We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
61
22
11
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
22
11
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hudson river my boyfriend yogurt beautiful room historic building amazing location interesting architecture looking forward to going back comfy bed kaaterskill falls get away willow trees happy jakes outdoor restaurant river front restored hotel summer
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 107 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Stewart House it’s opening weekend—Newly renovated, new owners. My room was spacious and comfy. Bath was great. Like everywhere in the mid Valley there’s a bit of a hipster vibe but it’s also sophisticated in good ways. Wonderful patio restaurant across the street is part of the scene.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank rebeccahZ7544VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart H, Owner at Stewart House, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Hi Rebeccah -
Thank you so much for joining us for our opening weekend! We're glad you were also able to enjoy The River Grill. We are still putting the finishing touches on the hotel so come back and see us soon! - Lois & Lon Ballinger, Stewart House Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Old building (as you would expect in Athens). Rooms are done up with a sort of contemporary-rustic vibe. Wasn't a big fan of the rough wood floors in the room. Bathroom and beds were pretty good. No central air and AC unit was having a bit of trouble keeping the temperature down.

Would recommend as a place to stay in Athens. The bar across the "street" is owned by the hotel and has nice river views and a cool hangout spot. It looks like they have some good bands play there and the park next door, although none were there this weekend.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Have stayed here three times, during different times of the year. I find the summer the best. Happy Jakes is an outdoor bar/ restaurant right across the street. The food is more than good. I recommend the bacon wrapped scallops. Heard a great live band, Lets Be Frank. Great crowd, and great service.
The rooms are always spotless, and well appointed. A nice breakfast is served in the morning. The staff is always helpful. Any concerns were immediately addressed by the manager, Kim. Great get away spot. ALSO, pet friendly. Enjoy!

Room tip: Ask for a river view
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MAC4960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart H, Social Marketing Director at Stewart House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

It's always a pleasure to hear back from our guests! It helps to know that your repeated visits have been consistent with what you expect from your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

Expensive but well appointed room with a river view. However don't expect to feel pampered here. Couldn't find anyone to check us in when we arrived even though we called both #s taped to the entrance. After a while I found someone in the kitchen who went and got the manager from Happy Jake's across the street. She apologized with the explanation that she couldn't hear the phone. Maybe it was because of the loud band playing at the afore mentioned bar where she had been hanging out.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gilliland54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart H, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart House, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Thank you for your review, our utmost concern is for our guests comfort and satisfaction. We apologize for the delay with check-in. Happy Jake's is a seasonal extention of The Stewart House; open May through Oct. The inside bar and restaurant are closed during this time and all staff are performing their duties outside.
Given the logistics of being an outside venue, it is possible to miss a phone call. To remedy this, all guests are being directed to check in at Happy Jake's upon arrival.
Your input is valuable, thank you for taking the time to review The Stewart House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017

We spent a couple of nights at Stewart House over a recent long weekend, lured by the pictures on their very very nice website and some positive online reviews. And there's a lot to like - it's a pretty old house in many ways lovingly restored. Our room had a great view of the river through nice big windows. But there were also some weird things - a hole in the floor near the fridge; The shower curtain was also falling apart. Worst of all, the final morning the shower never got any warmer than tepid. It's kind of like they did a nice renovation on the place but no one is really taking care of it. The people downstairs at the bar and restaurant were very nice and the site is lovely. But they need someone to better look after the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cplumb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart H, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart House, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Your review of The Stewart House is greatly appreciated. It's via reviews and correspondence with our guests that we are able to stay abreast of our guests needs and comfort. Customer satisfaction is paramount to our success, your concerns are taken seriously and have been addressed. Please do consider visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews