We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant very good; outdoor seating on water a plus/minus”
Review of Stewart House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stewart House
Ranked #1 of 1 Athens B&B and Inns
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Restaurant very good; outdoor seating on water a plus/minus”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Had not eaten here is quite some time and was concerened about a spate of very bad reviews. In summer it appears that the indoor restaurant is closed in favor of al fresco dining on the active waterfront across the street. On a beautiful night like we had, the atmosphere was delightful. On a humid hot night, might not be so good. So check in advance if indorrss is open. Food was good and prepared with local ingredients; wine list OK with good prices. Unless you like rock music, make sure you finish by 8:45PM on weekends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank mclpcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
15
50
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I wanted to stay at a place that would be nice quiet peaceful place. Well this place was quiet but the rooms were nasty and they food was cold when I got it. The glasses were dirty and the workers were very rude. This is not the kind of place you would want to stay at or eat at. I would rather of stayed in Historic Hudson. That would been a better place to stay and visit historic areas.

DON'T STAY OR EAT THERE!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hater411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Internet was down when we arrived for a 2 night stay for a romantic vacation, so the front desk could not sign us in. Thank goodness I had a print out of the reservation with me. Went to our room: 1. Poop in toilet (toilet didn't flush), 2. Front door to the room didn't shut unless you threw your shoulder into it, 3. Not as pretty as the website made it out to be (rust on sheets), 4. Breakfast was not served (bed and breakfast??). Second night, got back to an empty building and we were locked out. Thank goodness a cop in the diner next door was able to contact someone to come open the building for us. The building was empty all night and for the next 2 days, so we wouldn't have been able to get our belongings without the help from the police officer. No amenities, like tissues, and the downstairs bar/restaurant was closed the entire time we were there. Horrible experience, but with a little fight, we only paid for one night. It is not as nice as the website states. Do not waste your time!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dontdoit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at the Stewart House while visiting family in the area. This place is a gem. The historic building is beautifully preserved and the rooms are tastefully decorated with antique furnture and high-quality linens. The views of the Hudson from the full-height windows are to-die-for. Had the weather not been perfect, I would have been content to sit for hours overlooking the quiet street below, and the enjoying sweeping views of the river.

The bright young staff was unfailingly gracious and accomodating, not doubt taking their cues from inn's charming (and very funny!) owner, Owen Lipstein.

The lodging experience is only surpassed by the fine dining offered in the restaurant. Again, the atmosphere is perfect, from the high, hammered-tin ceilings to the murals that wrap the walls in the early history of the river. Oh, yes, and the food..excellent.
In the summer guests can choose to dine in the lovely gardens on the banks of the Hudson, or enjoy a drink at the outdoor gazebo bar. I did just that at an earlier visit. There's no better way to finish off a day of touring the mid-Hudson valley!

The Stewart House is a rare find. It is a great blend of authentic historical ambience and just enough modern convenience...and did I mention great meals?

  • Liked — Ambience in the rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleoBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

wow. how do i begin. the garden penthouse suite did not live up to its description. no working fireplace. no private bathtub. no shower. the bathroom was shared on the third floor with several other rooms. no lock. no fresh towels. bad toiletries.the girls downstairs couldn't find our reservation. "did you book online" , "does your room have a kitchen." " you paid, okay" "if ther is no one here just let youself in." expect to guide yourself to the basement to find ice. since there will be no staff during the day...there is two inches of water you'll have to wade through...we requested a "lesser room" with a private bath and a CLOSET since the suite lacked that as well. the room we ended up in was full of charm and we especially enjoyed the hole in the ceiling which presented itself to be a waterfull in heavy rain. AVOID THE STEWART HOUSE.we would have been better off camping with our friends. although if you find yourself in athens and looking for a hospitable atmosphere then we suggest ursula's riverside dinner. the staff was friendly, accomodating and sympathetic to our dilema. we spent most of our time there.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank roger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

After making a reservation by phone and confirming the check-in time, I showed up to find the inn derserted, door locked, no one answering the phone. I found and ended up prevailing upon a cook to let me in and found that while my reservation was on the books, there seemed to be no one there besides the bartender and other kitchen staff. Given a key to my room, I wandered upstairs and found the upper two floors of the hotel empty, most room doors open showing stripped beds and very little furniture. To say it didn't much look like the pictures on the website is to understate.

My room smelled of fresh paint, so I asked for another. It had a beautiful view of the river and didn't smell, but it lacked pillows, a mattress pad and many other details, like side tables, glasses for water, a phone or local area guide, and any sort of way to contact the outside world.

The staff was never less than lovely, but their helpfulness was limited given that they had to get the owner on the phone for each question I had. If there had been any other Inn or B & B in town, I would have moved, but I was stuck.

It's a beautiful building in a to-die-for location. But the sheer lack of the basic ammenities is shocking, especially for the prices - over $150 for a single! - that they're charging.

  • Liked — Location, views
  • Disliked — Lack of service.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

We four retired nurses had contacted "Kim" to reserve dinner and two rooms for the night of Sept 4, 2007. We arrived at the appointed time
to find the restaurant was closed, and the Stewart House was now on fall/winter hours. "Adam" took us to our rooms and left the building!
We went out for dinner and returned to an open, empty building. It was still open and empty the next morning as "Adam" did not return--and this place is billed as a bed and breakfast! And they had the nerve to bill us at their summer rates!

  • Liked — It was on the Hudson River in a quaint village
  • Disliked — No oversight of property!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DesMoinesNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
1.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
186 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 17 in Hudson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#8 of 17 in Hudson
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 17 in Hudson
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart House

Property: Stewart House
Address: 2 N Water St, Athens, NY 12015-1406
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stewart House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stewart House at THE ATHENS HOTEL, one of the grandest hotel/restaurants in the Hudson River Valley, is located in the river town of Athens, NY. (Directly across from Hudson, New York.) Carrying on a legacy that began in the 1883 when it first opened its doors, the Athens Hotel acts as the perfect companion to the Shakespeare on the Hudson Estates (located 2 miles from the hotel), featuring the 11-room "River House", and the 11-room "River Lodge"; located on 90 acres of Hudson River river-front. The hotel itself is able to accommodate up to 18 guests. This architectural treasure has had a complete renovation after being damaged by floodwaters during Tropical Storm Irene during the summer of 2011. Owen Lipstein, the owner of the Stewart House at THE ATHENS HOTEL, has presided over this nuanced, imaginative and critically acclaimed restoration, literally from the inside out. The nine spacious and fully complete guest rooms pay appropriate respect to the Stewart House's historically important past. At the same time, it now features state of the art , heating, cooling and electric. The bathrooms are remarkable, featuring for example, marble tile showers, custom baths and heated towel warmers. These rooms have been carefully been styled for the ultimate getaway boasting large and airy suites, perfect for snuggling up and enjoying the view of the Hudson River. With it respect to its historic sense of place, we can now embrace the glorious present, with a wondrous future.... Re-opened just recently, both the restaurant and hotel have garnered nothing short of rave reviews. As one recent guest put it, "Simply stated, this is the most beautiful place on the Hudson. Stay here, eat here, indulge in a drink at the River Garden, and you will never want to leave." The restaurant has also JUST OPENED. (We have been careful about announcing it.) We can now say this with quiet, but assured confidence: customers from near and far, have left extremely satisfied, happy, and full of praise for our chef and our staff. Each room at THE ATHENS HOTEL is as unique as the hotel's history: some rooms are named after movie productions that have used the hotel as a backdrop, some are named after the surrounding landscape, and still others are named after notable characters from Shakespeare's plays. Each room features spectacular views of the Hudson, luxurious queen-size beds, in-room mini fridges, large flatscreen TVs and brand new, state-of-the-art bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stewart House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stewart House Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing