reception staff.
- Decent in room dining.
- Service over all is decent except the in room dining staff.. they don’t come to pick up plates for hours!

Negatives

- no wifi or internet in rooms. you need to sit in the lobby or the restaurants to access wifi internet. Seems the hotel has a policy of "relax from work also" no internet in rooms!
- televisions are the old tube ones.. no flat screens.
- bathrooms are a bit dated and toiletries are really sub-standard including towels
- no newspapers delv to rooms only available at lobby or coffee shop
- no close by attractions as hotel is at an isolated spot.

over all i still feel good about my stay and was very relaxed at the end of it.

Room Tip: I will state is a good property for max 2 days and as a very good options against available hotels n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family enjoyed a weekend stay in a cottage at the Al Nahda Resort & Spa, situated in Barka, on the outskirts of Muscat. The lush greenery added to a refreshing stay.

Being a sprawling resort, the statues at the Laughing Park are quite scary at night. Buffet food is high priced during the weekend but a la carte meals are reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Nothing in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunildcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I decided to go Oman as we always travel to Dubai. We just wanted a relaxing resort to just unwind and not feel rushed. The problem is that This place is so relaxing and theres NOTHING to do at all. The room is huge and beautiful and very peaceful (The TV could have been updated as it is a huge room with a tiny TV in the centre) The problem is when we left our doors its just a huge park. We can hire bikes for £10 and ride it around the resort. The bikes were all so badly damaged I did not feel safe at all riding them. I tried to book myself into a spa they were ALL full (weekends get busy at the spas) Than she told me she can slot me into a very late one, which I was not to keen on.

The pool was huge but had too many dead flies and ants in them. The food by the pool was disgusting and just microwave chips.

The hotel was a little far from the centre. We had to leave the resort for some sanity and it cost £40 going and £40 coming back so thats like £80 return! which is alot money and luckily thats the cheapest we can get. Make sure you ask the price before you get in the taxi. I over heard other people getting charged £60 -£80 which is just way too much!

The breakfast was disgusting and bland. The bread and cakes were rock hard. I did not enjoy my breakfast at all.

I would definitely stay closer to the city next time. This place is good for older people that just want to walk in the gardens, or families with little children as theres a little play park for them.

Room Tip: A bungalow suite is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lameece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Al Nahda Resort & Spa, located on the outskirts of Muscat city, about 40 minutes drive from the Muscat International Airport is a popular weekend destination for Muscat residents.


Set amidst lush greenery, the sprawling complex with well-furbished cottage type accommodation makes for the ideal weekend getaway. Al Nahda Resort & Spa has good spa facilities and what better way to relax than with a massage or a swim in the pool.

Accommodation cost is slightly on the higher side. Normal a la carte menu is priced right but weekend buffet dinners work out expensive. Also the resort has an eerie feeling at night and first time visitors would prefer to have an early dinner and stay indoors. One can request for a cycle or wait for the resort’s transport to travel within the complex. Summer is usually a slack season but the packages are good.

Room Tip: Go in for a cottage all to yourself instead of the one-storey ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoniMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fantastic place to enjoy ur weekends and short holidays. Spacious room, huge king size beds,great ambience, good spread of buffet breakfast, clean and well maintained
Great place to be in with family.u have cycles to roam around the place which is very unique. Pool side bar is great but little expensjve.
Spa is great here. U should not miss this

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baburajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barka
21.9 mi away
Millennium Resort Mussanah
Millennium Resort Mussanah
#1 of 1 in Al Mussanah
916 reviews
18.7 mi away
Dunes by Al Nahda
Dunes by Al Nahda
#1 of 2 in Barka
55 reviews
22.2 mi away
Eastin Residences Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muscat Al Seeb
22.6 mi away
Oman Palm Hotel Suites
16.1 mi away
Hotel Summersands
Hotel Summersands
#4 of 5 in Seeb
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Nahda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 502 | PC 320, Barka 320, Oman
Location: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Barka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Price Range: $102 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Nahda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of thirty acres of gardens, enclosed by sprawling greens and clusters of mango trees, Al Nahda Resort & Spa provides the ultimate in tranquillity and relaxation. The resort's 109 rooms are designed in apartment, free-standing villa and bungalow styles and boast some of the largest rooms in Oman. The Eram Spa is one of the most unique spa concepts in the Middle East with more than 60 treatments offering wellness and healing therapies, as well as signature treatments and a host of other relaxing, medical and rejuvenating experiences. Three restaurants and two bars provide a variety of eating and drinking choices for all guests. For those looking to keep fit, our gym with 24 state-of-the-art machines, provides the latest facilities. Additional facilities include two floodlit tennis courts, a sand volleyball court, a dedicated children's play, underground meditation centre, steam tunnel, spa baths, amphitheatre, large swimming pool, 30 acres of gardens, Room service and the Eram Spa with 22 separate treatment rooms. Located a 30-minute drive from Muscat International Airport, Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the ideal setting for a relaxing break, away from downtown, though in the Muscat area, and surrounded by a selection of trees and nature to provide the perfect tranquil atmosphere.Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the Sultanate of Oman's first and only Preferred Boutique hotel, part of the Preferred Hotel Group, showcasing distinctive travel experiences in some of the most exceptional hotels and resorts around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Al Nahda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Nahda Hotel Barka
Al Nahda Resort And Spa
Al Nahda Resort & Spa Oman/Barka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing