We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
61
22
11
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
22
11
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hudson river my boyfriend yogurt beautiful room historic building amazing location interesting architecture looking forward to going back comfy bed kaaterskill falls get away willow trees happy jakes outdoor restaurant river front restored hotel summer
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 107 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2018

We had dinner at the Stewart House this afternoon. Great pate plate, hummus, and burger. The burger in particular was very well made. We look forward to trying out the rest of the menu.
The service and the ambiance are outstanding. This is a great place to visit.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart H, General Manager at Stewart House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Thanks John! Glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

My friend and I spent a night here on a road trip up to the Catskills. We had a lovely time; the rooms are beautiful and the house is located across from a bar and restaurant which happened to have a fantastic show going on when we arrived, so we spent the evening dance under the stars to live music before coming back to sleep in our beautiful room. Definitely recommend!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart H, General Manager at Stewart House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Thanks Amanda! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

This space is such a hidden gem on the other side of Hudson. The outdoor bar and restaurant is fun on the weekends and of course they are always booking amazing music, thanks to the owner's history and connections in the business. This is photo shoot worthy backdrops in the rooms and downstairs spaces. If you were shooting a film or needed an amazing destination, this place would be great to take over the space.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachelevine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart H, General Manager at Stewart House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Rachel ~ thank you for your lovely review. So glad to hear we're meeting expectations.
We hope you join us when our inside tavern opens in a few weeks. 10/12/18

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We can't speak to the hotel part of their business as we came for dinner only upon a recommendation. The only choice of where to eat was outside in a pavilion area beside the Hudson River. That was special. However I found myself getting up to actually flag down a server as we were sitting around a little too long without attention. The problem there is that the outdoor grill area on site was too small and not adequately staffed to handle the large number of people seated at once with all the available tables. The food comes out slowly and service becomes slow. We finally got our food which was good but nothing remarkable. This was not a fine dining experience which we were led to believe.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PZFLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

After reading trip advisor reviews, we knew we would find the innkeeper at the The River, their outdoor restaurant across the street from the Stewart House. We had a great lunch (steamed clams, kielbasa and brushetta) there while enjoying the swaying willow trees, the lake and the lively atmosphere. Innkeeper, Kim (and hostess at The River) walked us across the street to the Inn to Room #8....most beautiful and well appointed B&B room we have ever stayed in!!!! Lovingly restored, beautiful view of the river, amazing tub, comfy bed, robes, slippers, wet bar (very unique) incredible lighting, upscale toiletries and so much more!! The Stewart house had a full make over in 2018, minimal and beautiful. A comfy place, not fussy and overbearing. Staff friendly and very accomodating. Loved the little communal breakfast on the second floor. Have never had such amazing homemade granola before and the yogurt to die for. They did everything right. Can't wait to return!!

Room tip: You have to stay in Room 8!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank donnamessina6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart H, General Manager at Stewart House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for your kindhearted review. We are so proud of what we have built is this unique historic hotel.
Please visit us again, we would love to share with you as we keep growing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews